We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy to get away!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino to your Saves list
St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   858 Frigate Bay Road, Frigate Bay, St. Kitts   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Frigate Bay
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Happy to get away!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We reall enjoyed our vacation here. The rooms were extremely clean and the beds were heavenly. The beach was beautiful and water was crystal clear. The pool was OK, I would definitely say it was not the cleanest and the jacuzzi was not warm. The restaurants at this hotel are extremely overpriced for what they have to offer. A burger is about $18 and it also takes about an hour to get any food. The pizza and ice cream booth however is delicious!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    910
    778
    257
    125
    89
See reviews for
439
783
49
159
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomingdale, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

2013 St. Kitts
My wife and I went on an Apple Vacation to the Marriott in St. Kitts the last week of February 2013. We loved it with a few exceptions.  First of all we did not go for the all inclusive since my wife barely drinks and I don't drink as much as I used to.  For 7 nights they wanted $950 per person for the additional charge for unlimited food and drink.  We ended up spending about $1150 total for the two of us (both on site and off site) and we ate well and I drank as much as I wanted.  Plus I strongly recommend eating some meals off site which would just add to the all inclusive cost.  
The resort was luxurious. There is the main hotel and a north and south complex of ten buildings each.  We stayed in the south complex in building 1 room 310.  Ours was a standard room, quite large, well decorated and with a balcony overlooking a courtyard.  We had a small fridge which came in handy since there was a minimart down the street for snacks.  There is a huge pool in front of the hotel which is fairly crowded with D.J. Music all day and lots of bars.  Finding a chair there at prime time was sometimes a challenge.  There were two smaller pools in each of the north and south complex.  These were less crowded and less noisy. Beyond the main pool was a gorgeous beach with plenty of beach chairs and cabanas which were free to guests.  We never had a problem finding an available cabana.  This was one of the nicest settings we have encountered.  The only issues we had were as follows.  First, in each of the buildings in the complexes there were large air conditioner units on the end. Some were extremely noisy.  While we couldn't hear them in the room, it made it unenjoyable to use the balcony and the pool in the south complex.  The north complex was a little bit better.  Also, my pet peeve with Marriott is no free Internet.  They wanted $75 for the week for wifi.  We decided to visit the coffee shop down the street instead.  Marriott stays are a little pricey but worth it, why do they nickel and dime you for wifi.  Same thing with local calls.  Finally, cab fares are pricey.  It costs $12 to go into town one way and $24 for some of the more distant destinations.  This price covers 1-4 people so it is cheaper per person for a group of four.  
We ate at Blu and the Italian place on site and both were excellent.  Off site we did Sprat Net which is low cost but great seafood served on picnic tables right next to the Caribbean. The cost of the taxi though cut into the savings.  Don't miss Carambola for dinner.  Get there an hour before sunset, have a drink and watch a beautiful sunset then have dinner in a gorgeous open air fancy restaurant.  The prices are modest, the food and service are spectacular, and the setting incredible.  Stay for an after dinner drink on the quiet beach and watch the stars.  Marshall's is in a similar class (no beach) but if you have to choose, pick Carambola.  Both are a $10 cab ride away.  As for excursions we did the Island tour for $80 for 3.5 hours around St. Kitts. It was worth it and you see just about everything there is to see on St. Kitts.  Which is another point.  The people here are incredibly friendly and welcoming. We always felt welcomed and safe.   St. Kitts is an island of great natural beauty but there is a lot of urban sprawl with little or no building codes or zoning laws.  There are some well kept up areas but also a lot of run down or abandoned buildings and cars.  The resorts, beaches and restaurants are all well maintained as is Brimstone Fort and Romney Manor where Caribelle Batik is located, a must see.  But this is not an Americanized island like the Virgin Islands which is good but you should manage your expectations.  On a separate excursion we also toured the rain forest which was very interesting.  Our final excursion was a tour of the sister island Nevis.  This was an all day affair and well worth it.  Nevis has less of the urban sprawl and the places we visited seemed to have more local charm yet still be well maintained and beautiful.  I recommend Tropical Tours and Clayton Daniel as the Nevis tour guide.  Must sees on Nevis are Nisbet Plantation for a drink, Golden Rock for lunch and Sunshine Beach for a swim and a few Killer Bees for refreshments.  We liked this vacation so much we will definitely come back. Our next trip to these beautiful islands will include a stay at Nisbet for sure. 

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massapequa, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This 6 night stay was worth every penny. The all inclusive option allowed us to forget about everything. A direct flight and a 10 minute cab ride from the airport to the resort made this trip so easy. I would recommend the resort highly and would return again.
We visited in mid January, the weather was perfect. The resort met all of our expectations. Our room was beautiful; a 1 bedroom suite in building 12, housekeeping was excellent. Pools and beach were clean. Ocean had waves but definitely swimable. Carribbean is a short 15 minute walk.
With the all inclusive option we ate and drank to our hearts content. Never looked at a price on a menu. Food was always good and always had a choice of something satisfying. Frozen drinks became a daily ritual. The all inclusive option allows you to get any snack from the cafe which is great. Snapples, ice cream, fresh fruit, sandwiches to go. The breakfast buffet was always appetizing. The staff at the resort was gracious and we never felt like we had to wait for service.
This vacation was a no brainer. We spent the week relaxing in beautiful surroundings. I really cannot find one bad thing to say about the St Kitts Marriott!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed 1 week end of Feb at this Marriott. We had a single room with King-sized bed and window view of the north pool on the property. We were offered an upgrade upon arrival but declined. The room was modern and clean. My only complaint is that I could hear the person upstairs walking around. It was as if his steps were amplified through the ceiling.

