We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but could be better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cinnamon Wild Yala

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cinnamon Wild Yala to your Saves list
Cinnamon Wild Yala
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kirinda, Sri Lanka (Formerly Chaaya Wild Yala)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kirinda
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Good but could be better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Because of a change in our travel plans we only arrived here at 7.30pm, and were only staying one night, so could not make full use of the beautiful pool. The room was fine, excellent shower, but food was the worst of all the places we have stayed. As at the other two Cinnamon hotels we stayed in, we did not like the buffet. A good choice, but all the dishes were lukewarm. So we sampled the a la carte, which in the other Cinnamons had been very good. But not here. My husband's pork escalope was very dry, I had a freshwater fish which I could not eat, it had a " dirty, earthy " taste. Although to be fair others may like it.
We did the 5 am safari the next morning, and only just got back before the breakfast service stopped. Given that a lot if the guests will be doing the early safari, perhaps the breakfast service should be extended. The breakfast buffet was ok, not as good as the other Cinnamons we had stayed in.
But the location and safari made up for the restaurant shortcomings. Our jeep driver and park guide were very good, and we also had our own private tour driver / guide with us, who were all amazing at spotting wildlife.
We would definitely return to Cinnamon Wild purely because of the location ------- crocodiles in the lagoon just behind the pool, wild boar mother and babies right beside reception ----- but please improve the food.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shehan2014, Manager at Cinnamon Wild Yala, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Wild Yala. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have noted your comments on the Buffet and food and we will certainly look in to improving on this aspect and we ensure this will be improved upon your next visit. We look forward to having you back with us again for yet another memorable stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    168
    28
    7
    6
See reviews for
175
274
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

We spent 3 days here on half board. The hotel is in the reserve and very close to a beach. We were in a jungle chalet which was great. Ours was very private, up a little path of the main tracks. Others, on junctions, were maybe not so appealing. We were visited by wild pigs and monkeys. When it gets dark, you are asked to phone reception to be escorted to the main buildings (and back) which is fine. The chalet felt like it had recently been renovated and it was very pleasant. The buffet was a highlight and there was always something different to enjoy. Staff in the restaurant were very friendly. Bar service outside proved slow sometimes. We did one safari. We had planned two but one was ok. The roads are very busy with jeeps and we did not see lots of animals – but enough to enjoy the three hours. Our safari in Kaudulla a few days previous was more relaxed and we saw more animals and birds, but it is luck on the day.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shehan2014, Manager at Cinnamon Wild Yala, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Wild Yala. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have noted your comments about bar service and will certainly look in to improving on this aspect. While thanking you for your kind feedback We look forward to having you back with us again in the near future for yet another memorable stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambrige England
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We very much enjoyed our stay here, The lodges were large and comfortable with good amenities. It was fantastic to stay so close to the animals and we spent hours watching the monkeys at play (not so great when they visited at 02.45 to have a party on our roof though!). the walks around the lake and also to beach were delightful. The restaurant and bar service were good. A great place to stay and we were sad we were only there for three nights. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: To avoid the hassle of getting an escort at night get a room near the restaurant. we were only acros...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shehan2014, Manager at Cinnamon Wild Yala, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank you for your kind feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Wild Yala. We are delighted to know that you had a memorable stay with us. While thanking you again for your feedback We look forward to having you back with us again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We came here off the back of a recommendation from some friends and were very pleased the place. We stayed three nights and could easily have stayed more. The rooms are great, the food is tasty, the service is spot on. Everything is spotless. Despite not having the option to dine/ drink anywhere else I didn't feel like the food and drinks were over priced. The safari is a little disappointing but that's Sri Lanka. Great if you are a bird watcher though as there is an abundance.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shehan2014, Manager at Cinnamon Wild Yala, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Wild Yala. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. And we hope to see you again and hope you have a better safari experience upon your next visit. While thanking you for your feedback We look forward to having you back with us again for yet another memorable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stayed here for two nights and took two safaris into the park. Although we didn't see a leopard other guests did. The room was OK but the air conditioning unit was extremely noisy. We saw a wild boar roaming around the pool and apparently an elephant had been roaming the hotel grounds the week before so you were ex courted around the grounds after dark by a member of staff.

