We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Galerie.M. Monpazier Cafe Restaurant

Galerie.M. Monpazier Cafe Restaurant
28, place des Cornieres, 24540 Monpazier, France
0961679714
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Galerie.M. Monpazier Cafe Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 13 Restaurants in Monpazier
Price range: $19 - $110
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Café Restaurant on the square of Monpazier. Sunny terrace. Apart from the main menu, we offer set menus and a today's special. Art exhibitions all year. We purchase quality products from local suppliers and treat them with respect for the region.
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

One evening in Monpazier, this was almost the only restaurant open, so we chose it by default. We sat inside and it was not busy. The service was a bit flat at first, but the waiter became more friendly as we practised our fractured French. The good surprise was the food - we all chose different things (pasta, risotto, pork, salads) and everything was delicious. The décor consists of some original art (not to our taste) and simple tables. I wouldn't rush back, but it was fine for the price.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    30
    18
    19
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good Value in pleasant surroundings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Ate here last November and service and food was good. Just as good this time eventhough the rain made us sit inside. Our waiter was patient and helpful with our choices and the food tasted delicious - a really welcoming and pleasant restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We ate at Gallery M this week and enjoyed it very much. Bottom line is it is good food at a reasonable price (we had the plat du jour). We had no problems with service and, although we didn't eat here again during our trip because we wanted to sample other restaurants, we did return to enjoy a pre-dinner drink sitting on the square each evening of the time we spent in Monpazier. It is perfectly located and well worth a visit.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SYDNEY
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good unpretentious service great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We feared that by being in the main square this restaurant would be ordinary, but it was better that that. We all had the menu de Jour and it was good value. The best dish was the pigs cheek, we suspected that no non french person would try that and it was outstanding, the rest of our food was better than average and in that setting - superb.
We will certainly go back when we want to have a dinner or lunch on the most perfect location.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Pleasant cafe restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We ate at this restaurant for each of our 3 nights in Monpazier. Luckily, one of those evenings was warm enough to sit outside in the sun. The other evenings it was warm inside, especially in the inclement weather. The waiter was friendly and cheerful. Our meals on 3 occasions were well priced and presented nicely. The beer and wine was also well priced. We would recommend this restaurant to travellers to Monpazier!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galerie.M. Monpazier Cafe Restaurant also viewed

Monpazier, Dordogne
 

Been to Galerie.M. Monpazier Cafe Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galerie.M. Monpazier Cafe Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.