We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino to your Saves list
St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   858 Frigate Bay Road, Frigate Bay, St. Kitts   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Frigate Bay
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed here during our first family trip to the Caribbean (7-2-14->7-10-14). Overall, we had a very good experience. The staff, although friendly, were incredibly slow, most notably at the pizza shack. There were only two people on line in front of us, and we waited on line for over 20 minutes on line, then about 20 minutes for the pizza. I would seriously consider to hire additional staff for the pizza shack and train them to be just a little bit faster. That being said, the rooms were a bit dated, but clean and the a/c worked very well. The balcony was beautiful, and we spent every morning and night out there. The view from our room (432), was absolutely stunning. We had a view of the pool, garden, and a spectacular view of the ocean! The beds were either love them or hate them due to how soft they are. The beach at the hotel was very nice with the cabanas and lounge chairs. Taxi service at the hotel was very good, and the two guys who keep it organized were very friendly. The only other complaint that I have is the lack of complimentary WiFi in the rooms (they do have complimentary WiFi in the lobby by the duty free shop). I would definitely recommend this hotel and the island to everyone, unless you or someone in your family is a picky eater, then your options are limited.

Room Tip: splurge on an ocean view, you won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKManager, General Manager at St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Hi Patti

Hey Patti

Thanks for providing us your feedback about your experience at our resort. The views from some of the balconies are indeed stunning; I hope you were able to catch the sunrise on one of the mornings. They are definitely worth waking up a little earlier.
I apologize that we did not deliver acceptable levels of customer service in all areas of the resort however we always take the feedback we receive as invaluable and use it as learning opportunities to make our hotel and our teams stronger.
Thanks for the positive comments about that our hospitality partners the taxi operators, they are invaluable as they have a wealth of island information. We will use your feedback to better ourselves so guests in the future will not have the same experience that you did. Thank you for giving us the opportunity for improvement.

Jacques Hamou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    910
    780
    257
    124
    89
See reviews for
440
784
49
159
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Clean, friendly, on the beach hotel. The bedroom was light and airy and always fresh and clean, the bed massive and this seems to be the only hotel I've been to where they encouraged you to put the aircon on, even when we weren't in the room. The fridge actually kept our drinks cold!

The beach was well equipped with sun loungers and fixed shade. This is the only place I've been to that I didn't have to get up at the crack of dawn to save a bed! Even going to the pool or beach after 10am there was lots of empty space.The sea was a bit rough, this being the only down point, because we were on the Atlantic side of the island, but the soft, clean, golden sand made up for it.

The three main restaurants are great however it takes a lot to get used to the 'Rush Slowly' attitude not just at the hotel but the whole island. One day it took one and a half hours for our meal to arrive. I need to eat as soon as I'm hungry!!

I would definitely recommend it to anyone who wants a lazy, quiet holiday.

The casino was great fun. This made up for lack of other entertainment most nights.

The photos on the site are perfectly accurate, you get exactly what you see.

Room Tip: Room with a view of the pool and sea from the 4th floor was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKManager, General Manager at St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Hello Angie

I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us your feedback regarding your recent stay. I am very pleased to hear that your overall experience was a pleasant one.
We are constantly striving to improve our guest’s experiences and it is encouraging to hear when our guests enjoy their time with us. I will be very happy to share your comments with our entire team. Thank you so much for staying at the St Kitts Marriott and we look forward to your next stay!.

Jacques Hamou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Relaxing, amazing, hotel with exemplary service. Breathtaking views of the water and mountains. Room was large. Employees were very nice and very helpful. Went above and beyond to answer questions and assist us in any way.

Would have liked if the hotel would have offered more local foods. As far as the room, there was no clock/radio but the room was cleaned and smelled fresh daily. Would love if it would have had a microwave.

Overall we were very satisfied and enjoyed the stay immensely. Would definitely go back again and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Ask for the 5th floor because it has a beautiful view of the water and mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKMarriott, General Manager at St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Hello there Denise

Thanks so much for those kind words about our resort and most importantly about our associates. We truly have an awesome team.

Sorry that you did not get a chance to sample some of the local specials recently added to our Bohemia menu, we are so happy that there is now a section of the menu called “Island Favorites.” Unfortunately our rooms do not feature microwaves but we do have clocks/radios. Please accept our apologies that there was none in your room at the time you were there.

Thanks so much for the recommendations and for taking the time to get to know us here in St Kitts. We hope to host you again real soon

Jacques Hamou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The short version is that for cruise goers who want a really relaxed, safe environment to simply unwind for 5-6 hours, this is your place. This is especially true for families with children. This place really has it all. There are 3 pools, the water is calm (see below), and there are plenty of chairs and umbrellas. I have no idea what other people are talking about when they give the Marriott low ratings. This is the perfect place to spend the day in St. Kitts if you are traveling with your family.

