We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not An Ibis, Someone's Home... a delightful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau De Villersexel

Save Saved
You added Chateau De Villersexel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chateau De Villersexel
63, Place de l'hotel de Ville, 70110 Villersexel, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Hull, East Yorkshire, UK
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Not An Ibis, Someone's Home... a delightful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We recently returned from our three week holiday touring around Europe. It was a holiday where we camped in our family tent some nights, broken by hotel nights in relative luxury to keep the Wife and I sane. The kids love the tent, and the whole European camping experience, but for us grown ups, the prospect of a freshly made bed as opposed to a sleeping bag was always a welcome break.

Having had a very disappointing stay at our last hotel in Italy, we hoped that the Chateau de Villersexel wouldn’t be a similar disappointment. It wasn’t, it was in fact a highlight of our entire holiday.

We’d had an awful drive up from Lake Geneva, but eventually arrived in Villersexel. It took a bit of work finding the place, but after a bit of driving around in circles, we pulled up onto the gravel driveway in front of the imposing Chateau. We knew that we were early, so sat in the car waiting for check in time.

After a little time, the owner of the Chateau opened the doors of his house, and beckoned us across. What an absolute gent, offering us all a very cordial and friendly welcome. His English was good, and he was full of good humour.

He took us on the long walk to the Montebello Suite, and up the majestic staircase. We had a number of rooms that made up the suite, with each room being good sizes, the like of which you’d expect to find in a stately home. Our children had a great room, where the owners had thoughtfully laid out small gifts on the pillows of each of the beds.

It was great to have so much space, and for us as parents we finally had privacy away from the children, which was fantastic.

It’s not really a hotel, which we knew before we arrived, it’s a family home, granted the grandest of family homes. The furniture was an eclectic range of styles and types, and some would say it was akin to being in a bric a brac shop. I say that with the deepest of respect for the owners, as it’s not a boutique hotel, it’s a grand house with lots of character. The accommodation was clean, and had everything we needed as a family, plenty of towels and hot water. They provided tea and coffee making facilities. The bathroom facilities were old, but perfectly useable, with toiletries and razors laid out. The children had access to the bathroom and wc via another room, so if they needed to toilet in the middle of the night, they could visit without disturbing us.

The owner asked us if we wanted reservations making for an evening meal at a local restaurant, which we did. I’ll review the restaurant some time soon. Safe to say we had a nice meal out that evening.

The next morning we waited in our room for breakfast… it was soon apparent that my poor French had lead me to believe it was to be a room service breakfast, it wasn’t… it was downstairs :-) my mistake… so we were embarrassingly late, well slightly late anyhow :-) We sat with the other French guests, and had the options of bread, cheese, and yoghurts etc. It was very expensive for what it was, but at the end of the day we didn’t want to seem like ignorant Brits, and be rude not eating breakfast in the Chateau.

Soon after breakfast the owner showed us around his home, a small tour and history of the mansion, and the former buildings on the site. Obviously he spoke French, because my Wife and I were the only English speakers there, but he took the time to chip in with English sentences here and there, which was appreciated, as did some of the other French guests, which was very nice of them.

Overall our stay was a delightful experience, and a welcome break from our camping holiday :-) The owners did everything to make us feel welcome. There’s a common misconception in the UK, and indeed the US, that the French are an unfriendly bunch. We’ve travelled across France, East to West, and North to South, and it has to be said that we’ve always been welcomed by friendly, helpful people. This visit was no exception, and our stay in Villersexel was fantastic, and we have nothing but praise for the owners, and thank them both for a great time.

Just to address any previous reviews where they talked about the place being spooky or morbid.. I really don’t know what they are talking about. It wasn’t spooky in the slightest… perhaps it was as the owner had told us, that “his ghosts were on holiday in Scotland” :-)


Thanks for reading.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    2
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

It was a perfect stay.Chateau was amazing and so beautiful .Area is so quite but if you have a car and would like to experience a chateau stay its no problem ..We went alsace to discover the wine route, the hotel is far away from the wine route but it was worth it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gent, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

When we entered the estate, we were quite impressed by the castle, but all that soon dissapeared when we entered it. The smell was awfull and the atmosphere was morbid. The rooms were very old and haven't been redecorated for many decades... the blankets and sheets were old and (over)often used. When the children went swimming, there found a dead mouse in the swimming pool, and that was for us the sign to leave : we took our luggage and told the owner that we wished to leave. He said that he would think about whether he would charge my credit card or not (we didn't use anything at that time) but when we came back home, I saw, the full amount was charged... On the outside, all looked well, but once you go in, everything looks very poor, not in the least the hospitality...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2009

Jean Pierre is a very accommodating host. When my gas tank was near empty, he made arrangements for me to get it in a nearby town early the next morning. He also made reservations for dinner for us in the town. I could not have asked for nicer treatment. Also, the chateau is amazing. He told us many stories about the history of the chateau. Truly amazing. I would highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khartoum
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2009

We stayed there for one night, when driving back from Provence.
I really enjoyed it, although I'd not like to spend my entire vacation there.

However my fiancée was quite a bit a scared by the morbid atmosphere of the place and the fact that we were the only guests. That was my big chance of telling her spine-chillers about the princess that was drowned at the nearby river and now haunts the castle. Great fun!
The hotel (only a small part of the castle) is managed by the owner, who is about to sell the place. Some Korean sect already made an attractive offer as we were informed.
Therefore you'll have to try this hotel as soon as possible. Maybe it's already sold, I don't know.
What you get for your money is just bed & breakfast, no restaurant on the premises, and a guided tour of the castle (only some rooms). For dinner we had to go to town, but that's not far away.
If you decide to return to your room after 10:00 p.m. you'll get a code and have to use the hidden entrance through the cellar.

Our room was overlooking the river and equipped with some antiques a canopy bed and a huge mirror with some kind of mural painting above. There was also a fireplace but not for use. The bathroom was functional and spacious but could definitely use some redo. We both slept very well and appreciated the tranquillity at night.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eeggkrings
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2007

Great Place!

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chateau De Villersexel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau De Villersexel

Address: 63, Place de l'hotel de Ville, 70110 Villersexel, France
Location: France > Franche-Comte > Haute-Saone > Villersexel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty lodging in Villersexel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a private Château whose actual owners' family dates back from the time of Charlemagne. Corinne and Jean-Pierre Potet are living there with their three children. This is their home and they will definitely enjoy to receive you as paying guests. They are all absolutely charming and will do their utmost to make your stay there unforgettableThis Chateau offers a unique venue for all types of events, including weddings, fashion shows and receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Chateau De Villersexel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau De Villersexel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.