We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really felt looked after” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grove House

Save Saved
You added Grove House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grove House
Main Street, Connel, Oban PA37 1PA, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Connel B&B and Inns
Isle OfMan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Really felt looked after”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2009

Superb food and facilities that you would associate with a good standard hotel.

Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    288
    53
    17
    8
    4
See reviews for
69
177
23
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2009

Very comfortable, well decorated rooms with excellent selection for breakfast. The homemade smoothies were a huge hit with all the guests. Karen was very welcoming and paid a lot of attention to making the guests stays comfortable and enjoyable. B&B well situated and near to Oban. Would definitely stay at Grove House again when we are next in the area.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop Auckland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2009

Stayed for one night en route to visit friends. The comfortable room was finished to a high standard with some lovely finishing touches. The chocolates gave us a quick energy boost while we chilled out to some music on the cd player after a long journey.

Comfy bed, lashings of hot water, friendly informative hosts and a great breakfast. Relaxed and refreshed for the day ahead.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2009

What can we say, this is truly the best Bed & Breakfast we have stayed in. Karen and Sean made us very welcome, in fact we felt we had know them for ever. The rooms are spotlessly clean, warm, comfortable and had everything we could have wished for, bath robes, chocolates, tea and coffee and a bottle of complimentary wine, such luxury. The breakfast is superb and certainly sets you up for the day and Karen's freshly made smoothies are delicious and very healthy. Nothing was too much trouble for Karen she certainly loves what she does. We certainly hope to return when the new house is complete.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2009

We stayed at Grove House for 4 nights and it was our first time in Scotland and after staying here we were not dissappointed. Grove House is run by Karen and her lovely family who are very helpful and make you feel at home the moment you enter. The rooms were clean and comfortable and great value for money. I would definately stay again and would also highly recommend my friends and family. Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2009

If ever there was a place that would make you feel like you're staying at a genuine home away from home Grove House has to be it. The reception that we received by Karen and Sean felt as though we were catching up with friends whom we'd known for years! The room was spotless and a welcome bottle of champagne waited for us in ice as requested, there were also flowers and a box of chocolates. The breakfast was the best Ive ever had; home made fruit smoothie and an amazing choice of healthy cereals and fruits (which my guilty side happily munched on from eating the wonderful Scottish full breakfasts that we kept having!). Karen had previously recommended that we dine at The Seafood Temple in nearby Oban and Im so glad that we did (see my separate review); it was Valentines Day and the fish was the best I've ever had…scallops that melt in the mouth! We opted to leave the car at the restaurant and take a taxi back to Grove House; in the morning Sean was kind enough to give us a lift to collect our car. From Grove House we were able to easily access the Highlands and West coast; we kept stopping everywhere to take photos (will add these on here). My boyfriend and I went to the Glencoe Pass and he proposed to me right by the waterfall there…so now I can call him my fiance! We also spent a very relaxing morning at the Isle of Eriska Hotel (30mins away) for Spa treatments and much needed massage. I would say that Grove House is one of those real gems that you keep coming back to. We will certainly be back and can't wait to visit Karen's new Loch side B&B from September! Word of advice for travellers dependending on satnav; to get to the various islands be aware of the routes available as you're likely to be taken to the nearest Ferry (as in our case we got taken to Mallaig in the morning and the next ferry wasn't until 4pm!).

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cov, UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2009

Extremely welcoming B&B where the owners do everything to make your stay as comfortable as possible. We booked through a popular website and the booking did not make it to Karen the owner. I phoned on the day to confirm and although Karen had no record of the booking she immediately accommodated us for the duration of our stay.
Amazingly varied breakfasts. Well equipped rooms with a mini fridge, safe, trouser press, hairdryer and bath robes. A problem with the DVD player was sorted out straight away with a replacement.
More than happy with our choice and would definitely stay again.

  • Liked — Room Quality
  • Stayed January 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grove House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grove House

Address: Main Street, Connel, Oban PA37 1PA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban > Connel
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Connel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grove House is beautifully situated by the shores of Loch Etive. All rooms are tastefully decorated and en-suite with music systems, fridges, hairdryers, TVs, tea/coffee facilities and complimentary water and deluxe chocolates. Internet access is also available in all rooms. There is an extensive breakfast menu with homemade smoothie and bucks fizz from the champagne fountain. If required, newspapers and fresh coffee are available in the conservatory prior to breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Grove House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grove House Hotel Connel
Grove House Connel, Scotland - Oban

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grove House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.