We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Woodfalls Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Woodfalls Inn to your Saves list
Woodfalls Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   The Ridge, Redlynch SP5 2LN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Redlynch B&B and Inns
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

We were down visiting family and checked in to the Woodfalls Inn for a couple of nights stay and can honestly say it's a wonderful place. Everyone in the bar downstairs and all the staff were very friendly, gave us lots of recommendations of places to visit, and we were introduced to some of the locals. After a few days we felt part of the community. We got chatting to a couple who live locally and they recommended a few places to visit, which we did, and had a great time. The owners (who have just taken over the place I believe) were absolutely fantastic - they couldn't do enough for us and again, made us feel very welcome. Great atmosphere, and just so friendly. The room we stayed in had just been decorated (as they are in the process of updating all the rooms) and it was really lovely, clean, fresh, and absolutely perfect for us. Quite big too. We expected to hear noise from the bar downstairs but couldn't. We went to the restaurant for a meal on our first night there and the food is truly outstanding - one of the best meals we'd ever had. The restaurant was busy the whole time we were there (had to dine with family the other nights). Honestly can't recommend this place enough. We'll definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    33
    12
    4
    8
See reviews for
21
41
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

My husband and I had a two night stay at the woodfalls inn, we found the rooms good value of money, maybe in need of a lick of paint but new owners said they are in the process of decorating. We enjoyed a great meal which you could tell was freshly prepared to an excellent standard. Staff were all friendly and welcoming. We will defiantly be returning.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

We arrived at the woodfalls inn and it was a generally nice pub environment and looked like a positive start. We normally stay at the bell inn just down the road but fancied a change, the woodfalls is a lot smaller so we imagined it more homely. We were wrong.

We went to the bar and had a drink and whilst being served (and we had to battle Past people on bar stools) the bar attendant continued talking to a mid 40's man who I guess is one of many locals this I find out and out rude! We had seen the comment on the steak menu and were looking forward to a nice steak but when we looked at the menu £17.95 for a sirloin steak we found extausionate, my husband decided he'd pay it and find out what all the hype was about and he said it was just an overpriced standard steak that was over cooked.

We mentioned the old steaks and managed to find out that the pub was under new management and the old manager and husband chef had left around 5 weeks ago, and the menu went with it. We asked about prices and were informed it used to be significantly cheaper and by the looks of the review on here quality was better, more expensive and worse quality? Doesn't seem right.

Not only that I found out the reason I had never come across this before was because they appear to of put the prices up. I was speaking to a business man who was explaining how he had stayed numerous times in the past, and he said that if it goes up much more he won't be able to afford it with his allowance. As for his food choice it is now much more limited as he only gets a certain amount to spend and most of it no longer in hus price range. He is currently looking for other better value for money places. I remember his words to be 'it's not been the same since they (old managers) left'

As for the rooms I see what the previous review is saying, the smell of air fresher to cover the damp odour about the room, our bathroom seemed slightly dirty and wasn't crisp and clean as expected, it was generally quite cold and just not a comfy environment.

Overall I would call this place over priced, unwelcoming and not worth it I know next time I will be going back to the bell inn and suggest others do the same.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

Unfortunately my boyfriend and I were disappointed with our stay at Woodfalls Inn. Only one member of staff was at all friendly, with the rest ignoring us or just being rude.

Breakfast costs seperately and the options weren't brilliant. It is worth paying a little extra to go somewhere with breakfast.

Sadly our room was also quite small and smelled very strongly of air freshener.

On our first night I bought a small glass of house wine and a bottle of beer and they charged us £10.50. I sincerely doubt this is the normal rate and if so this is a rip off.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

My boyfriend and I were working locally at a show and stayed at the Woodfalls Inn for one night, (we wanted to stay for two, but they were sadly fully booked), it is a lovely friendly local pub, that was very welcoming. The interior and exterior are very nice (BTW the photos are not recent on tripadvisor, lots of improvements have been made). Our room was a twin, they kindly made into a double for our stay, the en-suite bathroom was super, with a velux window looking over the playing fields, it was also super quiet.

The food in th restuarant for dinner was great, and the portions were a good size, the waitress was friendly and very helpful. Our breakfast was the same standard, and was just what we needed for our early start.

I would definitely recommend staying in this lovely hotel/pub, you will have a very relaxing and enjoyable stay.

We will visit again.

Room Tip: All the rooms were good, we chatted with other guests who all seemed very happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

An excellent local pub and restaurant with extremely personabe and welcoming new owners ! A*** venue !!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbury, wiltshire , United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

we stayed at the Woodfalls in last night as we went there for a private party which was being held there. From the moment we checked in with the friendly girl behind the bar it was a great expierence, she actually showed us up to our room which was on the top floor and explained everything we need to know. The room was a nice size which was furnished very nicley, the beds was very comfortable and the en-suite had a nice big shower. We ate in the bar, we had the chicken fajitas which was very nice and had a sige order of onion rings which was the biggest ones that i have seen!!! and tasted very nice, all of the bar staff was very nice and friendly towards everyone. The function room we had the party in was the perfect size which also opened onto a outside space. The cooked breakfast has had to be one of the best one's i have had, everything was so well cooked and tasted very nice not greasy at all and all presented very nicely on a big plate there was also other options that could be had. It all had a very relaxed and friendly feel to the place and a special mention has to go to the owner she was talking to other guests about great places to visit and lots about the local area. Overall this was a fantastic place to stay and now we have found this little gem on the edge of the new forest we will be going back again.

Room Tip: Our room was at the top of the building and it was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Woodfalls Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodfalls Inn

Address: The Ridge, Redlynch SP5 2LN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Redlynch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Redlynch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodfalls Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Woodfalls Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodfalls Hotel Redlynch
Woodfalls Inn Redlynch/Salisbury, Wiltshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodfalls Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.