We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Chequers Inn

The Chequers Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lamberhurst
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Chequers Inn
Save
You added The Chequers Inn to your Saves list
The Broadway, Lamberhurst, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN3 8DB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Lamberhurst B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very welcoming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

The Landlord and his wife were very welcoming and couldn't have been more helpful. The food was delicious too! It is a lovely family run pub in a beautiful village. The bedrooms could do with a bit of upgrading though.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    12
    3
    4
    2
See reviews for
11
7
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

Family run pub in a good location for exploring Kent. Basic rooms, clean and tidy, plenty of hot water for that much needed shower or bath. Good breakfast although we were not offered a traditional full English. Restaurant prices were on a par with what is being charged in the area. Friendly staff, inexpensive lunch menu, nice pots of coffee at the bar.
Ideal for a short break or weekend stay. Don't expect the full package, but for the per person price, its good value.

Room Tip: Avoid room 3, its right above a very, very noisy kitchen!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

Chequers Lamberhurst is an old inn that has recently undergone a rustic and stylish make over. During our stay the bar and dinning room areas were filled with blooms from the lovely beer garden, which also provides a fine weather dinning option. The rooms are clean as well as comfortable, albeit some on the small side, but not much you can do about that given the pub's old age. Whilst our room was small the en-suite by comparison was on the large side with own full size bath. The shower is one of the better ones I've experienced in England and the water was delightfully hot!
Location is excellent, being close to a lot of sights, eg Sissinghurst, Smallhythe, Scotney, Ightham Mote, Knole, Leeds, Chartwell and Penshurst.
The real attraction of Chequers is the quality food cooked fresh to order by Chef and Owner Nigel. His food alone is worth the detour. Being a lover of fish, I can honestly say that he rivals Rick Stein for his fish expertise! We are already planning a return visit.
For history buffs, Jane Austen and Ellen Terry both stayed at Chequers.

Room Tip: Twin room larger than a double, otherwise abt the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

We stayed for one night on Saturday 11th June, 20011. We were touring in the area and felt the location to be perfect for the places we wished to visit.
We booked a double ensuite and also confirmed a dinner reservation.
When we arrived we were greeted in a friendly manner by Nigel the owner, however our reservation had been taken by his brother-in-law and even though we were booked in Nigel told us they had only a twin room available. As it was almost 6.00pm we accepted this with the reassurance of Nigel theat it was a 'very nice room'.
I have abslolutedly no problem with creaking stairs and uneven floors as I feel it adds to the character, but I am afraid that Nigel's idea of a 'nice room' and mine are poles apart!!
It was Room Number 5 and I can only describe it as totally dark and bleak. The twin beds, in fairness were very clean and obviously quite new. However the darkness of the room was not helped by the fact the single overhead light was about 1 foot away from the wall at one end shedding virtually no light at all - not to worry though because underneath was a floor standing 'up light' again giving virtually no brightness, this was our total lighing, apart from one table lamp on a shared bedside cabinet. The carpet was obviously old and needed replacing and the chair, identical to the ones in the bar, was dirty and threadbareb obviously having been removed from downstairs as not fit for purpose. The wardrobe , as a previous guest commented, was indeed 'child size' and the tea /coffee table was placed at the side looking very uninviting. The kettle was very old, but perhaps the most 'classy touch' were the two polystyrene cups, the sort that are often used by roadside catering vans!! You can imagine our delight!!
The bathroom was very dark, but the bath was a decent size and the towels were bath sheets which was a pleasant surprise. The shower over the bath, struggled and spluttered. By the time we had climbed in the shower had given up and was a mere trickle. Just when you thought it safe to shampoo your hair and try washing it with the few drops still emerging,it quite suddenly burst into life with a ferocity that was not only a shock but absolutedly scalding hot leaving one trying to scramble out of the bath to avoid suffering a burnt scalp.
Part of the enjoyment of a holiday and nights away,, I believe, especially for a woman is to enjoy taking time to style your hair, makeup etc, but I then met another problem. Having escaped first degree burns in the shower I realised there was no mirror in the bedroom, only in the bathroom. I had to resort to unplugging the floor standing lamp to plug in my hairdryer, (which fortunately I had brought as there was not one in the bedrrom), I then had to dry my hair, partialy, dash into the bathroom, style it, dash back out, blow dry it a little at a time and keep returning to the bathroom to check it. The same procedure applied whilst using my hair straighners, it is a good job I have a sense of humour! My makeup I did in the bathroonm leaning over the washbasin, not the relaxed start to the evening I would have hoped for.
After going down stairs we ordered a botlle of wine and browsed the menu, having told the young lady we were eating in the restuarant. After ordering, she then returned and began to set the table to eat in the bar. We explained again we had booked in the restuarant and as there was only one other table occupied we felt this should not have been a problem, but the whole atmosphere was one of being made without words to feel most uncomfortable and almost ignored.
The meal, I would not hesitate to state, was very good and beautifully presented, it is obvious that Nigel is an excellent chef and very innovative, we did not however have a desert simply because we did not feel comfortaable even after relaxing with food and wine, neither however were we looking forward to returning to that stark bedroom.
Obviously the Chequers is undergoing some refurbishment but I feel the comments I have made are not due to this, but simply through lack of attention to detail. There is nothing I have described that could not easily be addressed. The beautiful oak beams in the Bar area had been spoiled by the fire alarm wiring in red and no attempt has been made to disguise what obviously was a necessary safety precaution. Our bedroom also had red wiring tacked to the ceiling and down walls throughout, when it could surely have been boxed in.
Finally Breakfast, though called continental it was far more than that with lovely eggs of our choice, but a box of Special K stuck in a cereal bowl when we came down was disappointing, again a small complaint, but one that creates a view of the Inn, which potentially could have so much going for it.
We paid £90 for bed and continental breakfast, no reduction for their mistake of not being able to provideus us with a double bedroom. Was it worth it - definately not.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

