We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel and view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Les Terrasses du Bailli

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Les Terrasses du Bailli to your Saves list
Hotel Les Terrasses du Bailli
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18 Avenue du Capitaine Thorel, 83820 Le Rayol-Canadel, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel and view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

There is a sister hotel five minutes walk away from this one. It's on the beach and has three restaurants while this one has none, although serves a decent breakfast.
In the UK this would be a four star. The upper rooms have a wonderful view of the Mediterranean and all have balconys with loungers and sun all day.
Rooms are modern, large, beautiful bathroom with individual toiletries . King size bed, a safe and a kettle! You don't often get one on the continent. This gives you options; don't pay 14 euro each for breakfast, go to the top of the road and buy fresh croissants every day and jam from the supermarket., use the mini bar as a food store and use the money saved to go to better restaurants at night!
Nice heated pool,rare in France, and towels supplied by the hotel. Helpful staff and a short downhill walk to the beach. At 155 euros a night in June we thought it good value.
If you are looking for night life then go elsewhere. It is quiet and you have to drive everywhere.
Very few people speak English and it is mostly French people in the surrounding area. Go to the beach at Les Cevelaires, wonderful. We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    31
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
11
69
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Uzes, France
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed as part of a group, though we had all booked individually. Our room was a good size and perfectly clean; the bed comfortable, the decor pleasant and contemporary, the shower a good size, but unfortunately not thermostatically controlled. The big plus was the sea view and the beautiful and tranquil location, The staff were very helpful, attentive and welcoming. Breakfast was enjoyable. It was buffet style, with very good coffee and chocolate. The location of the hotel is wonderfully quiet. It is within easy walking distance to the magical 40 hectare garden Le Domaine de Rayol, which means we will visit often. This is a quiet unspoiled part of the coast. The grander parent hotel at the sea's edge was closed, and the two local restaurants were disappointing. We had a very busy schedule, so didn't have time to search out other restaurants. There must be some!? In season the parent hotel is open with its two restaurants and lovely sea-front location.

Room Tip: The top floor rooms have a wonderful view. No lift access
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knokke-Heist, Belgium
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed there with a formula "book 3 nights and get 1 for free". And we stayed there for 1 night more (with Valentine's day). This hotel is so cosy, quiet, nice and is more worth than 3 stars. Rooms are very spacious, modern and quiet. We had a nice terrace and when the sun was shining, we could enjoy the sun. Very nice people. Enormous good breakfast: we were always the last ones, so we had the room for ourselves. We enjoyed it very much with a lot of sunshine. The bathroom had no bath, but we didn't matter. We had nice walks around the hotel and found the main hotel. It is closer by the sea, the main hotel, but is not that cosy as Les Terrasses du Bailli.
It was worth the experience!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed in les terrasses du bailli as the main hotel was closed, and very glad we did so.
The hotel is new and well appointed. The team is very friendly and ready to help. The hotel is quite small, and has a wonderful location, with beautiful sea view.
We will be glad to come again, enjoyed the stay very much!

Room Tip: The garden rooms have no door, but a sliding window. It is a bit hard to open or close, and not so c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed three nights in June. And enjoyed our stay very much:
- setting: in a quiet neighbourhood, a two minute walk downhill to two nice and small, therefore not overcrowded sandy beaches (at least in the preseason of June...); you'll need a car to get around, in 20 minutes you can reach around five or six different villages + their sandy beaches.
- room: modern, clean, with everything you need: A/C, spacious bathroom, comfy bed, enough storage space for luggage...
- breakfast: GREAT breakfast, with everything one can wish for, which you can have outside on the terrasse with a great soothing view over the Mediteranean.
- pool: not very big, but big enough to freshen up in the heat, never overcrowded (although the hotel was fully booked during our stay), peaceful setting.
- staff: very friendly.
- rates: room rates rocket through the sky during high season (July and August) as it does everywhere on the cote d'Azur, but during preseason you get very good value for your money.
We'll come back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Les Terrasses du Bailli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Terrasses du Bailli

Address: 18 Avenue du Capitaine Thorel, 83820 Le Rayol-Canadel, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Le Rayol-Canadel
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Le Rayol-Canadel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Les Terrasses du Bailli 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 3-star hotel with heated pool in season, open all year, set in a protected natural environment facing the Mediterranean Sea. Chic and contemporary 3-star hotel in the Cote d'Azur, the Hotel Les Terrasses du Bailli overlooks one of the most beautiful coves in the Gulf of Saint-Tropez and enjoys a privileged view over the Iles d'Or: island of Porquerolles, island of Port-Cros and island of Le Levant. The fruit of an original and successful combination of styles and historical periods, the hotel combines a superb 1920s villa dating from the origins of the village of Rayol-Canadel, and a new very contemporary building. The villa is home to the reception, a lounge, breakfast room and three bedrooms offering sea views. The 21 other rooms with terraces overlooking the sea are spread around the new building. In an "Art Nouveau" style, the neutral beige and grey shades combine with bright touches of turquoise, a nod to the Mediterranean. The sea is visible from the spacious (20 to 27 Sqm) rooms decorated in gentle shades, all facing south. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Les Terrasses du Bailli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Les Terrasses Du Bailli France/Le Rayol-Canadel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Les Terrasses du Bailli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.