We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont Expect to much” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Tour du Roy

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added La Tour du Roy to your Saves list
La Tour du Roy
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   45 r Gen Leclerc, 02140 Vervins, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Vervins B&B and Inns
Norfolk GB
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Dont Expect to much”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2007

Very historic house. But lacked the extras, There is no bar or public rooms to speak of. The food was good but not exceptional.

The owner trys to do everything himself he is a charming man, but it just misses the mark.

We stayed 4 nights but 2 would have been enough. The bathroom door handle fell off, the mirror on the wall in our room was so high you could not use it. The bedding was coloured poly cotton and was not good quality. We could see a member of staff eating cheese off the board when the owner was not looking. As said it was a French Faulty Towers.

Ok for a stopover but not more.

  • Liked — Very Historic Property
  • Disliked — all a bit heath robinson. Food only averager. wine expensive from €30
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    15
    11
    19
    13
See reviews for
4
44
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2006

The building is lovely but our room was tiny and dark with only 1 small window and very low arched ceilings. I admit we did book late but make sure you enquire about your room prior to confirming your reservation.

We decided to eat in the hotel as the town was limited in restaurant choices. The set menu was okay food although we couldn't fully enjoy it as the dining room was stinking hot, how hard is it to get the air con working?!

I also read in previous reviews about the dubious hotel manager and incorrect billing so I was on my guard when we checked out. Rightly so because when we checked out in the morning having avoided breakfast (it was an optional extra not included in our room price) our bill was waiting for us (written in French). The bill had extra items and costs I didn’t understand and as my French is limited I enquired what the charges were for. At this moment the managers English became very limited…..he had spoken English easily the previous day! After a bit of to and fro, he said the costs were for breakfast. We didn’t eat breakfast but he had set a place for us at the table assuming we would want it, so was going to charge us anyway! I insisted I would not pay as it was an optional extra which we didn’t commit to having so he finally agreed to take it off. Not nice to have this confrontation.

I definitely won’t be going back. Also the town seemed very safe, despite him saying it was VERY dangerous to park on the street. If you do go to this hotel I would avoid the 15 euro charge to use their car park and park out the front for free.

  • Stayed April 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vervins hotels

London, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2006

We saw a beautiful picture of a french chateux which is why we made the booking. We were shocked when we were shown our rooms which were across the road and down the street in an apartment building. The shower leaked and the ceiling creaked. When I went to complain and see if we could work out an alternative arrangement, it took ten minutes for someone to come to reception. Then I was rudely told that I had agreed to stay in the apartment at the time of booking. This was utterly untrue. While I explained this, the waiter waved goodbye at me and walked away. This was disgraceful. He wouldn't bring his manager out to speak to me nor would he consider a reduction.
To say Vervins was a sleepy town is an understatement. We went on a Friday night and couldn't even find one human never mind a restaurant on the street. We ended up with a very disappointing meal at a nearby hotel - cheval noire and again very very rude service. Do not recommend this hotel or the surrounding area.

  • Liked — the way it looked on the internet
  • Disliked — staff attitude
  • Tips/Secrets — don't go there.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2006

We stayed one night in summer 2006. The surroundings are unprepossessing, but you get what it says on the tin: dinner was good.

There were two niggles. We stayed in the Constance room, which is v nice but there is a connecting door to the adjacent room, so you may learn more about your neighbours than you may wish to know. Second, they added on a 15 euro charge for parking, which was not flagged up at either the time of reservation or on checking in. So check very carefully whether this is included, and avoid it by parking on the street if it is.

We gathered from other guests that this hotel is widely used by agencies like VFB, and many seem to have used this hotel each year and keep coming back (and they're not charged for parking!)

  • Liked — Good dinner
  • Disliked — Poor soundproofing of connecting door to adjacent room
  • Tips/Secrets — Check for parking charges
  • Stayed July 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
128 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
238 helpful votes 238 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2006

We stayed here for the one night on our way back to Calais in July 2006.
We found the hotel charming. It was very quaint and comfortable with an ‘old chateaux-charm’ about it. There is a beautiful stained glass window in the main stairwell. Although the hotel was situated in the centre of the town, it was a very quiet and peaceful place to stay. It has a pretty courtyard garden with ample parking.
Our room, Les Moissonneurs’ was extremely quaint, clean and comfortable. It had air conditioning, a t.v. and mini bar. The bathroom was also very quaint and clean. It had a bath but no shower but there was a hairdryer provided.
The staff were very efficient and polite. The restaurant was a gourmet one and the food absolutely delicious and beautifully presented and I feel, for the price, reasonable. Continental breakfast was included and was quite adequate.
The town was quite dead on a Friday night.
Would happily come again if passing through this area.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2005

We took a very late booking for this hotel and were advised that we would be in the annex rather than the main hotel. This we took to mean across the carpark but in fact we were in a house about 30m away across the street. This was adequate but very old fashioned and probably not worth the EUR 95 per room which was charged.

The restaurant is very good and provided what we wanted.

The area is not endowed with many places to visit unless you like to see a number of fortified churches. The Tourist Information office was a bit on the thin side.

Perhaps we would have had a different view if we had been in the main hotel but I doubt we would go there again.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, Kent
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2005

We have been staying 3 times in this hotel, which offers quite outstanding excellent food and accomodation, if you can cope with the occasional water shortage or electricity black out, typical for a French village. Eric, the Maitre de is helpfull and nice - that is until you are getting charged for your stay. In the morning of departure, he is nowhere to be seen, and your bill is always inflated- not by that much, but very anoying. The proprietor, who collects your money refers to Eric and of course he has no idea why you complain, which then results into a confrontation of sorts, leaving you with a foul taste in your mouth.
One mistake one can overlook, but on three occasions??? I have written to the hotel after our third stay, but never received as much as an acknowledgement or reply. My advice: Go and enjoy- a wonderful place, but make sure you check what you spend...We, unfortunately, will not go there again.

  • Stayed March 2004
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Tour du Roy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Tour du Roy

Address: 45 r Gen Leclerc, 02140 Vervins, France
Location: France > Picardy > Aisne > Vervins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Vervins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Tour du Roy 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your La Tour du Roy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Tour du Roy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.