We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wild life, great views and food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cinnamon Wild Yala

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cinnamon Wild Yala to your Saves list
Cinnamon Wild Yala
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kirinda, Sri Lanka (Formerly Chaaya Wild Yala)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kirinda
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wild life, great views and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights and it was the best part of our amazing trip to Sri Lanka. Upon driving into the hotel we saw peacocks, bee eaters and 3 crocodiles, one going in for the kill on a baby wild boar (didn't catch it!). We had a beach chalet and walked to the beach each day. It was abandoned as the sea was very rough but we could see the footprints of an elephant amongst others. The observation deck is great for watching the sunset. We were able to observe a herd of wild buffalo and then eagles, storks etc flying around and finally the views of the stars is fairly unspoilt. The food was the usual cinnamon standard. There are muffins and coffee available for before the morning safari but they serve breakfast until quite late so we had it when returned at 10.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Cinnamon Wild Yala, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Wild Yala. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to having you with us again for yet another memorable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    168
    27
    7
    6
See reviews for
175
271
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This hotel is truly idyllic I was given a hut on stilts overlooking the ocean. The room was spacious and beautifully appointed. The house boy covered the bed with flowers every day.It was beautiful. There was a huge deck to sit on and enjoy the sound of the ocean.
From check in the staff could not have been more attentive and helpful. We were made to feel valued and important. The pool and bar and restaurant areas are beautiful. The staff escort you to and from your rooms after dark to ensure your safety from the wildlife. We were able to see elephants and monkeys and wild boar up close on the property without being in danger. The food was well presented and not overpriced. It was just a bit of paradise for a couple of days that I will long remember.
Cannot recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: The tree top rooms overlooking the beach are wonderful and extremely private
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Cinnamon Wild Yala, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Wild Yala. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to have you with us again for yet another memorable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed 2 nights . The fact that the Yala National Park is just a stone's throw away is certainly an advantage.

Returning to the the jungle chalets after the trips into the Park was certainly a good place to comeback to- the banglows are well appointed, the linen fresh and each with their individual patio. The only drawback m was there are no amazing views from the Bunglows i.

The hotel gets the whole safari traveller bit. anticipating a safari travellers needs AND the focus on the safety of the hotel guests e.g.the hotel ensured there was a constant stream of available staff to walk guests from the main lodge to the individual bunglows at any time of the day with a view to protect guests from wildlife that may flow into the Property from the surrounding Park .

The look- out decks of the main lodge were a plus ...high-up on the main lodge with uninterrupted views of the amazing expanse ahead , the open plan peppered with soft sink- in sofas and right next to the bar!

The sea is just around the corner and a jog on the beach is a definate recommendation but nothing more than that... the waves are strong and angry and taking a dip is a definate no no.

The evening around the pool is also an enchanting experience and the food ( choice and quality) at the poolside a definate plus.

We received alot of personal attention during the stay from the manager , the F & B manager and the Chef all of whom had years of experiecnce under their belt. They walked the floor and spent time with ALL the guests.

Things to do after you return from the Safari? a dip in the pool, a walk on the beach which has an enchanting fishing village built on a rock, birdwatching around the lake, reading a book by the edge of the lake watching the crocodiles sunning themselves or other wildlife that may have sauntered by.

The buffets were expensive but well planned.

A well operated establishment !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

The hotel was very busy , as the park closes for over a month from September . We stayed 2 nights in a beach bungalow , which was fine although the bathroom was a bit tired.Our house boy was great as we're the rest of the staff. There is a choice of buffet or a la carte for dinner , we did the later up stairs in the peacock bar (we had it too ourselves ).We had pre booked a morning and afternoon safari , our guide said that as we had booked both ,why not stay in park and have lunch he arranged in tiffin boxes.This was a great suggestion as there were only 5 other vehicles in the park at mid day which when the opportunity arose to view a leopard asleep in a tree we were fortunate to have an extended viewing . There is a abundance of wildlife in the park , but there are said to be only 40 leopards in the 38k acre park. A great experience.

Room Tip: There is a new Jetwing Hotel opening close by next month.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gloucestershire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Hurrah - we read the Trip advisor reviews and arranged to stay for 3 nights!!! Would certainly recommend this amount of time to stay in this beautiful place. This hotel gets it just right- food, accomodation, pool, cocktails...let alone the safari. Make time to go to the beach- it is wild, and really deserving of the word awesome. You will be disappointed if you only stay for one night, The long journey there means that you are in danger of arriving late and leaving early. Make sure you have enough time to just enjoy watching the wildlife on the hotel site let alone in the national park.

Room Tip: Dont worry about this sort of detail. They all look good. Just relax and "be done unto"- I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Great hotel, one of the more expensive ones in the area but definitely worth it. The Jungle chalets are a great size with everything you need in them.

We booked for 3 nights but I wouldn't stay for more than 2 max. Once you are done with the safari there's little to do here except chill by the pool. The pool is nice enough with amazing views across the lake (which had buffalo and Crocs in it) and there's a lovely cool breeze that keeps u cool in the sun.

If you've done an African safari then safaris here will be very disappointing..although we were lucky enough to have a leopard walk right across our path. Do not book the safari via hotel as they charge about £50 a person. My driver organized it for me direct and for 5 of us plus my driver it cost 1

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Cinnamon Wild Yala, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback following your stay with us at Cinnamon Wild Yala. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We eagerly look forward to having you with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Ok first things first with this review after the food on our first night there I was very ill and that has tainted how I feel about this hotel.

When we arrived we were dealt with in the usual professional way that we have receive on this trip. The staff we very nice and very helpful and are proud of where they work. I have never been to hotel where after dark they have to collect you to take you to the restaurant because you might encounter a wild elephant!

Anyway the best experience at this hotel was the jeep safari we were very lucky with our driver Malinga who was brilliant. He couldn't promise leopards as they hadn't seen many in the last few weeks but with his experience we saw 4 and were lucky enough to be the only jeep around to watch one having a drink for about 4 minutes until everyone else turned up and it went and hid behind a tree!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Cinnamon Wild Yala, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Cinnamon Wild Yala. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our Hotel is located in the buffer zone and is a mere 15 minutes from the national park, hence wildlife roam free in and around the premises. It is therefore not recommended that guests walk within the premises at night without an escort. We hope you enjoyed the jungle experience and would be back for yet another exciting stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cinnamon Wild Yala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Wild Yala

Address: Kirinda, Sri Lanka (Formerly Chaaya Wild Yala)
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kirinda
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kirinda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cinnamon Wild Yala 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cinnamon Wild after undergoing a brand enhancement is more than a resort; it is an extension of the Yala National park and is intended to be part of the National park. It is designed to represent rustic luxury, resembling a game lodge. Cinnamon Wild Yala exceeds guest expectations with interiors that give the camp look and feel, embedded with large trunk boxes, old vintage furniture, director's chairs and indigenous artwork. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cinnamon Wild Yala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Wild Yala Hotel Kirinda
Yala Village Kirinda
Yala Village Hotel Kirinda
Cinnamon Wild Yala Sri Lanka/Kirinda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cinnamon Wild Yala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.