We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, Excellent view - do not pass this bye” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oyster Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Oyster Inn to your Saves list
Oyster Inn
By Oban, Connel, Oban PA37 1PJ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Connel B&B and Inns
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Excellent food, Excellent view - do not pass this bye”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We recently stayed nearby in Connel and decided to pop out and find something to eat when we happened upon the Oyster Inn and decided it was worth a look...

The Inn Resteraunt was not open but there is a bar in the same building and the bar menu and Oyster Inn menu and a specials menu were presented for us to choose from. It was a tough choice and so many things sounded excellent it was hard to decide but all of the courses we ordered were fantastic, good portion size and tasted so so very good.

Will definately be stopping here again when in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    42
    15
    16
    20
See reviews for
30
102
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kendal, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

My family and I stayed at the Oyster Inn as we had an early ferry to catch the next day from nearby Oban. On booking it I was advised that the bunk room was occasionally used for staff accommodation, that was fine, it was not however pointed out that it was tiny - approx 10ft x10ft and didn't have TV or tea and coffee facilities. On asking about the lack of these the receptionist said it was because it was a lower standard of room and offered us DVD's and the option of taking our two small children into the bar to watch the TV. No thank you. When i enquired about breakfast they said that they didn't start serving until we had left the next morning but would arrange for a continental breakfast to be left outside our room. They were good to their word and did leave breakfast, warm milk to go with our cereal, warm juice to drink and a sparce selection of fruit, yoghurt and croissants - not enough for us all to have some! The Oyster Inn let us down badly and spoilt the start of our holiday. We paid £130 for the experience which was more than we paid for a city centre hotel in Edinburgh with ALL facilities and a hot breakfast earlier in the year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

The sun was just setting as we drove up to Connel to eat at the Oyster Inn. Have passed by a few times on the road to Mull via Oban and thought the inn looked interesting. This time we stopped and we were not disappointed; we had a lovely meal in a cosy setting. Staff were friendly and we were given choices from a variety of menus, all very welcome after a long drive. Will stop by again if travelling in this area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Had a great meal here, friendly staff on a very wet night, party of five and everyone enjoyed their meals.No complaints from anyone, everyone had a good night out. Will visit again when in the area, extensive menus and value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I have just spent the most fabulous, indulgent weekend with a group of friends at the Oyster Inn, Connel. The Oyster Inn has a very relaxed, homely atmosphere. The staff certainly went that 'extra mile' to make my birthday weekend special. We enjoyed a tremendous meal which everyone thoroughly enjoyed. The pleasant atmosphere extended into the 'glue pot' where we spent two riotous nights in front of a roaring log fire. Staff couldn't have done more to make our stay special.
The rooms were comfortable, with everything you would need. Looking forward to my next visit. Thanks again to Louise and her team.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

I stayed here about 2 years ago (2010) when touring the Highands and absolutely loved it. The room was immaculate, the power shower was wonderful- that in itself was worth the trip!! At the time I got a deal through laterooms.com and I think paid £110 in total for two nights for two people(B&B), less than half what it should have cost. The breakfast was first class too.
I'd happily go back and have recommended it several times since!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

Really enjoyable stay. Rooms immaculate and the food was excellent. We had the dog with us and the staff could not be more accommodating. Breakfast really set you up for the day and dinner choices were great. Would recommend to.anyone. Thanks for everything.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Oyster Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oyster Inn

Address: By Oban, Connel, Oban PA37 1PJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban > Connel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Connel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo so you can book your Oyster Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oyster Hotel Connel
Oyster Inn Connel, Scotland - Oban

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oyster Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.