We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant and Relaxing Resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino

Save Saved
You added St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   858 Frigate Bay Road, Frigate Bay, St. Kitts   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5th,6th & 7th Nights Free
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Frigate Bay
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Pleasant and Relaxing Resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed 1 week end of Feb at this Marriott. We had a single room with King-sized bed and window view of the north pool on the property. We were offered an upgrade upon arrival but declined. The room was modern and clean. My only complaint is that I could hear the person upstairs walking around. It was as if his steps were amplified through the ceiling.

The property is clean and spacious with 3 pools and whirlpools (not heated). The beach was better than I expected considering it was on the Atlantic side of the ocean. They combed the beach every morning and it was clean. The water was greenish blue and clear, wavy and cool but not cold. It is windy but not in an uncomfortable way.

The food in the restaurants was okay but too pricey. There are other restaurants within walking distance that were more reasonable in price, but overall the island is so over-priced compared to the US.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,896 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    796
    686
    223
    111
    80
See reviews for
370
676
39
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed 4 nights (Feb 19-22) - attended business function

- Guest Room: Our 1BD/2BA suite on the top floor of the main building was clean, classy, spacious and offered spectacular ocean view. Queen size beds were very comfortable with soft pillow-top(love it!), white bedding & plush pillows. Large master Bathroom had a jucuzzi tub, shower, toilet & bidet with a separate sink area. Good-sized walk-in closet with two luggage stands and 'real' hangers, iron/ironing board & a safe. A pair of white waffle robes and terry slippers were also provided (love them!) Livingroom had a mini-fridge, coffee/tea maker, desk/chair, flat screen TV. Would have loved if we had a microwave. A large balcony came with two loungers & a table - perfect for relaxing overlooking blue water.
>>We had slight problems with some little bugs crawling around nightstands; had to have maintenance person spray our room. Also our phone in the bedroom kept dying and alarm clock/i-pod dock broke; they had to replace it. Toilet kept running with worn flap (I guess?); again the maintenance was called.

-Restaurants: Enjoyed Calypso Breakfast Buffet every morning but Blu Seafood was my favorite with great ambience, service and outstanding seafood (my seabass was excellent.) Italian restaurant was just fine, except the service was very slow (very much island time.) Steak House gives me mixed feelings; I had 6pm reservation for two but when we arrived at 5:55pm we were told they only had tables for four but NOT for two, and asked if we wanted to sit at patio outside or share a table with other guests (!?) or wait. I said we did not wish to sit outside or wait, and would take a table for four but would not want to share with other guests. A gentleman at the reception looked unhappy but eventually seated us at a table inside very reluctantly. Service here again was very slow, however the dinner (crab/lobster cakes & a steak) was good.

-Emerald Spa: Salon, treatment rooms for facial/massage, dry sauna, steam room, whirlpool (hot/cold), shower/locker and waiting area. Went in for a facial; it was fine but sadly lacking that Fabulous, pampering, Wow-factor all together. Could use a little more revamping.

-Property: Appeared very well-kept, bright & airy lobby, pools and courtyard had nice, island-feel, helpful Tour Desk, variety of gift shops etc. >>One of the elevators was only working when it felt like it...

Overall I am pleased with my stay and recommend this resort or would go back again.

Room Tip: It appeared 'even' numbered rooms had ocean views and 'odd' numbered rooms had golf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Located on the atlantic side of the island, the trade winds are constant. At the beach, the sand blows on you and it is hard to keep you book open or the sand out of your kindle. The beaches are long and you can walk either direction. The pools are nice, though crowded. Forget ordering food at the pool restaurant, it can take at least an hour. Both the pool and golf course rooms are fine as well as the rooms in the outlying buildings. It is far from town and taxis cost $12 each way. There are some restaurants to walk to, italian, sushi, carribean, indian and Karma's right next door has outstanding asian food.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

The hotel was well-kept and well-run. The restaurants were good. A little pricey, but that's to be expected on an island. And, for that matter, much less expensive than the Bahamas. And, for those who wanted to venture out, the Shiggidy Shack is a brisk 10- to 15-minute walk from the hotel. It's definitely worth the hike.
The room was always cleaned perfectly and the staff at the front desk were always very accommodating. The wait time was never too long and there were always at least two people on hand to help. There was one person in particular who deserves a shout out ... Alexis (I believe that was her name) was the picture of perfection; professional when she needed to be, but also quick with a warm smile.
With three pools, large rooms, a variety of reasonably priced food (again, considering it's an island), and a nice beach, it was a great getaway for the family.

