We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful little hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Les 2 Coteaux

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tain-l'Hermitage
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Les 2 Coteaux
Tain-l'Hermitage, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Geelong, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful little hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Fabulous small hotel with glorious views over the Rhone and vineyards of the area. Generous sized rooms, simply but sufficiently furnished. Great breakfast choices and charming hosts. Close to good restaurants and cafes. Within walking distance from the train station and good walking path along the Rhone. What more could you want?

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    25
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
7
35
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Cracker little hotel this. Myself and my girlfriend stayed for one night to break up a long drive we were making. Situated right by the bridge over the River Rhone the view from our balcony (room 4) was great. The balcony could actually be seen on post cards of the area! Room was large with air con, Bathroom was spacious with large walk in shower and the Balcony was large with a table and chairs. We paid the extra €10 for the river view and it was worth it for the wonderful room we got.

Breakfast was your typical continental affair and very functional. Overall it cost us €97 for the night B&B (including €7 charge for a secure, covered car park) which although isn't exactly "budget" but we got more then our monies worth from this gem of a hotel.

Room Tip: Room 4 was on the top floor with a river view and a large balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for only 2 nights but were made to feel ever so welcome by the great husband and wife team. We were lucky enough to get a Rhone facing room which was absolutely magnificent, but don't worry if your room is at the back as you'll still have a magnificent view of the mighty hill of Hermitage.

Rooms are roomy, light and extremely comfortable. Breakfast has plenty of choice, especially the amazing selection of pastries. The car garage is just around the corner - give them a call before you get there and they'll point you in the right direction. Lovely hotel run by lovely people.

Tip - if you do stay here, go over the bridge to Tournon to eat - much more choice!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I have to praise this place! It´s located perfectly right next to "Pount de Tournont", the room was recently renovated including the bathroom and it was comfortably spacious. Besides, we had couple of small balconies (check the night time photo!) Decent breakfast was served at morning.

Couple of notices though: The gentleman at the reception did not speak a word of English. Some rooms appeared to be smaller than ours and some don´t have the view towards the river.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturminster Newton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

What a gem, immaculate, exceptionally clean and well appointed in a great location. Our room had a lovely little balcony overlooking the street. Rooms overlooking the river are available but were fully booked due to the annual festival taking place. Great attention to detail and excellent value for money I highly recomend it (stayed 15th July 2012)

Room Tip: No pool or evening restaurant therefore Not applicable to review criteria
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S E England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

This hotel is in an amazing location on a quiet road right beside the footbridge which crosses the Rhone to Tournon. The rooms were immaculately clean, simply decorated and air-conditioned. I recommend Room 16 as it had a wonderful view, not only of the river, but also of Tournon and the hills above. Breakfast was served on the first floor balcony overlooking the river. It was buffet style and included cereals, yoghurts, seasonal fresh fruits, croissants etc, cheeses, coffee and a variety of teas. I stayed there in late May and the tariff was exceptionally good value for the quality. The only downside was the lack of a lift!

Room Tip: Ask for a river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed at this small hotel for three nights during a wine trip to France. Having read favourable opinions of it on tripadvisor, we had great expectations and we were not disappointed!

The location is absoutely lovely, just by the river Rhône with a magnificent view of the bridge to Tournons and the hills beyond. In fact, we didn't draw the curtains at night, because it was so nice to be able to lie in bed and look at this view.

The rooms was pleasant with a small but nice bathroom. The beds were good, maybe a bit on the hard side.

Breakfast was perhaps not the very best I have had, but for France it was good - cereals, yoghurt, lots of fresh fruits, bread, eggs, juice etc.

Our french is not good and the proprietors didn't speak English at all, but we managed to make ourselves undestood and they were friendly and helpful.

Nearby they had a garage that was closed at night for the car, which was good.

All in all it was very good value for our money and I would absolutely stay there again if ever in the region. I would, however, advise to try and get a room with a view of the Rhône, and not one facing the street.

There was not elevator and the stairs might be a bit difficult to negotiate if you are elderly and with heavy luggage.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Les 2 Coteaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les 2 Coteaux

Address: Tain-l'Hermitage, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Drome > Tain-l'Hermitage
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Tain-l'Hermitage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Hotel Les 2 Coteaux France/Rhone-Alpes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Les 2 Coteaux, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Les 2 Coteaux to your Saves list