We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable sleep, chaotic service....” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau de L'Yeuse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Chateau de L'Yeuse to your Saves list
Chateau de L'Yeuse
65 rue de Bellevue, 16100 Chateaubernard, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Chateaubernard
Oxton, UK
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
268 helpful votes 268 helpful votes
“Comfortable sleep, chaotic service....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

Things didn’t get off to a good start when we were shown our room. I’d requested a quiet room with shower but ended up above breakfast room/terrace area and no shower just a bath. WiFi access is available in room. A walk around their gardens is definitely worth the effort but unsuitable for people unstable on their feet.
Dinner was so-so……..my foie gras was excellent but of course we are in France so that should be a given. My husband’s starter “Sandwich de l’Ocean” was average bordering on boring and it attracted a supplement of 10 Euros. Why? I have a real irritation with hotels who add greedy little supplements to their menus. I had the lamb which was very pink in places and hubbie’s beef was medium/rare – a little too rare for his taste but again, he ate it. Why do restaurant staff bother asking how one would like meat cooking if they don’t follow your request?! We travel through France a lot so understand that their idea of medium cooked is not the same as the English version so we always compensate for that when advising how we like the meat cooked. Service was chaotic to say the least and, at times, the staff appeared to be arguing between themselves. There didn’t appear to be anyone in charge and overseeing the whole operation.
The bed was large and very comfortable so we both slept well. Towels and toiletries were adequate.

Breakfast at 18 euros per person is ridiculously expensive and bordering on London hotel prices. We voted with our feet, checked out and stopped off in Jonzac for a super 10 euro per person breakfast.
Standards have dropped and prices have increased disproportionately since our last visit so, on those grounds, we won’t be staying again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    32
    11
    7
    2
See reviews for
12
68
Solo
0
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chester
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

We arrived late afternoon for this part of our France tour for a three night stay in August. I had booked a garden view, but I was very happy to be offered a free upgrade to the river view. The garden view should be renamed the car park view, although it’s a very nice car park I would suggest you try and get the river view too as it’s much nicer and like us you might also get one of the very large rooms with the bay windows. We were shown the room first to see if we were happy and the room was very large. You came into the entrance with a separate toilet and bathroom on one side and wardrobes the other. You then go through another door into the large bedroom, with a telly that closes into a closet and the usually mini bar etc. There was a lot of storage and an excellent ceiling fan instead of the very annoying air conditioning, which I never like.

The second night was our anniversary so we ate in the hotel and had an absolutely fantastic meal. We spoke to the chef earlier in the day as I am vegetarian and there was nothing on the menu I could eat. The chef was very accommodating and came up with a menu for me including sea bass, so that was great. What I hadn’t anticipated were all the free bits and pieces we were going to be served in-between the courses we ordered. Firstly you get appetisers, and then you get your first course, followed by a second first course, then your main meal. After the main meal we got an extra dessert followed by the dessert we ordered, we then got cheese, followed by chocolates, I think that came to about seven courses!!! All for 50 euros which was a bargain. It was such a lovely restaurant very posh and the staff were very attentive and explained every course to you as it was presented.

Where they let themselves down is the breakfast. I suspect it’s not the same staff as the evening meal at its worlds apart. The selection is not very wide and there were lots of dead flies in the fruit salads, so I just couldn’t eat it. You couldn’t get any drinks at all without asking as there are none out. When asked for you get a tea or coffee with an orange juice. Not sure if you can ask for anything else or a further orange juice as the staff were so allusive we were lucky to get the first drink.

The parking is easy and to the front of the hotel, we went out and ate out the before coming back to the hotel on the other two nights we were there so I don’t know if there is anywhere walkable to eat other than the hotel but here is another hotel opposite that has a restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2009

My colleagues and I thoroughly enjoyed Chateau de L'Yeuse and would enthusiastically recommend it for a sophisticated traveler who enjoys life's finer things. The food was exceptional and the rooms were comfortable, clean and unique. We expect to return again and again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2007

If you are looking for a modern, relaxed atmosphere - forget it. Travel to revamped Novotel in La Rochelle for better rooms, service and value.... Overall decor of this hotel was kitsch Laura Ashley - more 1980s than 21st century. The wooden panels in the restaurant were painted in lurid colours to match the curtains. Chandeliers covered in articial flowers.

