We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Amaretto Ristorante

Amaretto Ristorante
60 Main Street | Bridge of Weir, Bridge of Weir PA11 3AB, Scotland
+44 1505 610660
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: It's a family run restaurant with a great team of staff who have been with us for years. This is important to me as I feel customers appreciate having the same staff when they visit; it makes it more personal something that I aim for. My customers are extremely important to me especially with this being a small village it is vital that the customers feel welcome every time they return. We serve traditional Italian food and have a very extensive menu. We have a lunch menu, pre-theatre and of course a la carte. If your looking for somewhere relaxing to enjoy a quiet drink during the day or before and after your meal head upstairs to the bar where we have a variety of continental beers and wines from most regions in Italy, we also sell a selection of hot food, cakes and pastries. The location of Bridge of Weir is an idyllic peaceful village and in the summer our beer garden which is situated upstairs offers wonderful views of the village. We are not looking to turn Amaretto into a brand we want to concentrate on this restaurant and our customers and give something back to the community here. We want to give to give the people of Renfrewshire somewhere they can go anytime of the day and enjoy great food and drink along with great personal service.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Never again!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Visited here for the first time this afternoon for lunch, first we were left standing at the door for about ten mins even though there was two staff members behind bar who noticed us. After being seated we sat for 5 mins then a drink order was taken which was fine we then sat for about 15mins before anyone came back to get our food order. I could not believe that staff were floating around us but didn't come over and I clearly made it obvious we were ready.

Food was average, the seafood pasta was shameful though 5 mussels, 2 squid rings and random prawns which were absolutely tiny. I understand that it was a set menu but dont put seafood on it if it is going to be measly. Portion just looked quite sad.

Staff had no personality what so ever and it felt like we were an inconvience. Will never be back to amaretto, definitely need new staff. Menu's really tatty and general presentation of restaurant was of a very low standard.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    57
    28
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Renfrew, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“One of the tastiest Italians!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Been here a couple of times now for dinner and have had great experiences every time! It seems an unlikely place to find such a gem but the food here is delicious, some of the best italian food i've tasted! The menu is extensive with lots to chose from, the prices are reasonable and the staff are nothing but friendly. Decent wee bar upstairs as well with plenty of seating for having a quiet drink after dinner. Will definitely be continuing to come here!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Resting on his laurels”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

I continue to visit Amaretto due to its picturesque location, and handy terrace.

However in all the time that I've been attending I've yet to have a conversation with Carlo, the owner, that goes deeper than hello. For a village restaurant/regular I feel that this is disappointing and that interest lasts only as long as you have money to spend.

The food is passable Italian. You know what your getting, no surprises, no disappointments.
Don't- what ever you do- try and alter a dish. I've lost count of the number of times I've asked for a slight modification, to see the staff write it down, then appear apprehensively with the dish unchanged from original spec. This happens far too often for it to be mistakes. Either there isn't scope for the changes, or the kitchen won't do it.

I will continue to visit Amaretto purely down to convenient location and the sun-trap beer garden. It could be so much better if Carlo started trying!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“21st Birthday Celebration”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Have to say that this was an excellent choice of venue to have our son's 21st Birthday. Having eaten here many times before we booked the upstairs cafe bar for 33 people to have a 2 course meal with drinks and we could not fault it. Food was great service superb and the seating was fantastic. We were also lucky enough to be able to go outside and mingle. Everything went so well without a hitch. A big thank you to Carlo and is team who were all fantastic i would thoroughly recommend Amaretto for a function like this Carlo is very relaxed about what you need and require and delivers what he says he will again thanks for making this a great day.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Bridge of Weir should be proud!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

The Station Bar of old is now a first class Italian Restaurant which deserves high praise. The waiter was attentive and knowledgeable and his recommendations were well judged. The traditional starters and mains were delicious and the tiramisu was as good as I've tasted. Everything was also reasonably priced. Compliments to all - particularly the chef!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amaretto Ristorante also viewed

Houston, Renfrewshire
 
Bridge of Weir, Renfrewshire
Bridge of Weir, Renfrewshire
 

Been to Amaretto Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amaretto Ristorante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.