Booked for an overnight stay to be near to Bewl Water for a fundraising dinner. We paid £90 for B&B for a double room, including continental breakfast. What surprised us was what you got for your money. The room - no 3 which is described on their own website as 'spacious' - was more like a single bedroom. It was so small that there was little space for a single chair (we brought one in!). The decor was rather drab and seemed unfinished....holes in the WHB splashback. Also the wardrobe was like a child's....couldn't handle a long dress. Noise from extractor fans throughout the building plus water pipes boxed in behind the headboard made for a less than peaceful night.
I raised the size of room/cost with Nigel who made it absolutely clear that he disagreed. When I asked why a full English breakfast was not standard, he referred to the quality of the continental breakfast and that the full breakfast was available for another £6pp. The breakfast started rather poorly with one choice of fresh juice, no fresh fruit, no pastries and a cereal box waiting in a bowl. There was no decaf tea so we supplied that ourselves. The breakfast however was saved by 2 (each) superb boiled eggs but with one piece of toast.
While I understand that this is a very old building with space restrictions, the room description is misleading and the cost is steep given that it is not a full breakfast. We noticed 2 Motels nearby advertising double rooms with full breakfast for less than £50.
The owners would do well to, at least, listen to the views of paying guests who do prefer to stay in unusual/historic hotels rather than chain motels. But if we were to stay in the area again, we would resort to a Motel on the grounds of cost and quality.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nigelhilton, Owner at The Chequers Inn, responded to this review, July 8, 2011
sincere apologies

Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herne bay
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

Lovely warm welcome from Nigel and Zorny, We were made very welcome from the onset .Our bedroom no 3 on small side but it is a very old building our bathroom needs upgrading lots of very hot water at times scalding and care needed with hot taps, Bags of character and warm cosy atmosphere in the pub and restaurant. Nigel is an extremly
talented chef his time on super yachts has left him more than capable of satisfying the most discerning of diners what a lovely experience. Could not fault the service and friendliness from all the staff and family. Will without doubt return for more can't wait

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

We received the warmest of welcomes from Nigel and Zorny on our stay at the Chequers. They took over the hotel two years ago, and are still working on improving it, but the bar and eating areas are lovely, as is the riverside garden. There were a few problems with the rooms, some of us had scalding hot water and others had none, and the room above the bar has no soundproofing, but these were minor problems when the food and wine were so outstanding (the mint ice cream is sublime) and our hosts so helpful. Warmly recommended. NB Breakfast was very good, but is meat-free.

Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Chequers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chequers Inn

Address: The Broadway, Lamberhurst, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN3 8DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Royal Tunbridge Wells > Lamberhurst
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lamberhurst
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For our guests looking for an overnight visit we can offer you any of our 5 en-suite bedrooms. Each room is individually decorated offering you privacy and comfort in the beautiful and historic village of Lamberhurst. Relax, unwind and prepare yourself for your busy day ahead, whether it is a wedding or a countryside ramble, our rooms will meet all your needs. With delightful smells of home cooked European food wafting from the restaurant below, you may be tempted to eat in our Hiltonz restaurant before you retire. Jane Austen herself is said to have frequented these rooms and so you are in good company! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Chequers Inn Lamberhurst, Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chequers Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.