We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This generic tropical resort is fine for the most part.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino to your Saves list
St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   858 Frigate Bay Road, Frigate Bay, St. Kitts   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Frigate Bay
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“This generic tropical resort is fine for the most part.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

The Marriott in St Kitts is your run-of-the-mill, generic tropical island resort. You get the sense that you're a customer rather than a guest because it's so big and there's so many people. This isn't necessarily a bad thing - the hotel itself is enormous, with all the requisite amenities - multiple restaurants, a casino, several large pools, bars, etc.

We had a few issues on check in (we requested an early check in which they had some difficulty accommodating) but we found this was sorted far easily when dealing with Kevis on the front desk as opposed to any other staff. In fact, the service was a bit hit and miss - some people, like Kevis and one waitress at lunch by the pool were fantastic, while others were simply awful.

The rooms themselves are well appointed (A bidet! Now that's something you don't see everyday!) and were kept clean and tidy. No issues with my room at all.

The internet was a bit tedious and expensive but it did work. It was annoying not being able to use it on multiple devices at the same time (if I logged in on my phone my laptop connection would cut out) but it did work and I never encountered any issues with it. Pretty fast too.

Do not bother with the $6 Pina Coladas/Daiquiris at the bar by the lobby, they are made with artificial "mix" out of a giant blender/mixer rather than actual fruit and taste revolting.

Breakfast on Sunday morning was insane - tons of people, big wait to get anything. Show up early if you don't want to wait in line. The freshly made blueberry waffles are amazing through!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,035 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    858
    740
    238
    116
    83
See reviews for
413
736
42
145
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

The Marriot St. Kitts offers all the service and amenities you might expect from a Marriot Resort: good facilities, friendly staff and wide choice of restaurants. The hotel is beautiful located at the bay. Advice to rent a car at the airport which is cheaper than taxi transfers and provide mobility as the resort is rather remote located.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

once again had a great time although sept was far too hot for me, 88 89, hardly went in the sun.hurricaine session but i never saw any on the island i was there 3 weeks . lots of sunshine but lots of insects too. personaly i love the place but would prefer not to go hurricane time.

Room Tip: block 11........room 114, pool outside and very close to resturants
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Due to special diet requirements we requested a room with a full kitchen and specific cooking utensils. Peter, Asst Mgr of Operations (?), was absolutely wonderful about having our requests filled. They delivered a beautiful, new large stock pot w/lid, a large cooking spoon, a large chopping knife, salt & pepper, and a can opener. We were then able to shop for and prepare the only hot meals we could consume on island during our two week stay.

Surprisingly, we were given the same room we had three months earlier. The air conditioning was more dependable & did not require constant re-setting. The shower door seal has failed and results in water leakage on the floor. And the mattress was quite broken down in places.

Setting up an internet connection was a trial as usual. At-Your-Service sent a maintenance man to assist with an IT problem. Why? Then they transferred my technical call off island (without my knowledge or consent) and billed our room each time the IT provider called to rectify the issue. They did eventually remove those charges when we checked out. The password never works as it ought to. The internet provider has to manually "allow" the ip addresses of our devices. There must be an easier way to accomplish this task.

The weather was comfortable and surprisingly pleasant for June. Hot coffee is nice and strong at the Calypso take-out counter. The delicious pineapple is available intermittently, so we stock up and keep it in the fridge. The pools were dutifully vacuumed each morning, but the tiles were not scrubbed to remove the accumulation of "sludge". Be wary of the prices of frozen entrees in the Pronto store. A small "Amy's" entree was $12US!! Didn't realize it until it was too late.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We just returned from 10 days in St Kitts! It was our 5th trip in the last 7 years and my husband and I had a wonderful time. We love St Kitts, the people, the island and The Marriott. We always stay in the guest houses, they are away from the hustle and bustle of the hotel and the views are amazing. The hotel does need to work on some maintenance items, part of being on the ocean, but needs to be kept up a little better. Our building had a water pipe break, water was out all day and the A/C went out in our room. We ended up moving to another room and the hotel credited us for that night. These things happen. Overall this hotel offers a lot and has improved in many ways over the years. The beaches are maintained and cleaned regularly and snorkeling right off of the beach is good. We love the swim up bar, and the quiet pool when we just want to chill. The pizza shack has great pizza for a low key night and the other restaurants are good. We typically eat local food around the island and enjoy the freshly prepared local cuisine offered. We walk to "the strip" day or night and have never had a problem. This year we did notice that traffic was picking up on the road between the Marriott and the strip and some drivers were flying. This is something we had not experienced before, but read that they are working on continuing the sidewalk in this area. Just remember the Marriott is nice, but get out and explore the island it will bring you back to The Marriott! We have already planned our visit next year and we are bringing our daughters for the first time.

