We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice resort hotel if you must go to St Kitts” 3 of 5 stars
Review of St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino

Save Saved
You added St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   858 Frigate Bay Road, Frigate Bay, St. Kitts   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Frigate Bay
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice resort hotel if you must go to St Kitts”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed in St. Kitts at the Marriott Resort for 4 nights in June 2013. The hotel was very clean, and the staff were attentive and friendly. I was a bit concerned with prior reviews reporting that the staff were not helpful. That was not my experience. Everyone was very pleasant, helpful and courteous. I have no complaints about the hotel, staff or food. I've traveled a fair amount to very nice properties in the Caribbean, Europe and US, and I found this property to be just fine. The room air conditioning was able to maintain a very comfortable temperature as well. While food is not cheap, I found the prices to be in line with what I would expect to pay at any moderate to higher end resort (although I would not describe the Marriott as high end--it was as one might expect a Marriott to be). Our room was very roomy, much larger than one would find in a city.

The people of St Kitts and Nevis that I encountered were friendly. I did not leave the Marriott property for a significant period of time during our stay however. There really is not much for a visiting tourist to do on St Kitts or Nevis outside of the resorts, so there was really no need to leave. The hotel beach was pretty, but not much for snorkelers as compared to the USVI, St. Lucia or St.Martin.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main building, but any of the locations are reasonably close. If you are traveling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,029 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    854
    738
    238
    116
    83
See reviews for
411
732
42
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Berlin, WI
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

2 girlfriends and I made a promise to visit St. Kitts 18 years ago when passing it on a cruise. We finally made it to St. Kitts last week! We enjoyed the Marriott. We stayed in a garden view room in the main hotel. They upgraded us to a balcony but it overlooked the ventilation system. It did not matter as you never spend any time in your room. For 3 girls, the room was quite large. We did find that we were never given enough towels and wash cloths even when notes were written for housekeeping. We did receive them promptly though with a phone call. We enjoyed quick breakfasts at the Calypso Cafe (reasonable prices), pizza at the Pizza Shack and drinks at the pool bar. Happy Hour is 3-6 PM. All of the resort employees were very friendly and always asked how we were enjoying our vacation. There is a daily newsletter available by the towel building which notes all of the activities. We participated in water aerobics which was fun. Most of our dining was off-site. The hotel's beach is beautiful with plenty of cabanas (free!) to choose from. The resort is within walking distance of some nice restaurants (Karma for thai food, Ciao for italian and the strip beach shacks). We would love to return to St. Kitts as we didn't spend nearly enough time!

Room Tip: We spent very little time in our rooom so a garden view was fine for the 3 of us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StKittsMarriottMgr, General Manager at St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review regarding your recent stay with us. It was a pleasure having you stay with us. We are happy to read that you enjoyed the restaurant expereience here at the resort.

We took note about your comments regarding the towels, and will share this information with the Housekeeping Manager to correct the situtation.

Thank you and have a wonderful day.

Warmest regards,

Jacques Hamou
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleyville, Texas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We chose St. Kitts for our family vacation this year, and made arrangements to stay in the villas at St. Kitts Marriott Resort. We had a fabulous time. Our villas were huge and very clean. They contained all the amenities of a furnished apartment. The staff at the Marriott were very friendly and wanted to please. If you ordered food at any of the hotel venues, you needed to be patient. As one of the locals told me...."in St. Kitts we rush slowly." We all enjoyed the access to the Casino each night.....it is not Vegas, but it was fun. The golf course next to the resort was well maintained, and not crowded. The beach was clean, and the three pools were all very nice. We found the taxi drivers to be pleasant and informative, so there was no need to rent a car. The tour desk was very helpful in setting us up for an ATV adventure through the rain forest and a trip to the very well preserved British fort at Brimstone. Don't go to St.Kitts for shopping...not much there. Go to relax, and enjoy the culture of this beautiful island.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Went to this hotel per the recommendation of our travel agent and it we loved it. The beaches were nice and clean. The rooms were great sizes, almost like a condo-tel type thing. The overall service and staff were fantastic as well. The casino was OK, nothing to get excited about, especially if you are imagining a vegas type setting. Our little girl got ill and the hotel directed us to a local DR, very nice of them and he was also accommodating...oddly he ended up being in the casino....enough about that. The only complaint I would say came from my wife, which was there were cats in/around the property. That didn't make for comfort, however the management tried to assure us they would try to keep them out by removing them from the property...but I think that's part of being in a tropical setting...there's going to be some animals.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vaildiner19
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I would strongly suggest staying elsewhere until the hotel abandons their recent decision to use motion sensing thermostats. I have stayed at this property several times in the past few months and each time I have had to spend significant time fighting with maintenance to disable the motion sensing feature on the thermostat.

