We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yala safari stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boulders Yala

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Boulders Yala to your Saves list
Boulders Yala
Kirinda - Tissa Road | Yala, Kirinda 00000, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Mission Viejo, California
1 review
“Yala safari stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed at Boulders for the duration of trip to Yala. I was traveling with family. Boulders provides a unique living environment, especially suited for friends or family. There is a single room downstairs. The upstairs provides an open sleeping environment with bunker like beds placed along the side walls. The walls are also an open concept so you can see the ocean, hear the waves and feel the breeze from each bed. The view from the upstairs is beautiful.

The service and food is excellent. The price includes 3 full meals. They provide a set menu from which you can choose each meal. We ordered some western meals and some traditional Sri Lankan meals. All the meals were excellent.

Boulders is located close to Yala making it a very convenient location for those looking to visit Yala. All in all boulders is a unique holiday bungalow with a very refreshing and relaxing environment and great food and service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hishamshums, Owner at Boulders Yala, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Ravi,

Thank you for your comments and we are glad you had a good holiday. Hope to see you again at Boulders!

Best regards

Hisham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
1
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

This place is perfect for a family or friends outing. The bungalow was great, the location was perfect, and most importantly it was spick and span
The staff you have there are wonderful, very courteous and obliging. And the food was super
Overall the concept offered is wonderful, it is hassle free, flexible, and good value.
Our group had a wonderful stay. It was combination of the wildlife with the pampering of semi luxury comfort. A special thank you, to the staff at Boulder… we really had a wonderful stay, and have no hesitation in recommending this bungalow.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajagiriya
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

It was a 3 day weekend in July and a bunch of us friends were planning a trip to Yala, when one of the group suggested Boulder in Kirinda, we set off on the trip down south not knowing what we were to expect, but when we arrived at Boulder around 1530 in the afternoon of Saturday it was all up from there on. The welcome from the guys in charge, the welcome drink and the cold face towel.............. The place is cool airy and well thought of, clean fresh and elegant, cozy comfortable and affordable. The food is sumptuous and the staff was always with a smile and accommodating our needs and requests.
The 12 of us had a super weekend and Boulder was a fitting place to do it at.
I recommend Boulder to all fun loving persons who love to be pampered in the wilderness.

Room Tip: Go in a crowd and book the entire place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

I'm staying at Boulders right at this moment and this place is awesome!! The location is great - 5 mins drive from the national park and right by the beach. The beach is an incredible experience - it's completely hidden and we even found a little private pool like area behind a huge rock where you can just lounge and enjoy the waves. The service is great and the chef at boulders is top notch. He did a Mongolian dinner for us last night and is prepping a very tempting BBQ while I write this review. To top off this great experience - we were taken on a safari today and we saw crazy wild life and got to experience a cobra and mongoose battle in real life!! It was like watching discovery channel! All in all great stay, great experience! Check it out!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I went to Boulders with 9 of my friends and it took us about 5 hours from Colombo to get there! So we arrived late around midnight but the staff was really friendly. We ordered the full board and the food was really amazing! You get a small menuand have to choose BEFORE you get there and for the whole group but every choice has something for everyone and tastes really good.

The House has one double room downstairs and 8 beds upstairs. The staff prepared Mosquitonets for every bed and the upstairs room is open so you can hear the ocean and the sound of the nature.

Our driver arranged the Safari Tour early in the morning and it was really good.
After that we went to the beach that is around 500m away and empty and beautiful. Its a little bit rocky so you have to watch where you can go in but after some walking we find a place where we could play with the waves or relax in a little area where the rocks formed a little pool.

The Bathrooms are really nice and the pressure of the shower is good!

I would def. recommend this place to groups or familes!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, null, Sri Lanka
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Boulders is located in Kirinda close to Yala National Park and is one of those Villa s that leave a lasting impression .
The open air concept is simply spectacularly fun. and meant for a group.
Food is simple but scrumptious. The the service excellent.
Just watch out the the mosquitoes and bugs.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

This is a private bungalow that has one private bedroom and bathroom downstairs and a huge room with 8 beds upstairs. None of the property has AC but as there are no windows it doesn't matter. The breeze from the ocean is fabulous and we slept under a mosquito net with all the sounds of the ocean and the wind around us - it was unlike anything we had done before and a fabulous experience . The caretaker and the chef will try their best to please you in every way they can . The beach is very close and almost deserted. We turned right at the end of the road and walked along the road parallel with the beach and saw the most incredible variety of wildlife - monitor lizard(huge) ,crocodile , water buffalo and many ,many birds - it was a mini safari right on the doorstep

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boulders Yala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulders Yala

Address: Kirinda - Tissa Road | Yala, Kirinda 00000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kirinda
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Kirinda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boulders is a bungalow situated very close to the Yala national park in Sri Lanka. We have one en suite double room downstairs along with shared sleeping for eight persons upstairs. More info / pics can be seen at Facebook.com/bouldersyalaWe have a chef and a caretaker who can make most eastern and western dishes and have been trained at a large hotels chain in Sri Lanka. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Boulders Yala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boulders Yala Sri Lanka/Kirinda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boulders Yala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.