We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good company and good visit!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Panthera Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kirinda
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Panthera Lodge
Yala Road | Kirinda,Tissamaharama, Kirinda 82600, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food, good company and good visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We visited Panthera as part of a larger trip to Sri Lanka. As a mid-west girl from the US who didn't have a lot of prior International travel experience, this was quite the adventure. I was a little apprehensive about a stay in the "jungle" but took a chance because of the recommendation of a friend. Panthera did not disappoint. From the moment we arrived, every part of our stay was amazing. Liyanage and Chinthaka were up before we were and busy until we went to bed taking care of anything we needed. And we kept them busy! Then for activities, we did everything from relaxing at the lodge to safaris at Yala and an unforgettable trip to the nearby temple. Overall I'd say that this is a very unique and special spot that somehow manages to allow the guest to experience the wildness of the jungle from the comfort of a place that feels just like home.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This is my fourth stay at Panthera and like all the others, it was a memorable one. After a tiring but rewarding visit to Yala park (we saw 2 leopards, 2 bears, a Tusker among other animals), we trekked back to Panthera lodge. After freshening up, it was so peaceful to sit in the garden and watch the stars above us. Liyanage and Chintaka made us feel special with some delectable dishes and attentive care. The new addition to the lodge (bedroom with A/C and very modern bathroom) was most impressive. It is so special to spend time with family and friends and the ambience and facilities at Panthera made the visit an exceptional one.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We spent a couple of nights at the lodge with a large group of friends and their children.

Firstly, the location of the lodge to the park entrance was ideal at approximately 10 min. leisurely and scenic drive. It is also approximately 10 minutes drive to Kirinda town and its beaches, which makes it perfect for an alternative destination.

The lodge has quite a large area suitable for children to play with the extra benefit of being fenced, to ensure that parents do not need to worry too much about kids wandering off or unwanted guests (mostly cows, sometimes elephants) wandering in.

The lodge has an air conditioned bedroom that can sleep approx. 4 persons comfortably, for those that are not accustomed to the real experience of staying in Yala. Otherwise, the sleeping area that sleeps approx. 6 people, is open with overhead fans (nights are mostly cool anyway) and mozzie nets. The lodge was one of the original lodges with the open, wall-less concept that was synonymous with the Yala experience and really, how Yala accommodations should be.

Service was excellent. The caretaker, Liyanage is extremely accommodating to all whims, needs and wants, as long as it is within reason and with enough warning. Unless you're asking for the sun and the moon, everything else is 'can-do'. The man also cooks mean pork dishes.

Overall, with its proximity to the park entrance, enough room to accommodate a small army, a safe and secure area for kids to run around so the parents can enjoy each others company, beaches that can be accessed within a short drive and a caretaker that takes care of everything else, i would pretty much say that the whole experience was what we expected and more.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This is a place where you can layback and relax with out a care in the world. It is rustic but very clean and has an feel of the wild at same time balancing it with modern facilities. Liyanage the caretake/cook is amazing and takes care of all your needs. Chinthaka also has the most amazing attitude, so willing. The atmosphere just makes you want to relax and let the world go by. The location is superb with easy access to the Yala Safari.

We will definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Panthera Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panthera Lodge

Address: Yala Road | Kirinda,Tissamaharama, Kirinda 82600, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kirinda
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty lodging in Kirinda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge type bungalow with large hall with 6 beds, overlooking saltern (Lagoon). Ideal for family bookings, 3 shared toilets. 15 minutes to Yala National Park. Safari jeeps available. 5 minutes to Kirinda Beach. 30 minutes to Bundala National Park 60 minutes to Udawalawe national Park and 40 minutes to Lunugamvehera National Park.The sacred city of Kataragama and Sithulpahuwa temple is half an hour away.Ideal location to base, if you are diving the great/little basses or trawling. The rates are for a couple and for the whole bungalow. Flexible menus. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Panthera Lodge Sri Lanka/Kirinda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Panthera Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Panthera Lodge to your Saves list