When you pay for a +$250 night room you expect to have good air conditioning, right? Not at the St. Kitts Marriott. The rooms are set to 78-79 degrees until you enter and then they start cooling. It can take 2-3 hours for the room to cool down. This would be fine if you were always in your room but like myself, I'm sure you want to spend time outside your room.

Here is the worst part - when you are sleeping, the system thinks you are out of the room and will shut off so you wake up sweating every hour. Multiple complaints/calls to the managers haven't fixed this problem.

If it weren't for this issue, the property is nice. However, who wants to stay in a hotel without air conditioning?

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I absolutely loved St. Kitts. It is my favorite travel so far. The staff at the St. Kitts Marriott Resort was incredibly nice, helpful and quick. I really loved the food and appreciated that they tried to make the food as Caribbean as possible without being too spicy. The restaurant choices were great and there wasn't one night that I didn't like the atmosphere and the food. Even room service food was great. I found this resort to be very generous, clean and the spa is absolutely wonderful.
This resort was top knotch (and I'm pretty darn picky) and I highly recommend it.
If you get the room service food, make sure you try the portobello with the roasted peppers. Amazing. And for lunch, our favorite was the iceberg lettuce wedge and the conch fritters!

We had the all--inclusive and I definitely think it was worth it! The room was very clean and the view was amazing!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frigate Bay, St. Kitts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We chose to spend our vacation at the St. Kitts Marriott (in the condos) on the spur of the moment when availability popped up for the dates we needed in Interval International. We did our research on TripAdvisor after booking our room. We were a little skeptical after reading some of the negative reviews, but found this resort to be beautiful and the staff friendly and welcoming. Our condo was the largest we have ever stayed in with Marriott and was well maintained. Adelcia called me a few days before our arrival and asked if there was anything she could do for us to make our stay better. My only request was a high floor with an ocean view. She worked her magic and we were escorted to a lovely condo on the second floor right on the ocean. The constant breeze off the Atlantic was so pleasant and kept us cool as we lay out on the beach and had our coffee and evening cocktails on our balcony. We also toured other beaches on the island and found that the Marriott was the nicest and best maintained. There are several great restaurants within walking distance (we especially enjoyed Bombay Blues) and couple of others only a short cab ride away. Our 2 favorites were Marshall's and Carambola Beach Club. We also took a half day island tour for only $45 for our family of 3. Elvis, our driver, offered us this low rate since we were there off season and he didn't have anything going on that week. I would highly recommend this resort if you are looking for a relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino

Address: 858 Frigate Bay Road, Frigate Bay, St. Kitts
Location: Caribbean > St. Kitts and Nevis > St. Kitts > Frigate Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Frigate Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marriott St. Kitts Resort & Royal Beach Casino captivates you from the moment you see it, immersing you in the culture and atmosphere of this most relaxing and romantic of Caribbean Islands. Our breathtaking St. Kitts resort hotel offers an unparalleled island vacation experience. Luxury guest rooms, trimmed with West Indian accents and cutting-edge comforts, are spacious and welcoming. That same Caribbean flavor sets the tone in our 8 restaurants and 2 lounges. For entertainment and relaxation, the resort also offers the 35,000 sq ft Royal Beach Casino, the 15,000 sq ft Emerald Mist Spa and boasts an 18-hole championship golf course at the Royal St. Kitts Golf Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Kitts Marriott Resort And The Royal Beach Casino
St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Hotel Frigate Bay
Marriott Frigate Bay
Marriott St Kitts
Frigate Bay Marriott
St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino Frigate Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.