We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY GOOD” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shimla Cottage

Shimla Cottage
3, Torr Road, Bridge of Weir, Scotland
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Shimla Cottage in Bridge Of WeirAddress : 3 Torr Road, Bridge Of Weir, Renfrewshire, PA11 3BE Phone : 01505 610880 Read more: Shimla Cottage in Bridge Of Weir - restaurant reviews. http://www.thefoodplace.co.uk/restaurants/shimla-cottage-in-bridge-of-weir-30600/#ixzz1aNqaMqRE
Paisley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“VERY GOOD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

The food is excellent and the service is second to none. The restaurant has been in the village for around 40 years. It used to be situated across the street from where it is now where it has a great view of the main road I love to sit in the window seat and watch the world go by

However, it is extremely expensive. I have been in classier Indian Resaurants in Glasgow and they have been cheaper

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    6
    2
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paisley, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“First Class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

great service and friendly helpful staff. Chicken Nentara to die for, can cost a little extra but you only get what you pay for i.e Fabulous food, each dish cooked from scratch , the only restaurant i know where you can have a tailor made meal to suit your individual taste, £8.10 for 3 cans !, i would say an average price in a good quality restaurant, i'm sure you'll find MacDonalds is much the same price for fizzy water,served on a sticky table, i'm afraid i prefare nice clean crisp linen myself

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good food, appalling prices”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

Just finished eating here, all going well with decent food and service until I checked the bill at the end. £8.10 for 3 cans of Diet Coke - that's quite a mark-up.. When I asked if the price was right, the manager told me I was the first to question these prices (which reflected VAT at 20% apparently) and that if I wasn't happy with the prices I could order a jug of water the next time. Not the response I expected when I politely offered some feedback.

Wealthy though I'm sure the average BoW native may be, charging those kind of prices makes a mug of your customers and that wouldn't incline me to go back there.

An otherwise decent curry ruined by penny-pinching prices and intransigent staff.

Poor show.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Good service and exceptional curries. The staff are helpful and the manager gives a very personal service. The restaurant is often quiet which is a nice thing these days. The setting is relaxed, clean and comfortable. This is an up-market Indian restaurant and a real treat.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Top Class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

This restaurant is the real deal, immaculate surroundings, friendly helpful staff and the food is just fantastic. It is a firm favourite with our family. Five stars Shafiq!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shimla Cottage also viewed

Bridge of Weir, Renfrewshire
Kilmacolm, Renfrewshire
 
Bridge of Weir, Renfrewshire
 

Been to Shimla Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shimla Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.