We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We ate well, slept well and skied a lot.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Tour De Pacoret

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gresy sur Isere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Tour De Pacoret
Save
You added La Tour De Pacoret to your Saves list
Montailleur, 73460 Gresy sur Isere, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Gresy sur Isere
Wigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“We ate well, slept well and skied a lot.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I would agree with most of the detail within the negative comments placed on TripAdvisor for this season, that said, these need to be kept in proportion. The hotel is some distance away from being perfect, however, any concerns we had were greatly outweighed by the enthusiastic, energetic and engaged hotel staff.

It's possible that my expectations have been altered after being exposed to the awful Mark Warner over the past few years, that said, we had a great holiday, we ate well, slept well and skied a lot, which is pretty much the point.

Also - child care is excellent.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    22
    15
    5
    3
See reviews for
37
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
kirkham
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

I'm surprised by the earlier reviews as our experience was totally different.
The hotel is slightly run down and tired but I feel the service/friendliness of all the staff we met made up for this. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble for any of the staff even if it wasn't part of their job they would assist.
Our room was spotless and cleaned everyday, as was the rest of the hotel.
We chose Esprit as the child care always comes out tops and it didnt let us down, the children loved all of the staff:). We liked the extras, the baby listening service allowed us to unwind at night in the bar:)
The food was excellent, children's food was just that children's food - my children enjoyed it. There was a good choice all round.
First skiing trip thoroughly enjoyed, will I go back - bring on next winter:)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

We spent a week with our 17 month old at the Alba on an Esprit Ski holiday. The hotel itself is quite basic although very clean / tidy and fantastically located for easy access to the slopes. Although 100% beginners may find the slopes quite steep and be forced into taking the 10-15mins bus ride into Meribel town centre eg for the ESF group lessons.

Dinner time for adults is quite good with reasonable selection 3 course meal and complementary wine, however the kids food is very basic with not enough variety. Dry chicken and rice being an example, but other evenings were better. None-the-less we were forced to stock up at the local shop so that our toddler could be sure to eat each night.

The best part about our stay was the excellent service and friendliness from the staff, in particular the nursery staff are superb. All are British, many are gap year students, but very customer centric, polite and dedicated. In fact all staff were excellent throughout the hotel.

Overall I would recommend Alba to families that are newbies to skiing holidays simply because you won't go massively wrong and Esprit make it all so easy. The only downside is that it all feels quite regimented, breakfast at 7.30, kids drop off 8.30, bus 8.45, kids pick up 5pm, kids dinner 5.15pm, kids listening 7.30pm, adults dinner 8pm....repeat x 6. If you like that kind of planned day then fine but possibly not for those who like to be a bit more 'off piste' with their time.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

what a terrible shock! Poorly looking hotel, very shabby, untidy, in need of a bit of care and attention and a lot of procedures and a bit of routine service putting in place.We arrived early on the first day to find the Rep that had our ski vouchers had forgot to leave them at the Hotel so we missed a full afternoons skiing. The ski shop seems also to have issues with Esprit and it was fairly difficult and tense as our vouchers were also incomplete missing the skis we had ordered and helmets. All in all a very stressful start to the holiday. The cleanliness overall was also poor. No hoovering done until the afternoon,dirt in all the corners in our bedroom.We had 3 light bulbs not working and they had forgotten to set a third bed up for our daughter. Towels were missing and a pillow case, we had a leaking sink that soaked all of our toiletries.The wellness area was out of order all week but just as we'll as the hot tub was dirty and looked unappealing.The food was good for afternoon tea but they kept forgetting to fill the water heater for teas and coffees and there were only 4 sofas in the bar area and roughly 12 chairs so we ended up either standing,sitting on the floor or just not bothering. The fire was appalling and the lounge area always cold and untidy.The evening food was of a very high standard but always cold .Breakfast was generally good but the food tables were always running short of juice,milk etc. You always had to ask for them to be replenished it just didn't seem to be well organised. I could go on and on but to summarise the hotel was a complete let down. We have stayed here twice before and with Esprit seven time excluding this and regrettably the service was that poor we will not be using Esprit again. As the review said before mine it seem like a ski company that has gone completely wrong.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EspritHolidays, Manager at La Tour De Pacoret, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
We were disappointed to learn that the reviewer’s experience in the Chalet Hotel Alba this year which did not meet with their expectations following previous holidays in the property. The feedback has been passed to the hotel management team in order that any necessary action may be taken on those aspects which are not within their control. It is of course unfortunate that a leak was experienced in the bathroom – we understand that this unforeseen occurrence was rectified as soon as the hotel staff were made aware.
Feedback overall for the Chalet Hotel Alba has been incredibly positive, with 100% of guests rating the adult evening meals as either ‘good’ or ‘excellent’ on questionnaires. Indeed, we are aware of no adverse feedback concerning the quality or temperature of meals served, though naturally we have ensured that the catering team in the property are aware of this feedback.
Since the time of the reviewer’s holiday, both the hot tub and sauna have been repaired and reports indicate that they remain in full working order. It is of course regrettable that they became unavailable temporarily. The hotel management team are aware of an issue with some lights in the property, which are due to be replaced in their entirety. Additional lamps can of course be provided should they be requested for bedrooms.
It is extremely disappointing that, in spite of previously enjoyable holidays with Esprit Ski, they would be deterred from travelling with us again. We would seek to reassure the reviewer, and indeed those that are reading the reviews about our properties, that our management teams both overseas and in the UK do react to feedback from guests and endeavour to address any problems as may arise expediently, wherever it is possible to do so. Naturally there will be some ‘teething problems’ during the initial weeks of the season, though these are often easily overcome and lead to positive guest experiences thereafter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