My family and I visited St. Kitts on July 13 during a stop on our cruise. For frame of reference, my party included: my wife and me (early 40s), our two boys (10 & 7), and my mom (late 60s). For starters, the Marriott has a lot of room to spread out. During our stay, if you wanted a covered cabana on the beach with chairs--no problem. If you wanted to sit poolside--no problem. In this post, I hope to answer a few questions for cruise folks that I had to scour the internet for:

1. Cost: The day pass is $35 per person. My kids did not have to pay. I do not know the age cut-off between adults and children. For this price, you get the full use of the facilities and 10% off food and beverage.
2. Lunch: Plan on spending about $25 per person for lunch.
3. Cab Ride: This was really simple. Just walk out from the cruise ship. There are people in orange vests. Just tell one of them you want to go the Marriott and off you go. The cost is $15 (not including tip) and takes about 15 minutes.
4. Ocean: Okay, here is one of my biggest hang-ups about some of the posts on Trip Advisor and why I almost passed taking this absolutely fantastic day trip. Some posts mention the rough surf. This is 100% false. I live on the East Coast and have gone to the Maryland shore, Jersey shore, South Carolina, North Carolina, Florida, etc. We go the Outer Banks every summer, as well. The ocean is about as "rough" as Hilton Head or Myrtle. Now, I say "rough" with a grain of salt, mind you. My kids do swim team, but are certainly not little Michael Phelps' in training. Did I watch them in the water? Absolutely, but what parent doesn't watch their 10 & 7 year old in the ocean? Lastly, the water at the Marriott is warm, warm, warm. This was the warmest water of all of the ports we hit (St. Thomas, Curacao, and Aruba).
5. Restrooms: I know this is a big deal for you moms out there (guys, not so much). The facilities are clean. It's a Marriott.
6. Hotel Staff: The people are very warm and friendly. Everyone had a big smile.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKMarriott, General Manager at St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Hi Tim

This is officially our post of the week around the resort. Hugs and smiles are the order of the day, all Thanks to you and this Fantastic review!

You have it correct with the cost of the Day Passes, and your kids were the perfect age, kids under 12 years can visit us complimentary when accompanied by paying adults.
It sounds like you arrived at just the right time when our new Executive Chef Mark Quitney was launching his new menu; he has done some awesomely creative things with infusing some local ingredients into our cuisine.
We are very happy to have our partners in hospitality working very close with us and we do look at the local taxi drivers as an extension of our resort. They provide a wealth of knowledge about the island and its culture and folklore.
I am very happy that you followed your own instincts and visited us and our beach. We do have a barrier that is a few meters off shore that has provided a wonderful calm oasis for swimming, plus, it has now turned into a reef with a resident turtle family and a wealth of different sea creatures that make for some amazing snorkeling. Also thanks to our fantastic Caribbean weather our ocean waters are most times very warm and inviting. Thanks so much your support!
Now to talk about the best feature of our resort. Our Associates! We have a Fantastic team of associates who work very hard at making you our valued guests feel welcomed, coupled with their unique brand of Kittitian hospitality our associates have truly made this resort a home away from home for all of our visitors.

I am very pleased that you spent some time getting to know us and I hope that next time around you will join us for more than just one day.

Jacques Hamou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Our room was right next to the north pool and a quick walk from the beach! The pizza shack was awesome and the staff was incredibly friendly, they made sure you got a taxi quickly and always asked if you were enjoying your trip, and even recommended the fun places to go on the island. I'm convincing my family to go back and stay here again next year but for two weeks instead :)

Room Tip: In my opinion, I think the cable bay house has the best location!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKMarriott, General Manager at St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Hi Sara

Thanks so much for spending some time with us and your wonderful words about our associates. Sounds like you had one of the best locations on property with the only decision for you being to choose between the pool and beach.

I hope you do not have a lot of convincing to do with your family, however allow me to offer some assistance. Our property offers a pristine beach, 3 pools, 18 holes of championship golf and the 35 000 sq ft Royal Beach Casino which boasts 34 gaming tables. The resort also features 393 luxurious rooms and suites, eight restaurants and three lounges, and The spacious Emerald Mist Spa which is comprised of 15,000 square feet of beauty, health and therapeutic facilities.

That is just some of the things at our property, the island features The St. Kitts Scenic Railway which provides guests with a relaxing and unique way to tour the island. The Brimstone Hill Fortress National Park which is a delightful trip back in time, where visitors can explore one of the best preserved historical fortifications in the Americas. There is Romney Manor which was once owned by ancestors of President Thomas Jefferson, and is a striking estate rich in history and is home to the Caribelle Batik factory, which produces unique, dyed fashions and wall hangings. One of the most significant landmarks is Independence Square, built in the late 1700s as home to the slave market, the square rapidly became the administrative, commercial and social center of Basseterre the Capital City. It was officially renamed in 1983 to commemorate St. Kitts and Nevis’ independence from Great Britain.

