We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food needs help & A/C is intermittent” 3 of 5 stars
Review of St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino to your Saves list
St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   858 Frigate Bay Road, Frigate Bay, St. Kitts   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3 free nights in Paradise
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Frigate Bay
Corvallis, Oregon
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Food needs help & A/C is intermittent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

First, our trip in Feb 2013 was blessed with the best weather ever! What a nice surprise after so many hot, humid, mosquito plagued trips. The property is looking more vibrant. Landscaping is recovering, pool maintenance is better, room upgrade is much appreciated, and housekeeping is consistent and thorough. They've changed to a "no cash" policy, which keeps charges in one place: on the room bill. Keep all receipts and settle up the night before checkout, if possible.

Disappointments: Dwindling food selections for hungry visitors. (For the most part I survived on pineapple and chocolate truffles.) The line is long at the Calypso Cafe in the morning for coffee, muffins, pastries and fruit. And when they run out of food, YOU are out of luck! They could make so much more money, avoid the panic lines, and satisfy their customers if the kitchen would stay ahead of demand.

Skip the super expensive Seafood Buffet on Tuesday nights. I stood in line over 30 minutes for my main course (and we pay for this?!), while my glass of white wine sweated itself to room temp. The sous chefs insist on turning the scallops and shrimp into chewy erasers...while I annoy them with preferences. I believe it's ~$37+US/person without wine. The salad is ro-mainly boring and the dessert selections are ho-hum.

Just a few years ago the Bohemian Grill served a delicious Caribbean Twist Wrap, but it's been replaced by less healthy American fare. Current management is so new they don't even know what we meant.

And the Calypso Caribbean Cobb salad was so much more than it is today. It had mixed greens, fresh grilled chicken, juicy mango, boiled egg, ripe tomato, crispy bacon, and some of the best blue cheese crumbles I've tasted anywhere. This salad was made with love and delivered with pride. We often split one for dinner and were completely satisfied. At $18 US, that's not bad.

And what's happened to the Chicken Roti?!! This local dish should be bursting with chicken and not-too-spicy curry (instead of potatoes), wrapped in a chickpea tortilla rather than a white flour one, served with savory chutney (now you have to request it), and have the whole portion on the plate (duh). Once we were actually delivered a roti with over 1/3 of it missing! Someone in the kitchen was hungry and most guests wouldn't know the difference. The main kitchen simply lacks consistency and quality. I recommend the management eat solely from the Bohemian and Calypso for several weeks to gauge for themselves. Fresh, delicious food is obviously very important to this traveler. ;D