If you have been skiing before you will know that skiers are very easy to please!! We all pay high prices, expect relatively poor accommodation, know the chalet will be staffed by "kids" out to enjoy themselves, pay extortionate prices for food and we are prepared to deal with poor travel arrangements (from waiting at the airport for another flight to get in before we can go up to the resort, to getting up in the middle of the night for an afternoon flight).
We are happy because we are going to the mountains, we get to be active all day, our kids are being looked after, the scenery is beautiful, the air is clean, the food is generally good, we continually improve our skiing and friendships can be forged.
Fortunately / unfortunately Ski Esprit are aware of this consequently: head office staff (for reservations and after sales service) are poor, chalet staff are poor, the chalet has seen better days etc. But the two important parts for us are location and childcare. These two areas make up for all the other rubbish. The Chalet Alba is really well located for skiing (basically ski in / ski out :- just a 20 metre walk to the pistes). Ski Esprit employ experienced, well qualified, friendly and helpful nannies to look after our children.
If you are expecting all this then you will have a great holiday, but if not then make sure you read reviews carefully and don't set your expectations too high!!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel have good views of the mountain, rooms at the back look out onto a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

We've stayed here a few times with Esprit ski and find it hard to fault it overall. Yes we've had one or two minor niggles along the way but i can assure you we wouldn't have kept going back if there was anything too serious to complain about! The childcare service Esprit offer really is outstanding, the staff never cease to amaze me with their patience and unbounding energy. I can't comment on individuals as they change each season but on the whole Esprit obviously train them right and choose them well.
The Alba itself is lovely, we've always had one of the large family suites which have been ideal for sharing with children. Its always been maintained in very good condition and the facilities are excellent. The location of the hotel is absolutely perfect, and moreorless on the piste unless you want to go into semantics! No more to say really both the Alba and Esprit are excellent!

Room Tip: ask esprit for help when choosing and look at floor plan carefully.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012 via mobile

Just got back from a week at the Alba.

All in all great holiday but there are a few things that need to be improved on. Staff were GREAT. Really couldnt do enough to help, particularly Victoria and Deklan. Rooms were fine, a decent size but a bit tired. Food was good and the baby listening service very handy.

Bad things as follows, childrens food not very unhealthy, just nuggets or fish fingers and chips and veg consisted of peas or sweetcorn most days. I was suprised that they didnt at least do big shepherds pie with veg or cauliflower cheese or things like that. The food for my 11 month old was worse, he has bread and ham for lunch one day and then bread and sausage the next! There wasnt really a choice for this age group, it was either chop up nuggets or pureed veg but nothing for the age group in between. This needs to be looked at. Also all puddings very sugary, would have liked a healthier option. Not great for 2 year olds before bed... Frozen yoghurt, fruit salad, baked apples/pears etc not hard to do.

The lights next to the beds got unbelievably hot, i burnt myself on the metal casing after it had been on for 2 mins, they are low and in childrens reach, very dangerous. Likewise the hot water machine for tea is at toddler level, an accident waiting to happen...

The guys in the nursery were lovely, really friendly but I did go up to do my sons milk some evenings and the nappy bin hadnt been emptied and there were unwashed bowls in the sink which felt a bit dirty, lots of the kids had dodgy tummies so I think they need to be careful here.

Rooms at the front of the hotel much better, we didnt have a view, just looked straight onto a road and people walking past so you had to be careful when coming out of the bath...

Finally area at front of hotel unused a
although perfect place for deck chairs and drinks from the bar, they are missing a trick here...

Hoping they read these reviews as would like to go again but only with some improvements.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Tour De Pacoret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Tour De Pacoret

Address: Montailleur, 73460 Gresy sur Isere, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Gresy sur Isere
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Gresy sur Isere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Tour De Pacoret, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.