We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Woodfalls Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Woodfalls Inn to your Saves list
Woodfalls Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   The Ridge, Redlynch SP5 2LN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Redlynch B&B and Inns
Bussum, The Netherlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

The staff of Woodfalls Inn is very good and friendly.
Upon arrival the owner showed us the room. Clean, with a splendid view over the green lands.
The evening meal was good and served within 10 minutes!
Breakfast was very good and served hot!
After leaving, we were given some tips to go to. Very friendly goodbye.

Room Tip: We had the front room, number 5. Clean and with a splendid view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    31
    12
    4
    8
See reviews for
19
41
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Shaftesbury
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Three of us called today at the Woodfalls Inn (why is it not still the Bat and Ball?) expecting a reasonable welcome prior to placing an order for lunch and drinks. We couldn't believe the total indifference of the bar lady - we might have been invisible! After about five minutes, during which while studiously ignoring us she answered the telephone and then proceeded to enter something on the till pad, we made a comment about 'obviously not needing the business', walked out, drove down to the King's Head in Redlynch where we were greeted warmly and served an enjoyable lunch. It will be worth going back to Woodfalls in a few weeks to see if the Woodfalls Inn is still there. Somewhat doubtful on today's showing........

Room Tip: Don't even bother to stop!
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Having just re-read the reviews from other trip advisor members I almost thought we had stayed somewhere else, as our experience of the accommodation was not a good one!
The outside of the Inn appeared modern and welcoming with easy parking, checking in was a challenge as the reception was found in the very busy bar area, so you either had to lug your bags in through there or walk around the outside of the building to the front door and then battle across the crowded bar to book in.
Once in the room, bearing in mind that this is the beginning of the tourist season, the room seriously needed a good clean and better still redecorating.
The bed was very uncomfortable and sleep quality not good due to music and traffic noise.
The worst feature of all was the bathroom, it was very compact and extremely run down to the extent we waited until our return home the next day to shower or use the bath!
The bathroom was dark the floor was old and dirty making it unpleasant to walk on with no shoes, there had been water leaks around the toilet resulting in stains and green mould, the bath looked old and stained and the shower curtain was also stained and mouldy. There was nowhere to put an overnight wash kit, toothbrush etc. and no glasses were supplied for a drink of water in the night or to take needed tablets.Soap, shower gel etc was provided in a little basket and plenty of towels were in the bedroom.
The tea/coffee making facility's were good.
We had an evening meal in the restaurant, where there was an excellent choice on the menu with several 'specials' from which we chose, the food was very good with large portions and the service also good.
One final disappointment was that the room rate did not include any breakfast, something we had not been aware of at the time of booking and did not bother to stay for because we felt the extra charge to be far too high in proportion to the room rate already paid.
Unfortunately we will not be returning.

Room Tip: Do not choose room 5 - Tired Décor, not very clean and bathroom terrible.Road noise and bar noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

I have had two visits recently, both for a few days, and have been very impressed. The rooms were clean and comfortable, beautifully furnished and well equipped. Vee, Alan and the rest of the staff worked very hard to ensure that all ran smoothly as I was there for a very special family occasion. The breakfast was nicely cooked and enormous and I had several evening meals that I really enjoyed. The main dining area in the conservatory is light and bright with a very relaxed ambiance. I will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We attended a very special event at this Inn and stayed over for a few days. Vee and Alan were extremely helpful and worked hard to ensure the event went smoothly - I can't thank them and their staff enough for everything they did, especially Vee with her I.T. skills. The food is excellent - large, well cooked breakfasts and the 'steak night' steak was the best I've ever had. The rooms are clean and comfortable with all amenities. The only downside (and this might just be me being fussy) was the pillows - next visit I think I'll take my own.

Room Tip: I have no idea how to make a choice of rooms, sorry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We had a great stay here.

Only complaints are that the room was very hot, and some noise from the pub below. I also prefer hotels where there is a separate reception rather then it being behind the bar.

Lovely spot though and lovely room, great reach of New Forest. We would return.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Great little inn. Rooms where very clean and well equipped with all the necessary amenities. I went for something to eat and got the choice of eating restaurant or bar. Decided to eat in the bar albeit it's the same menu. Food was nice and hot, very flavoursome. The only down side with my stay is that I got the room directly above the bar and needed to get an early night as I had an important meeting in the morning. However the music from the bar was "banging" until 11pm and then all was quite. I would asked for a room away from the bar if I stay here again.

Room Tip: If you want to be in bed before 11pm ask for a room away from the bar area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Woodfalls Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodfalls Inn

Address: The Ridge, Redlynch SP5 2LN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Redlynch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Redlynch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodfalls Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Woodfalls Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodfalls Hotel Redlynch
Woodfalls Inn Redlynch/Salisbury, Wiltshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodfalls Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.