Paid for room with view over Charente at 133 euros. Very average. Shower attachment, with no means to attach it to wall. No branded toiletries in the bathroom. "Double room" actually means two singles... No alcohol of any kind in the mini bar(!).

Restaurant - no vegetarian option on any of the dinner "menus", therefore elements had to be taken from the a la carte menu - for which they tried to charge us full price (risotto at 40 euros per bowl?!). We complained and were given a grudging reduction. Coffee was stone cold (both cups), inexcusable. Souffle completely tasteless (egg white with unmelted granulated sugar in the bottom) - Grand Marnier used for flambee instead of Cognac (as stated on menu). Cheese was the best course. Food overall not impressive for the price.

Service not excellent - receptionist didn't even ask if we'd enjoyed our stay... Overall we did not feel relaxed in this atmosphere. According to the clientele in the restaurant, those that seemed to be enjoying themselves were middle-aged businessmen trying to impress guests with the "chateau" setting.

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2006

Stayed for one night - very good service - lovely location and views. Rooms pleasant. Menu choice and food of above average quality. Wine listings were in a book with an extremely varied choice available. Slightly out of town but lovely and quiet. Definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — Attentive courteous manner of staff
  • Tips/Secrets — The food served for dinner is typically Nouveau Cuisine but excellent
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxton, UK
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
268 helpful votes 268 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2006

This hotel is a real gem of a place. Stayed for 2 nights on our way to Biarritz. Thoughts as follows.
Good Points:
Beautifully appointed bedroom and very comfortable bed. Good quality bath towels and products.
Very nice staff who have a sense of humour and willing to assist if called upon.
Fantastic food. I couldn't agree more with a previous reviewer. They do deserve some type of recognition for their efforts. The service was very good with excellent wine recommendations from the sommelier.
Clean swimming pool with seperate areas for the toilet, shower and changing room.
Nice views over the valley.
Not So Good Points:
Swimming pool area is very close to a busy side road and the generated noise began to annoy me on day 2 of our visit. There was also a small dog in a nearby private property which yapped consistently for most of the day. Out of the hotels' control but very annoying.
There must be a military base in the vicinity because there was lots of "dog fight" activity from 0000-0300.Take ear-plugs!
Apart from visits to the Cognac factories there's not much else to do in the area. Cognac is not a particular pretty town.
The hotels' biggest weakness is no air-con.
Overall, would use hotel again as a stop off point for 1 or 2 nights but no more and only if they have air-con installed.

  • Liked — Food
  • Disliked — noisy swimming pool area
  • Tips/Secrets — take ear plugs
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2006

Though Cognac is not a town we would visit again without a purpose ( we thought once was interesting enough) we would definitely return to this charming hotel run by wonderful staff who accomodated our every need. For instance, when we enquired as we were leaving for a drive into the town of Cognac, about which Houses to visit, two were suggested to us. We chose Hennesey (hot contemporary French architect designed their new showroom), two tour tickets were booked with no fuss by the Reception Desk.

The hotel is tastefully and beautifully decorated creating a perfect setting for a country stay with all the comforts of home. We had a lovely large room with a terrace/balcony attached. Perfect for reading or sunbathing privately. Hard to find in Europe for North Americans used to pillow top mattresses, was the comfortable bed.

There is a nice size swimming pool, a Wi Fi connection and several lovely spots to sit adn read in or to have a spot of tea if one should wish.

Madame Celine Desniazieres, the owner was gracious at all times. We have never been to this part of the world before but found it wonderfully unusual and gracious that she would sincerely enquire of each guests welfare every day.

The food was delicious and we think deserves a one Michelin star! We certainly ate at one and two starred restaurants in other parts of France where the menu was nearly as exciting as this one. The dining room was busy when we were there and was ably and professionally handled by its a young staff.

Yes definitely would return to relax and enjoy the ambience for a day or so on the way to some other beautiful towns missed on this past trip to France.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau de L'Yeuse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de L'Yeuse

Address: 65 rue de Bellevue, 16100 Chateaubernard, France
Location: France > Poitou-Charentes > Charente > Chateaubernard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Chateaubernard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chateau de L'Yeuse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De L'Yeuse France/Chateaubernard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau de L'Yeuse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.