We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is there an award for Best View?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ronebhal Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Connel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ronebhal Guest House
Save
You added Ronebhal Guest House to your Saves list
Connel, Oban PA37 1PJ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 9 Connel B&B and Inns
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Is there an award for Best View?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

As we booked in here during the Scottish 6-Day orienteering event in the Oban area and at very short notice we felt lucky to find any accommodation. Shirley had a small double room to offer but phoned a few days later to say due to a cancellation she could now let us have a larger front room for £16 a night more. Although the entire house was a delight the extra £££s were worth it for the fantastic view. It was just lovely to come back after a couple of hours at the events, have a shower and then relax in the cushy soft chairs or on the bed and enjoy the panorama while sipping tea or coffee. The good news is that there are three rooms at the front.

I could not fault this guesthouse. I have read reviews of other guesthouses in the Connel area and some seem to inspire glowing reviews. The Ronebhal is equal to all those reviews and may even surpass them.The decor was of a very high standard. We tend not to travel light and the cleaniness and tidiness of the room also made it a joy to return to. Shirley even gave us a large plastic tray to keep our muddy O-shoes on. Our room was the only one that was not en suite but the plus side of this was that we had a larger shower room all to ourselves, and two washhand basins one in each room.

Breakfasts were tasty and well presented, Good helpings. I would strongly recommend the Ronebhal to anyone staying in the area. I am so pleased I was able to stay here for more than 2 nights, my usual stay in B&Bs.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
21
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

Immaculately clean, restrained tasteful decor, genuinely warm and enthusiastic reception; spacious front bedrooms with glorious views over the Firth of Lorn, handsome guest lounge, excellent breakfast. Very good value, far better than many more expensive hotels. Convenient for Oban and its ferry services, without Oban's hugger-mugger commercial clutter. We'll definitely use Ronebhal again when in the Connel area.

Room Tip: Superb views from front bedrooms - book ahead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eggborough
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

We stayed at Ronebhal for 3 nights in early August and have nothing but praise for this lovely B and B. We had a front room and although it was a more expensive room it was worth every penny for the view we had. In fact it was almost a shame to go out for the day and leave the room!
Our landlady was a very hard working and friendly person and deserves credit for running such a comfortable house. The rooms are spotless and clean and her breakfasts are excellent.
I will have no hesitation in staying there when I next visit that part of Scotland.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poynton, Cheshire
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

We stayed here 2 nights August 2010 before a sailing holiday. We had a large bay window room overlooking the sea, with amazing views out to the islands. Very warm welcome from Shirley, breakfast good, location would be very hard to beat. Highly recommended - but definitely worth paying that little bit extra for the views!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

After much internet research at fairly short notice, I was lucky enough to find this delightful Guest House at Connel, just over 4 miles on the coast beyond Oban and spent a wonderful week there with my elderly but fit mother. We were greeted by Shirley the owner, who made us very welcome and provided a wealth of suggestions and literature for our stay, including day trips and places to dine out, as well as making a doctor's appointment for my mum for an hour later! First impressions were of a spotless, warm, cosy and very tastefully decorated home with gorgeous views across the bay towards Mull. Our room was comfortable with lovely crisp 4* hotel standard towels and bedding, providing the best night's sleep my mum had had in months.
Next to our room was the guests' lounge, with further leaflets and books about the area to peruse and the same amazing view as the dining room.
Breakfast was excellent with a comprehensive choice of hot and cold dishes. Eggs were perfectly poached and mushrooms delicious. I spoke to several guests who visited during our stay and all were equally impressed with both the high standard and value for money that Shirley provided.
She most definitely went the extra mile and certainly enhanced the holiday with her friendship.
Connel proved to be an excellent base for exploring Argyll, with plenty to do and see on both fine and wet days. Excursions we made included a boat trip to the seal colony, a visit to the Cruachan power station hidden within a mountain and a day on fascinating islands of Seil and Easedale.
There is a good restaurant at the Oyster Bar virtually next door, who have a young and adventurous chef. However, our favourite place to eat in the evening was EE-Usk on the North Pier in Oban, but in season it is a good plan to make a reservation as they then prioritise you for the tables with the best views. We actually had the best table in the house on our first visit!
We look forward to returning and would certainly stay with Shirley again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2009

a friend and i stayed here for one night only, before catching the ferry to Mull the next day. it is spotless, warm, friendly accommodation and we had one of the freshest and tastiests breakfasts that either of us could remember having in a long time

you walk out of the front door and right in front of you is the sea with boats bobbing in the bay

a few yards away to the right is a nice little pub that does good bar meals. attached to this is a restaurant (which we didn't try)

i'll definitely stay there again

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

We did not pre-book and noticed this guest house as we drove through the town....noticed its lovely location and thought we had to stay! The room was nice and very clean, host Shirley was very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was very enjoyable. Highly recommended. Nice restaurant nearby.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ronebhal Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ronebhal Guest House

Address: Connel, Oban PA37 1PJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban > Connel
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Connel
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Ronebhal Guest House Connel, Scotland - Oban

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ronebhal Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.