We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I don't have a clue what prompts bad reviews!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino to your Saves list
St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   858 Frigate Bay Road, Frigate Bay, St. Kitts   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
THREE FOR FREE OFFER
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Frigate Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Utah
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“I don't have a clue what prompts bad reviews!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

I am currently staying at this wonderful resort. Everything has been up to our expectations and then some. I have read some of the previous comments that were not to favorable of this property and can't imagine what prompted the negativity. One poster complained that Marriott (forced) a 12.5% tax for little or no service. It's a shame these folks from Texas do not understand this is a vat tax, authorized by the government on ALL purchases by non-residents. I read another post about the terrible wait for food preparation. Please remember, you are on "Island Time" If you want speedy service go to New York...you'll get pushed out the door before you've finished your meal. In looking closer at your post, along with an earlier one, where the poster thought they were being "watched like criminals because they were students, it is painfully clear that you both live on Nevis ...AND your opinion seems to lack foundation. This is a great property. The airline mishandled my bag for two days and the staff took great interest in getting me through....including using THEIR van to take me to the airport and back to get the luggage, when it finally made it....I Love This Marriott

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    960
    835
    283
    127
    95
See reviews for
471
839
53
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (493)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portales, New Mexico, United States
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Marriott St Kitts is just what you would expect from Marriott!! Beautiful resort, lots of attention to the pool and Beach to make them very comfy, great restaurants and shops...well done. It is located on the windward side of St Kitts though so the beach water can be a little rough, however, the snorkeling is spectacular right off the beach. Huge Turtles and stingrays live in the cove and were seen everytime we snorkeled. Their is a breakwall reef about 125 yards off shore with nice sealife on it as well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

My husband and I recently got married at the Marriott St. Kitts. We had done some research to find the most romantic place to get married. Both of us are well traveled, but had never been to St. Kitts. It was just the two of us (plus a local that we met there, who we named "Best Man" for our wedding. The hotel is a one-stop-shop for weddings. They arranged everything. All we did was show up, spend the night, sign some papers... and then they arranged for a beautiful on-the-beach location (see photos). They arranged for our photographer (Daryl Charles) who was amazing! It was absolutely stunning.

Of note: Island people are not generally multi-taskers. .. and tend to move slow. This trait is worthy of mention, because if you are looking for someone to run and fetch something quickly, that will not happen anywhere on the island. However, if you can get out of the "hustle-and-bustle" frame of mind and just relax, you will soon discover how this place can help you unwind and forget about stress back home.

This hotel was very clean. The room service was amazing.

The steakouse on the property was not the highlight. We visited lots of local restaurants on the island that overall seemed to have better food (for a lot less) than the on-site restaurants.

The Bohemian restaurant at the beach was typical beach fare, but decent.

I would definitely visit this property again!

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the guest houses instead of the main building. We had a view of pool. Stayed in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Excellent concierge service, spa, spa service, gym facility, beautiful beach, and a challenging golf course with beautiful Atlantic ocean vistas on the back nine. The only item lacking was good service at the Bohemia bar and grill that were slower than "island time". Otherwise, excellent location on the island that is within walking distance to some great local restaurants (Bombay Blues and Cathy's). Also, a wonderful pizza shack near the main pool. Lots of great activities within an affordable taxi ride. If you are interested in a great, relaxing time in the Caribbean, this is a great resort. We will definitely be back and for an additional week.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tintern, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. The hotel is on a big property with several buildings offering different possibilities. We opted for a quiet location on the fringe, there are multiple pools which range from quiet to a central location near bar and restaurants. The beach amenties are good with plenty of cabanas and loungers, it does get windy as it faces the Atlantic side.
The restaurants offer a good range of options, with the possible exception of the pizza take away they are all priced on the high side. There are other options up and down market within a short walk and nowhere on the island is that far away. Service can be slow, but this is the caribbean not NYC.
Staff are very friendly and helpful and the general atmosphere is very pleasant.
I would very much like to revisit.

Room Tip: The buildings away from the hotel complex are quieter (but you have longer walks)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

This is our second trip to the Marriott and it was like coming home. All the staff greeted us like family, they are all such wonderful people. Always there to help, lend a hand, help you find whatever you are looking for in St. Kitts. The rooms as usual were clean and roomy, Always found if we needed anything, one call and it was attended to. I must mention that if you are staying and eating and drinking only at the resort, I would suggest the meal plan. We always enjoy the food at the resort, and if we want to have some local flavour the staff is there to suggest some great spots to take in. We will be back again, you have become a favourite stop on our trips south.

Room Tip: Beautiful view facing beach and quieter although it is not a noisy resort and we have found it nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I am amazed at this Marriott St. Kitts property that adds a 12.5% service charge for little, spotty or no service. Most of the bars and restaurants that we patroned within the hotel had the worst service I've ever received especially at a Marriott property. An example of the awful service is breakfast at the Calypso restaurant took almost an 45 minutes to make it to our table and all the waitress could say was "I'm checking on it" - several times. How long does is take to cook eggs? Another example was in the lobby bar. We sat down at the Lobby bar and waited for someone to approach the table to take our drink order before I just walked over to the bar counter and got the drinks myself. They were not busy, just not very slow and inattentive.

The hotel and grounds itself were good, the folks who worked there were friendly but, paying a forced service charge with the lack of service is the main reason we will not visit this property.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino

Address: 858 Frigate Bay Road, Frigate Bay, St. Kitts
Location: Caribbean > St. Kitts and Nevis > St. Kitts > Frigate Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Frigate Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marriott St. Kitts Resort & Royal Beach Casino captivates you from the moment you see it, immersing you in the culture and atmosphere of this most relaxing and romantic of Caribbean Islands. Our breathtaking St. Kitts resort hotel offers an unparalleled island vacation experience. Luxury guest rooms, trimmed with West Indian accents and cutting-edge comforts, are spacious and welcoming. That same Caribbean flavor sets the tone in our 8 restaurants and 2 lounges. For entertainment and relaxation, the resort also offers the 35,000 sq ft Royal Beach Casino, the 15,000 sq ft Emerald Mist Spa and boasts an 18-hole championship golf course at the Royal St. Kitts Golf Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Marriott, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Kitts Marriott Resort And The Royal Beach Casino
St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Hotel Frigate Bay
Marriott Frigate Bay
Marriott St Kitts
Frigate Bay Marriott
St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino Frigate Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.