We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely surroundings and service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Passerini

Passerini
Via Dolzino, 128, 23022 Chiavenna, Italy
0343 36166
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 33 Restaurants in Chiavenna
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $37 - $73
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Lovely surroundings and service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

While the ambience was a wonderful throwback to bygone years I expected more consistant dishes coming from a Michelin star restaurant the pasta course was a weak link that disappointed .ie watery ravioli sauce? I think not acceptable. Wait staff very attentive and relaxed making for a comfortable evening in a centuries old Palazzo.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    22
    9
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Always a great evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Visited already several times, always worth a stop when in the lago di como area. Great team and very good food. Large selection of italian wines at affordable prices. Very authentic italian dining experience. The lovely old town of chiavenna is in addition worth a visit.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holte, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food in charming settings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

For 50 Euro we had such a nice meal with five courses. Ech of them delicate and made with love from the best materiel. The historic rooms were romantic and stimulating for conversation. The owner himself was looking after the guests with elegance. Same goes for his staff. Really a good experience!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Flawless One Star Michelin Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

It was a long time (7 years) we did not come back to this fixture of Chiavenna. Contrary to before, it is now perfect. The old tavern décor is fabulous, the service impeccably Italian (i.e. among the best of the world) and the cuisine, cooked by the Venician Blond chef (which is Mrs Passarini), fantastic.

The Bresaola ((similar to Bunderfleish) was tasty and moisty and the Spaghetti con Vongole perfectly cooked ("al dente" of course) and fabulous. We had an interesting Ice cream with a "Broglio" (local Valtelinese Vermouth) sauce. We finished of course with the traditional "Café Correcto Sambuca" By the way we started with the so fashionable "Aperol Spritzer"

Price were very reasonable they even have a business menu under 30€ Compared to the nearby St. Moritz prices and quality it's a real bargain.

In one word; F A N T A S T I C O!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

We spent 2 weeks in the Engadine valley in Switzerland. One evening we were driven through the Maloja Pass for dinner at Passerini in Chiavenna. Without any slight to the Swiss this was one of the highlights of our holiday. Chiavenna was enchanting and Passerini was wonderful. In every way it was a truly authentic and elegant Italian dining experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Passerini also viewed

Chiavenna, Province of Sondrio
Chiavenna, Province of Sondrio
 
Chiavenna, Province of Sondrio
Chiavenna, Province of Sondrio
 

Been to Passerini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Passerini, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.