We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Lunch!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Falls Of Lora

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Falls Of Lora to your Saves list
Falls Of Lora
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Connel Ferry, Connel, Oban PA37 1PB, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Connel
Kirkliston
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Delicious Lunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We were camping in nearby Benderloch and popped in here to try a spot of lunch on a typically 'dreich' Scottish day! Hotel seemed quite grand and imposing from the outside with a steep set of concrete steps up to main front entrance. The interior is what I'd describe as old fashioned with a touch of grandeur. Lots of 70's floral wallpaper, floral soft furnishings, floral carpets etc, but welcoming nonetheless. We enquiries at the small reception desk about having some lunch and were directed through to the restaurant. Again quite old fashioned, lots of wood panelling, mirrored walls and artificial plants everywhere, but we were given a warm welcome from the lady in charge. We were the only ones in the restaurant so the service was great and quite personal, she brought out some crayons and colouring sheets for our kids which they loved. I had the fish and chips which was excellent. Massive portion and very fresh tasting, lovely light crisp batter, not greasy at all. My partner had the macaroni cheese which he couldn't finish as he said it tasted really oily and buttery. I had a little try of it and yes, it was very oily and buttery tasting (not very nice). The kids had chicken goujons with chips which were very nice. I would go back here, just a shame my partner didn't enjoy his food.

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    73
    43
    23
    19
See reviews for
53
91
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We dropped in here while on a camper van holiday last weekend and had a great meal in the hotel bistro. Staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. The food was great. My Pork and apple burger was delicious. Children's meals were good portions for reasonable prices. Would recommend if you're touring the area and will definitely go back if I have the chance.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarbert, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I am quite fond of the Falls of Lora hotel, having first visited it 25 years ago. Yes, some of the furnishings are dated, but on our last visit our room was spotless and had a refurbished bathroom. Everything in the room functioned as it should, and though the pine furnishings wont be to everyone's taste the hotel clearly has had money spent on it.

We ate in the restaurant one night, and though the food was as good as ever, we had two odd experiences.

It was busy, and potential diners were being asked to wait in the bar for over half an hour for a table. Meanwhile, reserved tables sat empty. At the end of our meal we moved to the bar. Soon after the owner came through, and ranted about a couple who were not vacating their table fast enough. Odd thing to do with a full bar, and I'd say actually asking them to relocate might have been more effective.

The weirdest part of our meal was the wine. We ordered a bottle along with out food, and we were soon shown the bottle, which was taken away to be opened. It did not re-appear. We asked about it after our starters, and were told the cork had broken and another bottle had to be found. A bottle eventually arrived, already open. Both of us thought it tasted very odd. So odd we didn't feel able to ask about our suspicions that the wine bore little resemblance to our expectations.

Once in the bar we examined the bottle to find it was a 2003 vintage, which could go some was to explaining the strange taste.

Easiest solution to this would be to ask to see the bottle opened at your table, to provide certainty you are getting what you paid for.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddington, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed in the Falls of Lora for one night recently, and although staff were very friendly, we were a little disappointed that the hotel seems to be needing a little updating. We stayed in single rooms in the modern part of the hotel, and the rooms were adequate but very cramped, with no added extras like biscuits with the tea and coffee, or shampoo. The pillows were so awful that I had to place the bed cushion under the two of them, to bolster the pillows up to even a normal one pillow size. No support at all. Bedding tired and dated looking, and found the over quilt extremely heavy and probably not the cleanest, as I imagine it would not get cleaned after each guest.

Many Far Eastern artefacts mixed in with the Highland hotel decor, which did not really marry well. This hotel although probably does well with passing tourists, and do well to bring in locals, could be a lot better if it spent a little bit of money redecorating and decluttering the ornaments.

Are aware that the more expensive rooms are better, as have stayed in several of them before. However, I think we both agreed this trip that we would not be rushing back sadly. A shame, as we look for a good hotel near Oban several times a year, as a stopover before travelling to the hebrides.

Room Tip: do stick to the old part of the hotel, much nicer and more in keeping with a traditional highland ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here last year and again could not fault the staff (all the same friendly faces which was nice) and the dinner in the restaurant amazing. my only criticism is this time I had a room in the old part of the hotel while my Dad and sister had rooms in the new part. The lights kept tripping out and the decor was very tired looking. I love the line with the old globe and everywhere is clean, but a little spruce to the bedrooms would help. Highly recommend still though.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

A beautiful hotel outside of Oban. Explore the grounds of the hotel and take a leisurely walk to the falls. The food in the restaurant is first class (particularly the seafood). We were part of a large group and found the staff extremely helpful and accommodating. The antique silverware on display and being used in the restaurant dates the hotel nicely. An excellent base to springboard a visit to Iona, The Hogwarts Train and also a visit to Oban on a Wednesday night to witness the Oban schools Bagpipe band playing in the square.

Room Tip: Request a room with water views of the Falls of Lora.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, Scotland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Stopped twice at restaurant while on holiday in the area. Very attentive and friendly staff and a good-range menu. Food was declared excellent by the four of us, so much a return visit was undertaken. Highly recommended.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Falls Of Lora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falls Of Lora

Address: Connel Ferry, Connel, Oban PA37 1PB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban > Connel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Connel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Falls Of Lora 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Falls Of Lora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falls Of Lora Connel, Scotland - Oban
Falls Of Lora Hotel Connel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Falls Of Lora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.