The property is clean and spacious with 3 pools and whirlpools (not heated). The beach was better than I expected considering it was on the Atlantic side of the ocean. They combed the beach every morning and it was clean. The water was greenish blue and clear, wavy and cool but not cold. It is windy but not in an uncomfortable way.

The food in the restaurants was okay but too pricey. There are other restaurants within walking distance that were more reasonable in price, but overall the island is so over-priced compared to the US.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed 4 nights (Feb 19-22) - attended business function

- Guest Room: Our 1BD/2BA suite on the top floor of the main building was clean, classy, spacious and offered spectacular ocean view. Queen size beds were very comfortable with soft pillow-top(love it!), white bedding & plush pillows. Large master Bathroom had a jucuzzi tub, shower, toilet & bidet with a separate sink area. Good-sized walk-in closet with two luggage stands and 'real' hangers, iron/ironing board & a safe. A pair of white waffle robes and terry slippers were also provided (love them!) Livingroom had a mini-fridge, coffee/tea maker, desk/chair, flat screen TV. Would have loved if we had a microwave. A large balcony came with two loungers & a table - perfect for relaxing overlooking blue water.
>>We had slight problems with some little bugs crawling around nightstands; had to have maintenance person spray our room. Also our phone in the bedroom kept dying and alarm clock/i-pod dock broke; they had to replace it. Toilet kept running with worn flap (I guess?); again the maintenance was called.

-Restaurants: Enjoyed Calypso Breakfast Buffet every morning but Blu Seafood was my favorite with great ambience, service and outstanding seafood (my seabass was excellent.) Italian restaurant was just fine, except the service was very slow (very much island time.) Steak House gives me mixed feelings; I had 6pm reservation for two but when we arrived at 5:55pm we were told they only had tables for four but NOT for two, and asked if we wanted to sit at patio outside or share a table with other guests (!?) or wait. I said we did not wish to sit outside or wait, and would take a table for four but would not want to share with other guests. A gentleman at the reception looked unhappy but eventually seated us at a table inside very reluctantly. Service here again was very slow, however the dinner (crab/lobster cakes & a steak) was good.

-Emerald Spa: Salon, treatment rooms for facial/massage, dry sauna, steam room, whirlpool (hot/cold), shower/locker and waiting area. Went in for a facial; it was fine but sadly lacking that Fabulous, pampering, Wow-factor all together. Could use a little more revamping.

-Property: Appeared very well-kept, bright & airy lobby, pools and courtyard had nice, island-feel, helpful Tour Desk, variety of gift shops etc. >>One of the elevators was only working when it felt like it...

Overall I am pleased with my stay and recommend this resort or would go back again.

Room Tip: It appeared 'even' numbered rooms had ocean views and 'odd' numbered rooms had golf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Located on the atlantic side of the island, the trade winds are constant. At the beach, the sand blows on you and it is hard to keep you book open or the sand out of your kindle. The beaches are long and you can walk either direction. The pools are nice, though crowded. Forget ordering food at the pool restaurant, it can take at least an hour. Both the pool and golf course rooms are fine as well as the rooms in the outlying buildings. It is far from town and taxis cost $12 each way. There are some restaurants to walk to, italian, sushi, carribean, indian and Karma's right next door has outstanding asian food.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

The hotel was well-kept and well-run. The restaurants were good. A little pricey, but that's to be expected on an island. And, for that matter, much less expensive than the Bahamas. And, for those who wanted to venture out, the Shiggidy Shack is a brisk 10- to 15-minute walk from the hotel. It's definitely worth the hike.
The room was always cleaned perfectly and the staff at the front desk were always very accommodating. The wait time was never too long and there were always at least two people on hand to help. There was one person in particular who deserves a shout out ... Alexis (I believe that was her name) was the picture of perfection; professional when she needed to be, but also quick with a warm smile.
With three pools, large rooms, a variety of reasonably priced food (again, considering it's an island), and a nice beach, it was a great getaway for the family.

Room Tip: The rooms have tile floors, so there's no carpeting to absorb the noise. Try to grab a room on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino

Address: 858 Frigate Bay Road, Frigate Bay, St. Kitts
Location: Caribbean > St. Kitts and Nevis > St. Kitts > Frigate Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Frigate Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marriott St. Kitts Resort & Royal Beach Casino captivates you from the moment you see it, immersing you in the culture and atmosphere of this most relaxing and romantic of Caribbean Islands. Our breathtaking St. Kitts resort hotel offers an unparalleled island vacation experience. Luxury guest rooms, trimmed with West Indian accents and cutting-edge comforts, are spacious and welcoming. That same Caribbean flavor sets the tone in our 8 restaurants and 2 lounges. For entertainment and relaxation, the resort also offers the 35,000 sq ft Royal Beach Casino, the 15,000 sq ft Emerald Mist Spa and boasts an 18-hole championship golf course at the Royal St. Kitts Golf Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Kitts Marriott Resort And The Royal Beach Casino
St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Hotel Frigate Bay
Marriott Frigate Bay
Marriott St Kitts
Frigate Bay Marriott
St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino Frigate Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.