Room Tip: GUESTHOUSES! Close to the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StKittsMarriottMgr, General Manager at St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. It was a pleasure having you stay with us. We appreciate the positive comments about our property.

We took note of your comments regarding the maintenance, and will share this information with the Director of Engineering. I would like to take this opportunity to again apologize for the inconvenience caused with the air condition.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort
.
Thank you and have a wonderful day.

Warmest regards,
Jacques Hamou
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The title of this review is a bit two-sided. On the good side - this fairly new Marriott property has most of the usual details we've come to expect in a timeshare property/hotal combo. Without getting into too many specifics already covered by other merry travelers; great beach/great pool/pleasant staff. The bad news - it's the ONLY bigtime property on the island (hence the ambiguous title). Some maintenence upkeep is needed, the flora is less than adequate with dead and dying plants everywhere, and the service can be called "on island time". Overall, a solid property on a gorgeous island.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StKittsMarriottMgr, General Manager at St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. It was a pleasure having you stay with us. We appreciate the positive comments about our property.

We took note of your comments regarding the maintenance and service, and will share this information with appropriate managers. I would like to take this opportunity to again apologize for any inconvenience caused.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort.

Thank you and have a wonderful day.

Warmest regards,
Jacques Hamou
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Hill, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This resort is another great Marriott property!! Our villa was spacious, comfortable, perfect location, and beautiful! The entire staff was friendly and helpful. I guess the one disappointment was the places to eat on the property...the Bleu was exceptional but the rest of the eateries leave a lot to be desired. My party of 4 had to go off property to get a meal. Cabanas and lounge chairs were provided (complimentary) on the beach....this is a BIG plus!!!! We really enjoyed our week at this resort....would definitely return!!! Cannot believe that Marriott does not have a Sales office on this property!!!!

Room Tip: Our villa was located on the first floor....patio opened out onto the pool area!!! Great !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StKittsMarriottMgr, General Manager at St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. It was a pleasure having you stay with us. We appreciate the positive comments about our property and the friendly staff.

We took note of your comments regarding your dining experience, and will share this information with the Director of Food and Beverage.

Thank you and have a wonderful day.

Warmest regards,
Jacques Hamou
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino

Address: 858 Frigate Bay Road, Frigate Bay, St. Kitts
Location: Caribbean > St. Kitts and Nevis > St. Kitts > Frigate Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Frigate Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marriott St. Kitts Resort & Royal Beach Casino captivates you from the moment you see it, immersing you in the culture and atmosphere of this most relaxing and romantic of Caribbean Islands. Our breathtaking St. Kitts resort hotel offers an unparalleled island vacation experience. Luxury guest rooms, trimmed with West Indian accents and cutting-edge comforts, are spacious and welcoming. That same Caribbean flavor sets the tone in our 8 restaurants and 2 lounges. For entertainment and relaxation, the resort also offers the 35,000 sq ft Royal Beach Casino, the 15,000 sq ft Emerald Mist Spa and boasts an 18-hole championship golf course at the Royal St. Kitts Golf Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Kitts Marriott Resort And The Royal Beach Casino
St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Hotel Frigate Bay
Marriott Frigate Bay
Marriott St Kitts
Frigate Bay Marriott
St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino Frigate Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.