Now if that does not convince them nothing else will. You will definitely need the additional days to enjoy all that our resort and island has to offer.

We hope to see you again real soon!

Jacques Hamou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newberry, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

my stay at St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino was generally a fun one,though there are afew positives and afew negitives.(TIMESHARE)
POS: Clean well run resort that has good food,nice pool with swim up bar..service, was good,
locals were very friendly and helpful,beautiful plants..The ocean was crystal clear warm (we just returned). the water is abit rough.

Cons; limited water activities,ie parasailing,jet skiing..they do offer a snorkeling trip which was fun.. ect..lots of seaweed ..OMG the roads were bad no street signs! ...gas stations for a rental car? very hard to find...downtown was busy but very hmm old I suspect it will get better..
Management..I did e-mail them twice and actually called requesting a room with a view a surprise for my wife on our anniversary..we received a clean room ..with a view of there back wall ..Arubas Marriott did a great job helping me last yr with the same request.....!we were on the first floor no view and noisey second floor tetants
Overall; This was a nice resort ,locals were very helpful..not much to do...go on the snorkel trip,(
LeewardIsland Charter) ... safe for familys a quiet resort..abit pricey

Room Tip: try to get a third floor room or one near the pool if you have kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKManager, General Manager at St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Google Translation
Sehr geehrter Herr Mittermuller,

Vielen Dank, dass Sie sich die Zeit genommen haben unsere Kundenumfrage auszufuellen.

Wie wir dem Fragebogen entnehmen koennen, waren Sie mit der Sauberkeit in Ihrem Zimmer nicht zufrieden. Bitte nehmen Sie unsere Entschuldigung an. Dies ist ein Ausnahmefall and keine Widerspiegelung unseres Servicestandards.
Wir legen grossen Wert auf Kundenzufriedenheit und es tut uns sehr Leid, dass wir dieses Mal nicht Ihren Erwartungen entsprechen konnten.
Wir warden Ihre Feedback weiterleiten und Sie koennen davon ausgehen, dass Ihr naechster Aufenthalt bei uns einwandfrei sein wird.

Wir hoffen Sie, in Zukunft wieder in St. Kitts begruessen zu duerfen.

Mit besten Gruessen,

Jacques Hamou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Sorry for the late review, life has a way of keeping me busy. We went the beginning of June. We enjoyed our time on St Kitts and at the Marriott immensely!!! Their were 2 areas of disappointment. My 1st was my ocean view. We had a room that was not near the ocean but you could see a small part of the ocean between 2 other buildings. Not exactly what I had in mind, when I booked an ocean view room, but they consider it an ocean view room. The other was, the kids activity area was being renovated and there wasn't a lot for my teenagers to do in the late afternoon early evening. Other then that the room was nice, clean and spacious for our family of 5. The pools were nice and we never had a problem finding 5 chairs together. The beach was nice and the water was nice for my 3 teenagers to enjoy! We choose to make this a relaxing vacation and we were able to relax!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKMarriott, General Manager at St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Hello there Maria

Whether late or early we appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time here with us.

Unfortunately you were not totally satisfied with your room location particularly the view, please accept our sincere apologies. The satisfaction of our guests is always our highest priority, and we express regret the view did not totally meet your expectations.

Our Recreation Department hosts a wealth of activities throughout the day for all our guests. They are posted on the board just opposite the towel hut as well as listed in the resorts daily paper the “Sugar City News”. Some of the activities offered are Table Tennis, Bocce Ball, Wii Game Challenge, Pool Volley and these are just to name a few.

I am so glad to note that you did enjoy the pools and the abundance of chairs perfect for lounging around and soaking up some rays.

Jacques Hamou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino

Address: 858 Frigate Bay Road, Frigate Bay, St. Kitts
Location: Caribbean > St. Kitts and Nevis > St. Kitts > Frigate Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Frigate Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marriott St. Kitts Resort & Royal Beach Casino captivates you from the moment you see it, immersing you in the culture and atmosphere of this most relaxing and romantic of Caribbean Islands. Our breathtaking St. Kitts resort hotel offers an unparalleled island vacation experience. Luxury guest rooms, trimmed with West Indian accents and cutting-edge comforts, are spacious and welcoming. That same Caribbean flavor sets the tone in our 8 restaurants and 2 lounges. For entertainment and relaxation, the resort also offers the 35,000 sq ft Royal Beach Casino, the 15,000 sq ft Emerald Mist Spa and boasts an 18-hole championship golf course at the Royal St. Kitts Golf Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Kitts Marriott Resort And The Royal Beach Casino
St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Hotel Frigate Bay
Marriott Frigate Bay
Marriott St Kitts
Frigate Bay Marriott
St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino Frigate Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.