We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic birthday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau de Berne

Chateau de Berne
Route de Salernes, 83510 Lorgues, France
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Attractions in Lorgues
Type: Tourist/ Visitor Centers, Wineries, Cultural
Activities: Wine tasting, Leisure education
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This old château today functions as a wine exhibition, complete with wine tastings and classes.
jørlunde, Denmark
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic birthday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We were invited to birthday at Chateau de Berne, and what an experience. It is a beautifull place to have your party and see the fantastic place. It is surroundet by wine yards and the garden is so beautifull. Food and wine so special and the atmosphere very good.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    29
    6
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stresa, Italy
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Restaurant and wine tasting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We had an outstanding lunch with wines, at 50 euros per person. Chateau de Berne is quite far away from the main road A8, roughly one hour from Cannes. The final patch of the road was narrow, there was one particular corner we thought we might not get through. Luckily one person came along the road and showed us it is possible, the distance between the stone wall and a house is just 2 meters. xxx Anyway, the place was all worth it. It has beautifully landscaped garden. First we went to taste wines, it was all professionally done, and did not cost anything. Obviously we ended up buying a few boxes of wine. Then we went to have a lunch in the main restaurant (they also have a small snack bar that we decided not to go to this time). It was one of the most delicious lunches we have ever had. The service was excellent as well; it all started with small appetizers, two actually, then we had the starter that was outstanding but simple, just cauliflower moussé and a soft egg, the main course was salmon, and the desert was a plate of different relatively simple seasonal vegetables, like rhubarb, but it was all so nicely cooked, spiced and presented that it felt like being in heaven. xxx We decided to come another time, and booked two nights in the hotel in late September when the wine is ripe. We look forward to that!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieburg
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a visit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Turning off the road onto the property of Chateau de Berne one can be a bit confused as it takes another 5 minues until one finally reaches the Chateau. The grounds are vast!! Lovely shop and wine tasting area. Sadly the wines aren't my taste and I find them a bit too expensive but I always take my visitors there as the grounds are so beautiful and worth visiting. There is also a lovely hotel and restaurant next to the Chateau. Check out their website for special events.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Relaxed and nice evening with wonderful food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Hotel and restaurant belong to Relais & Chateaux; excellent food, very nice atmosphere and overall good service; free and convenient pick up and return from our hotel in town. A bit pricey but well worth the money.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flayosc, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Food and service cannot be surpassed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

The whole ambiance. As your drive into the property just to see the well kept gardens and vineyards. You are greeted with a smile and nothing is too much trouble.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chateau de Berne also viewed

 

Been to Chateau de Berne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau de Berne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.