We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time traveller's and Collector-of-Knick-Knack's dream hotel full of character” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Falls Of Lora

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Falls Of Lora to your Saves list
Falls Of Lora
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Connel Ferry, Connel, Oban PA37 1PB, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Connel
Cambrdge
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Time traveller's and Collector-of-Knick-Knack's dream hotel full of character”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

If ever you want to experience what provincial hotels were like in the 1960s/70s, look no further. We spent a night here as a big family group. We chose this hotel on the basis of the location (very convenient for sassenachs returning from the Isles as the ferry docks at Oban at 10pm - it's a particularly tiring drive south at that time of night) and the fact that they flexibly accommodated us - 3 kids and dog in one room, a family of 5 in another, two doubles, one single, and all on the same floor. It wasn't particularly cheap - our group of five plus dog was nearly £200 including breakfast - but the rooms were clean, quiet - if a little cramped - and the beds were comfortable and breakfast was good. But what really made an impression was the decor. Every stretch of wall space was hung with some ornament or other; some of the collections were a truly impressive example of the Victorian mania for collecting, and I suspect dated from that era. Paintings of landscapes and collections of taxidermy - stag heads on wall as well as birds and otters in glass cases - abounded. There was a multi cultural thing going on too - 'eclectic' barely does it justice - with Russian icons hung next to Hindu sequins-embroidered elephants, photos of Concorde, and shelves of immaculately polished silver all vying for attention. Chinoiserie of various kinds - a blue and white rabbit sat next to a very large butter dish and copious jars and vases - decorated the deep windowsills in the landings and in the hallway a cowrie shell chandelier hovering near a bamboo birdcage delighted the children. I was particularly struck with the original servants' bell board in front of the reception desk. It bookended a historical spectrum with the radio/intercom (pictured) in the bedroom. Forget wifi - here was how life was really lived when people were directly looked after by people, rather than through the medium of machines. On which subject, the service was friendly and welcoming. 'The bar stays open depending how many people are in it,' was the cheerful answer to our enquiry about how late we could get a drink. Breakfast was served by efficient local ladies of a certain age liveried in brown polyester dresses with cream aprons. A favourite on the menu among our group was 'the Big Yin' - cooked breakfast with all the trimmings. The dining room with its mahogany sideboards groaning under yet more polished silver, flower stands, bevelled overmantels, dark brown artex ceiling, and glass lamps hanging down 2 feet from the high ceiling would not have looked out of place on the set of a Henry James adaptation. And if the swirly carpets gave you a 70s timewarp headache, just lift your gaze to the views from the huge bay sash windows across Loch Etive across to Ben Lora: timeless and breathtaking, even in the heavy rain.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the loch which was lovely but it was a warm night so with windows open we did he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    73
    43
    23
    19
See reviews for
53
91
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We have done a reservation four days before the arrival and for the price of £91 per double room at the hotel in a tiny village I expected to get a very comfortable and spacious room with an excellent décor and facilities. What we got was a tiny room with a worn out furniture in the new part of the hotel with a small window squeezed to the left of the room. The height of the ceiling is not worth mentioning. The first thought was that the management of the hotel got very confused with their pricing policy. I thought... OK.. maybe there is a light at the end of the tunnel. However, to finish off, the table 'reserved' for us for our breakfast was located in a new part of the hotel too - a low ceiling hot area with small windows. When I ordered scrambled eggs with salmon and brown bread slices, I've got eggs and bread but with very thinly chopped salmon on top - NEVER seen this before. Maybe the level of service was appropriate for the hotel but the level of breakfast was NOT.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

You can tell from the flowers and shrubs in the beautiful garden that the people who run this hotel care about what thy do. For those who do not know, Connell Bridge is on the road to Oban and is a very good base as a first stop if you are travelling into the Highlands on the west coast of Scotland. The Falls of Lora hotel sits right on the main road at the bridge the crossing which you would take on your next leg of the journey. We were travelling on to Apple Cross and staying here again on the return leg of the journey.
I have stayed here before and as other reviews relate this a very charming friendly hotel. But we have also found that it is a great home from home and they know everybody and everything about the area. If you want to go fishing, need boot repairs, know the name of a fast food place in town, or a contact in a village further north - they know it. The food is good for the price and all in all, if you are on the move and are looking for a resting place with space to get sorted out while you travel, this is the place. They have some special rooms for a little extra. Room 42 for a funny naughty weekend and 37 (if I remember correctly) for loads of space and a great view.

Room Tip: Ask at reception because they have a range of rooms in a very large older house, from queen beds in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

If you need somewhere to base yourself whilst visiting Oban & the islands, I would definitely recommend this place!

We stumbled upon it by chance after searching tirelessly around Oban looking for a room for a few nights. Be warned that 60% of the accommodation viewed in Oban was of hostel standards with city hotel prices.

The Falls is full of character, the staff were all wonderfully helpful and welcoming. The standard double had fantastic sea views, good quality of cleanliness in all areas and the breakfast was fit for a king.

Will definitely returning asap!

Room Tip: The hotel has amazing views over the Loch. When booking make sure you ask for a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Upon arrival to the hotel, it seemed clean and charming. It does have a certian appeal to it. That was about as far as I got with good impressions. Our room was definately decorated like the early 90's, However it was relatively spacious compared to others we've stayed in. There was trash left in the bin and FECES and URINE left in the toilet!! When we notified the front desk, it seemed like they didn't care and we were more of a bother to them. Price was resonable but I would have expected at least a CLEAN room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Loved it. Stayed here with the family for two nights when we found the uniqueness and charm of the hotel such a pleasant change from the glass, chrome and plastic of chain hotels. Food was superb, staff lovely and we will definitely pay a return visit. Thank you

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Had the pleasure of dining here with friends. Superb food beautifully presented and lots of it. Very pleasant staff, would highly recommend the meals. nothing was any bother for the staff. I would most certainly visit this establishment for a meal if we are passing that way. Very lovely flowers leading to door of hotel, very colourful and well kept.

Room Tip: Never stayed s we were only passing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Falls Of Lora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falls Of Lora

Address: Connel Ferry, Connel, Oban PA37 1PB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban > Connel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Connel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Falls Of Lora 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Falls Of Lora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falls Of Lora Connel, Scotland - Oban
Falls Of Lora Hotel Connel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Falls Of Lora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.