We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel, excellent restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau de Salettes

Save Saved
You added Chateau de Salettes to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chateau de Salettes
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lieu dit Salettes, 81140 Cahuzac-sur-Vere, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Kessel-lo
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Charming hotel, excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We spend 4 days in July 2013 in this marvellous location. Fantastic renovated chateau, very quiet with splendid view on the surrouding vineyards ! Really unique. Large room on the ground level with direct access to the marvellous garden from which we had an amazing view over the valley and the swimming pool . Rooms with surprising modern style (will not be everyone's taste, but we liked it very much). Very nice bathroom but we were missing a separate shower where we could stand up. (shower in bath tub could not be raised due to the glass walls) Food in the restaurant was excellent . Restaurant manager fantastic without being patronising : each evening we had an excellent and original "Muscadelle" menue which we will never forget ! Congratulations to the cook and his staff ! If you are looking for a magnificent location ( very quiet with fantastic view over vineyards) and very good restaurant, this is the place to be ! We will certainly return in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms at the ground level with direct access to th garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    21
    5
    8
    6
See reviews for
8
48
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The reviews of this hotel and restaurant seem to be mixed but we found this place fantastic. The staff are friendly and helpful without being patronising, as we sometimes find in Chateau type places in France. Our room had an amazing view out over the valley. The food is amazing. Each dish on the Toulouse Lautrec menu is a taste sensation.
Not cheap but worth it as a treat.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

A modern renovation of a large simple building provides the rooms here. They are very simply in a modern style, not everyone's taste but we liked them. The beds were large and comfortable and we had no complaint about the bathrooms. Dinner was very good but the ambience was somewhat soulless as is the case for the hotel in general. It suited us for an overnight stay, though it is pricey.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2011

Old chateau in French countryside about an hour from Toulouse. Unsympathetically modernised. Rooms extremely basic and layout not the best - you had to go through a meeting room to get to mine. If you like rural France then it's probably your cup of tea, if you don't then you'll hate it. Food was French over-elaboration at its worst. Don't expect any concessions to non-French tastes at breakfast. No bar.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eu, France
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

I live locally and can report that I have had a good Sunday lunch here recently but the restaurant is soulless, with tables that are too big, and a dismal outlook. Several English friends have stayed here and all have been very disappointed. The bedrooms and bathrooms are awful with 'minimalist' decor, bad lighting and poor facilities. One couple (paying a rate of €270 per night) had an ensuite bathroom that was down a treacherous stone staircase from the bedroom. If you are an experienced traveller expecting international standards of comfort, do not stay here.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

What a find! We were just looking for a stopover having arrived at Toulouse and on our way to visit Millau Viaduct and I took a gamble on this hotel. It is fabulous. An very old building converted beautifully with a modern twist (obviously not to everyones taste given the other reviews). The rooms were clean, comfortable and air conditioned. The pool was set below the hotel with panoramic views over the rolling countryside and was blissfully peaceful.

The restaurant set in the courtyard was very picturesque both at dinner and breakfast. The food was excellent although we were shocked to not be offered any choice. However the chef is award winning so we didn't really complain. In addition they catered for our fussy teenager very well providing him with a plain steak and some kind of fried potatoes.

We only stayed one night but it was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, UK
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2009

This was a memorable place for a short stay - stylish, minimalist interior in wonderful old stone exterior, and very classy food. But a bit expensive for more than a short stay, and not exactly cosy.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chateau de Salettes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Salettes

Address: Lieu dit Salettes, 81140 Cahuzac-sur-Vere, France
Location: France > Midi-Pyrenees > Tarn > Cahuzac-sur-Vere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Cahuzac-sur-Vere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau de Salettes 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Escapio, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Chateau de Salettes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Salettes Hotel Cahuzac-Sur-Vere

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau de Salettes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.