We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place - avoid the restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kirinda Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Kirinda Beach Resort to your Saves list
Kirinda Beach Resort
Nidangalawella Road, Kirinda, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Paris
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place - avoid the restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Bungalows are great and clean. Location is excellent. Staff very friendly. However, avoid the restaurant, it is VERY expensive and not good at all. Our sea food rice was cold, small portion, expensive and not good. We complained about it, they decided to charge only one, which was a nice moove from their part. Avoid the restaurant, and this place is great.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    33
    16
    4
    3
See reviews for
37
38
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

Nice chalets with big bathroom. Great restaurant. Very comfortable beds which you do not see often.
Staff is super friendly making you have a good stay. Kirinda is a much better option to stay in stead of Tissa for Yala!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed at Kirinda Beach for one night, part of our trip to Yala National Park.
The cabbans are very nice, clean and confortable. You even have a lot of international channels on the TV set. It is quite remarcable to be able to watch Eurosport on a remote beach.
The really amazing thing about this hotel is its location. A very beautiful beach, with huge boulders in the shallow waters. There are no sunbeds or "standard beach" facillities, but it is nevertheless breathtakingly beautiful.
I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful, trying to make us welcome.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We stayed 5 nights, July 2012. Originaly we plan to stay 3 nights but it was not easy to leave the place behind. The cabbanas are clean and comfortable, spectacular and clean beach lays on a door step. In the morning we saw a group of turtles swiming around the boulders. Yala and Bundala parks are near and the owners helped us to visit Yala, for staying 5 nights they arranged for us a jeep for free! 20 min walk from the resort there is a charming sanctuary on a rock, shared with Sinhala Buddhists and Tamil Hindus. We took a half-board and they served us whole fish and tasty see platers for dinner. We were treated like real friends, not like a "walking credit cards". The only little spot on it´s beauty: sometime you have to wait long when you order an extra meal (and it is so all around the island). You can prevent it by ordering a meal in advance on a certain time. We traveld round the island for 21 days and we did not find better place to stay than Kirinda Beach Resort.

Room Tip: All the cabbanas are nice and have the same quality. The resort is not so big - there is not so much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kirinda Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirinda Beach Resort

Address: Nidangalawella Road, Kirinda, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kirinda
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Kirinda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Kirinda Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kirinda Beach Resort Sri Lanka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kirinda Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.