Room Tip: Nearer to reception would be best
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shehan2014, Manager at Cinnamon Wild Yala, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Wild Yala. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have noted your comments on the Air Conditioning and will certainly look in fixing this. Also we look forward to having you back with us again for yet another memorable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

This is my third visit to the Cinnamon Wild and definitely the best. So where do I begin? I was met by the Operations Manager Mr. Keerthi and the Restaurant & Bar Manager Mr. Naleen and enjoyed a delicious welcoming drink in the bar while the formalities of checking in were carried out. I was made to feel like royalty with the attention from the staff I had met on my two previous visits.
I was shown to my Jungle Chalet and made straight for the large walk in rainshower.
Having unpacked and a cat nap I made my way to the main bar to start the night's entertainment with my friends at the bar. What a relief after the first Mojito or was it a Pina Colada, I can't remember.
The bar staff are all very friendly Mr. Ananda, Pradeep and of course the unforgettable Samy.
The buffet breakfast is very good with a wide selection of food, and you must experience the talents of Mr Rohan "the fruit man" and of course the friendly smile if Mr Ishan in the restaurant.

I normally eat in the bar as I am not a dinner buffet person. There is a good selection of dishes, but be careful if you do not like spicy food, let the bar staff or the chef know. What is not too spicy for Sri Lankan people might be quite hot for you. If you are unsure, I am sure the Executive chef will be able to help you.

There are two people that really made my stay memorable. Firstly, Mr. Naleen who went out of his way and took Customer Service to another level. Thank you Mr. Naleen
Secondly, Mr. Chamara, my friend and wine sommelier in the restaurant, who made sure that my stay was a memorable one. Thank you Mr. Chamara. You two are a credit to the Cinnamon Wild Resort.
And of course, what would the Wild be without the wild-life. It still fascinates me to be sitting at the bar and along stroll a family of wild boar. You have to experience this.
Of course a big thank you to the front and back office staff for making the resort tick under the covers and the had working room boys
The Jungle Chalets I believe are all the same size. The only thing that could be improved is that there is not a lot of clothes hanging space in the chalets. A small issue if you are only staying for a couple of nights.
The resort has really nice clean swimming pool, which you may end up sharing with the local monkeys, lol.
I did not do not a safari, but heard that the experience was worth having.
The Wild resort is a great place to unwind and enjoy your "friends in the forest".
Well done Mr. Roshan the General Manager and all of your staff for another wonderful stay.
I will be back again sometime this year.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shehan2014, Manager at Cinnamon Wild Yala, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Wild Yala. We are really delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and had the best experience you were looking forward to having. While thanking you again for the feedback provided we are eagerly looking forward to having you back with us again for yet another memorable experience and stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salmiyah, Kuwait
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

We loved the privacy that the separate rooms provided. The room was large and comfortable. The walk-in shower was super. We can speak to room service, but not the sit down restaurant. Room service food was good and service was quick. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shehan2014, Manager at Cinnamon Wild Yala, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Wild Yala. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. While thanking you again we look forward to having you back with us again for yet another memorable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cinnamon Wild Yala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Wild Yala

Address: Kirinda, Sri Lanka (Formerly Chaaya Wild Yala)
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kirinda
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kirinda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cinnamon Wild Yala 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cinnamon Wild after undergoing a brand enhancement is more than a resort; it is an extension of the Yala National park and is intended to be part of the National park. It is designed to represent rustic luxury, resembling a game lodge. Cinnamon Wild Yala exceeds guest expectations with interiors that give the camp look and feel, embedded with large trunk boxes, old vintage furniture, director's chairs and indigenous artwork. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cinnamon Wild Yala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Wild Yala Hotel Kirinda
Yala Village Kirinda
Yala Village Hotel Kirinda
Cinnamon Wild Yala Sri Lanka/Kirinda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cinnamon Wild Yala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.