BTW, the air conditioner in our unit had to be "reset" 5+ times during our 2 week stay. If it happens at night, it can be a much bigger problem. "At Your Service" had lapses where they did not even answer their phones. One time, regarding the a/c problem, we let it ring continuously for 5 minutes! Something is going on there and it's not good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,081 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    881
    749
    245
    121
    85
See reviews for
419
756
44
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newton, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this resort for six days in Feb/Mar of 2013. The employees were very friendly, attentive and helpful from the minute we arrived until we left. Our room over-looked the ocean and was very nice. The room was large, modern and very clean. We had dinner at three restaurants on the property. Blue, Italian and the steak house. All were very good and the service wae excellent at all three. We do not recommend the buffet breakfast. The food was not very good and way over-priced. The bar at the pool was well staffed and a lot of fun. The food, we had lunch there twice, was also real good. The conciere will put anyone interested in contact with a local taxi driver that will give you a very informated tour of the beautiful island. I would strongly recommend this versus the train. The taxi drivers on St Kitts all seem to have a vast knowledge of the history of the Island and its people. We paid $80 for our 5-6 hour tour and it was well worth the price. We also visited St Nevis and took a taxi tour of it as well. We had an older gentleman take us around and he was real good. I suggest you use a taxi service that is waiting with their vehicle right at the boat. They seem to be a cut above what you might find once you leave the dock. I also played golf at the Marriott course one day. The course was in very good shape and was fun to play. The pro in the shop was also very friendly and helpful. I have been fortunate over the years to have played many of the elite courses in the states and Europe. This course is not in my top ten but well worth playing just the same. I did not play the course at the Nevis resort. I talked to a group of avid golfers that did and they were not impressed The fee was too much for the condition of the course per their comments. In summary.my wife and highly recommend St Kitts and the Marriott Resort for anyone considering a Carribean vacation. We have visited most of the Islands and St Kitts is right up there with the best.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed at Marriott for a week during Canadian March break. The island is gorgeous but the resort location is uninspired, on the Atlantic side, where the water is a bit colder and rough. The resort includes the main building and 10 villas, a main pool with a swim up bar and 2 smaller pools. The room was pretty basic, in a villa close to the tennis courts. No balcony. We weren't offered an upgrade, although the resort was almost empty and in our villa only 2 rooms were occupied. No free wi-fi ($15/day), but at 5 min walk there is an excellent cafe (Ritual) that has free wifi.
We booked the all inclusive package, however is not the usual all inclusive. The meals were always an annoying process. One gets at check in a list of things included and excluded from the package, ie excluded were imported beers, luxury brand alcohols etc. We suppose to verify the list to see what is or isn't included. when sited you give the name and room #, the waiter asks this info again and on the cheque the customer has to print neatly one more time the name and room. the kids eat from a pathetic kids menu. otherwise there is another exorbitant charge.
Beaches: The resort has a gorgeous beach, long and wide, with lots of cabanas. The water is a bit cold and rough. One could walk (15-20 min) to the Caribbean side, where the water is calmer and warmer - decent snorkeling.
We also took a cab ($12) to Shipwreck beach, on the Caribbean side, where there is great snorkeling and a beautiful upscale restaurant/bar, called Carambola.
We didn't go, but apparently the other beaches are really nice: Cockleshell beach and Turtle shell beach, on the south side. The cabs have fixed fares from Marriott ($24 one way).
Food: There are 3 restaurants in the resort: a steakhouse, Cucina (Italian) and Blu (seafood), but only 2 were opened each day. After one week, we knew the menus by heart. The food was basis and expensive, so maybe an all inclusive choice was a good one. For breakfast, there was only one restaurant, which offered either buffet ($30/pers) or a la carte, very pricey. The food choice was pretty limited, very few fresh fruits, vegetables or yoghurts, but good pancakes and waffles. The entire week, the only espresso machine was down, and we couldn't get a decent coffee....
The service was average at best, the people were bored and not very helpful. Maybe because the tips were already included (12.5% service charge is already included in your bill, which gets shared by all personnel). Once I ordered lunch at the Calypso cafe, and the lady brought it in a box. When I said I didn't ordered it to go, she gave me a big eyeroll and turned around without a word of apology, then dumped it on a plate and brought it back..
Activities in the resort: Good news for us were the 4 tennis courts. Surface was synthetic grass, never played on it before, felt like playing on a carpet with sand, but at least was forgiving for the knees.Since it was very hot, nobody played during the day, and the courts were full after 5 pm. Unfortunately, they turned the lights off at 7 pm, when would have been the perfect temperature to play.
Absolutely no activities for kids! There was a kids club, a room that looked like a kindergarten class, always empty. Our 11 yo daughter had nothing to do. No club for tweens or teenagers, no sports, no trips, nothing. We've been in many resorts before, and I have to say that Clubmed is so far unbeaten in terms of activities offered for kids.
But hey, there was a casino, and probably more than half of guests were there between 12pm-2 am..Who cares about entertaining the kids?
Tours: We took a cab to do an island tour ($80, slightly cheaper than booking it from the resort). We visited the Brimstone fortress (very well preserved, it's a must to see), the Black rocks (volcanic lava) and the Caribelle Batik (housed in T. Jefferson great great grandfather's house).
We also took a rainforest tour, which was very nice, but short.This one we booked with the resort. Funny that one day the price was $65/adult and $55/kid, and the next day was $10 cheaper/pers...Not sure how they make their prices...
Other options are a snorkeling tour to Nevis island, either booked with the resort, or take a cab to the town of Baseterre ($12) and then the ferry to Nevis ($10/per), way cheaper.
We did some duty free shopping in the town of Baseterre, where the cruise ships stop, mostly jewelery, watches,alcohol, tobacco and the usual souvenirs.
In case you plan to explore the island, rent a car for few days, and talk to the locals. they are always happy to provide you all the info you need. also gives to flexibility to explore the local restaurants. The taxi drivers act also as tour guides.
In summary, beautiful island, decent resort, but the service definitely can be improved No activities for kids.
I wouldn't go back here, there are plenty of islands with resorts providing better services.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Overall not too bad of a resort but really nothing special. We got a really good deal to stay there and was worth the quick trip to St Kitts before our longer stay on Antigua. There were a few good local spots to eat relatively close to the resort which was kind of nice. You can't breathe in the casino because of the smoking and I can usually tolerate it well. Good family resort probably because the pools are nice, food options decent and at least out rate was pretty reasonable. Doubt we'd go back. If interested in the restaurants we liked, let me know. We also liked a particular beach which was much nicer than the resort one.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

The resort is located in a great location. You will be close enough to the other side of frigate bay to enjoy the Caribbean beach- which we found to be much more relaxing. There are also great beach shack type restaurants nearby.

The rooms are updated, and offer great views of the Atlantic.

The service at the hotel is lacking. Of course if I wanted 5 star service I would've stayed at the four seasons on Nevis. I did however, not expect the horrible service and dishonesty we experienced. The bellman lied to us twice regarding taxi availability. Instead of allowing us to share a taxi with another couple, the bellman told is us try we're going in a different direction- so the taxi drivers could make more money, of course. The Tour desk was also not very informative. Do your research prior to arriving, and don't depend on the tour desk to provide the best tour information.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed 7 nights at this resort and loved it. We originally had booked a resort view room, however because I was an Elite member we were upgraded to a 5th floor suite with a beautiful mountain view(ocean on the side). The room was updated, large, and clean(except for the balcony).
Below is what we liked and areas of improvement that could possibly be made.

PRO'S
-We arrived to live music being played and free Carib beer/rum punches being given out(Delta flight)
-The doormen/bellmen were knowledgeable in areas to visit/activities to do
-We only ate at the Bohemia restaurant/room service at the hotel. We ate out all other times. The Bohemia makes awesome sandwiches. Room service was good and was reasonably priced.
-There always seemed to be plenty of space at the pool/beach which made it very relaxing.
-They held an Elite cocktail hour on the 7th floor and it was one of our favorite activities.
-You can walk to several of the restaurants which are very good(Rituals Coffee, Rock Lobster, Shiggidy Shack, Cathy's).

OPPORTUNITIES OF IMPROVEMENT
-Other than the bellmen/doormen, all the other staff seemed to have limited knowledge on activities/things to do at the hotel and on the island. Seems like they need improved training in this area.
-Happy hour was very limited. You could only order 2 different drinks(none of the specialty or frozen drinks). They should include more drinks!
-The hot tubs are not hot.
-No water-sport activities near by.
-Provide a limited shuttle service to some of the popular destinations(i.e. Fort, the Port, etc.)

Overall, we had a great stay and we are definitely planning on coming back in the future. The island is absolutely beautiful and the food is great!

Room Tip: Get 4th or 5th floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

A recent four night stay at the St. Kitts Marriott was a great late winter getaway. Overall, the resort is wonderful. Long, walkable beach with plenty of room to spread out and abundant cabanas. Breakwaters give plenty of surf protection from the constant Atlantic Ocean winds and waves. Room was large and the bed very comfortable although the A/C temp wouldn't adjust (just turn it off to modulate). Staff overall is very friendly and helpful. The chief doorman, Auburn, is amazing. Front desk and concierge help were all just great. We got immediate reservations at the top restaurants on the island which then welcomed us as first class guests. The Tour Desk needs work. The help was not nearly as friendly as the rest of the property staff. And I can't believe there are only two boat operators on St. Kitts that charter cats, or that they only sail a day or two a week. But those were all the options we could get out of them. The massage vendors on the beach are plentiful offering free samples but not intrusive and I recommend Angela at the south end stairway. The beach bar is a great place to hang out for a Carib or a Painkiller. But the staff here could use an upgrade as well. Minor complaints, all in all, and we would go back in a heartbeat. Miss it already.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino

Address: 858 Frigate Bay Road, Frigate Bay, St. Kitts
Location: Caribbean > St. Kitts and Nevis > St. Kitts > Frigate Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Frigate Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marriott St. Kitts Resort & Royal Beach Casino captivates you from the moment you see it, immersing you in the culture and atmosphere of this most relaxing and romantic of Caribbean Islands. Our breathtaking St. Kitts resort hotel offers an unparalleled island vacation experience. Luxury guest rooms, trimmed with West Indian accents and cutting-edge comforts, are spacious and welcoming. That same Caribbean flavor sets the tone in our 8 restaurants and 2 lounges. For entertainment and relaxation, the resort also offers the 35,000 sq ft Royal Beach Casino, the 15,000 sq ft Emerald Mist Spa and boasts an 18-hole championship golf course at the Royal St. Kitts Golf Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott and Tingo so you can book your St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Hotel Frigate Bay
St. Kitts Marriott Resort And The Royal Beach Casino
Marriott Frigate Bay
Marriott St Kitts
Frigate Bay Marriott
St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino Frigate Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.