Room Tip: The rooms have tile floors, so there's no carpeting to absorb the noise. Try to grab a room on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Just came back from spending a week in St Kitts, and it was an amazing vacation/experience at the Marriott. It is a beautiful and clean resort. There were always plenty of chairs available near either pool and at the beach which was a relief. The beach is gorgeous...you can't beat the views. The staff was very friendly for the most part. The restaurants on the resort are all pretty good, though pricy...no surprise there. We especially enjoyed the steak house (Royal Grill), and the lobby bar serves really great sushi. Also, the Calypso cafe was great for both breakfast and lunch.

The only thing is I would not recommend staying on a ground level room because of the noise you get from people walking around above. It sounds like loud stomping, even though I am sure that was not the case. Overall, fantastic trip...hope to return again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Just returned from a short stay while attending a conference. The weather was very nice, and the island is gorgeous. It's our first time there, and we were awed by the view of the ocean and the beach from the resort. There were several restaurants on the property, and the quality of the food is good. Blu, the seafood restaurant, had a nice selection, and it was very busy when we ate there on Valentine's Day. The steak place as well as the Calypso griill were both nice. One thing that makes me not give it more stars is the fact that service is very much lacking at the restaurants and the poolside. We never saw anyone come by the pool to take drink orders. There is a swim up bar at the main pool, so maybe they thought that would be enough. That doesn't really help out anybody swimming with little kids, like we were. At all the restaurants we went to, we always had to ask for refills of our water and beverages, even if it doesn't look that busy at all. The staff does tend to get overwhelmed very easily. It's also somewhat strange that they never gave utensils to our 3 year old, who is perfectly capable using a fork and spoon. Everytime we were seated at a table, the server immediately took away utensils in front of him and didn't replace it with anything else. We weren't sure if they were expecting him to eat with his hands or what?!?! When we asked for juice and milk for him, sometimes it came in a lidded cup with a straw. Sometimes it came in a normal glass. So, 3 year old can't use fork or spoon but ok to drink out of adult glass? I am giving this property 3.5 stars because they did upgrade us to a executive suite with a full kitchen. I think if we went back to St.Kitts, we will most likely stay at other properties. There wasn't anything grossly undesirable with this property, but we just felt that the service could be greatly improved with the amount of money we were paying. Overall though, the beach is gorgeous and nicely kept. The waves were not bad at all given the breakers placed there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We visited the Marriott in St Kitts as part of a double celebration for our wedding aniversary and my wife's birthday commencing the holiday on the 1st January 2013. It was a mixed stay in a gorgeous setting. We arrived at the hotel to be advised that our upgrade would not be available until the following day but no problem. We were treated well as Platinum Elite Members and ordered a gift of wine and cheese etc were taken up to the room to find a bottle of champagne and fruit for our wedding anniversary a nice touch.

The room was ok with a limted view but for one night no problem. After three hours and four phone calls later the platinum gift arrived. The first week we had breakfast in the restaurant we felt like we were in the way as very few smiles from the associates and apart from the manager who made an effort they were a right grumpy lot.

Our upgrade was brilliant the double roomed suite on the fifth floor was perfect in every way a bit dodgy on the cleaning (when we didnt cath them watching the tele) but awesome just the same. We initially only ate twice in the hotel the first week after being served cold food in the snack place and treated like pariahas in the seafood restaurant we chose to eat out and it was a good decision.

The following Tuesday we were invited to the Elite members cocktail welcome on the roof and then everything changed to perfection. We met Imelda Lane the Finance Director and the holiday and the hotel experience improved a 100 fold (this lady is a fatastic advert for Marriott and deserves to be recognised for her help, assistance, demeanour and overall professionalism.

After meeting Imelda it was as if someone had put a bomb under everybody and we were treated like royalty a pity it took Imelda's intervention to achieve this. From then on we were greeted in the restaurant by name we had a fantastic meal in the main restaurant which I thank Annette Jacobs for sorting for me.

I would aslo like to thank Flavelle Woods and Keeva for their help and assistance. The hotel took some stick during the Christmas Period and New year for the attitude and approach of the associates all over the hotel who looked like the geusts where in the way of their day. The two guys on the front of the hotel were brilliant and helpful and friendly and made exit and entry in to the hotel a pleasant experience.

Saying that and with the help of Imelda who tried really hard to ensure our holiday was a successful and enjoyable one and worked hard to dispel the bad press you expect high standards from any Marriott and up until her intervention they were well below par.

The hotel itself is fantastic, impressive and clean and well situated the associates need to be reminded that without guests there would be no need for associates. Try and smile more and be a bit more pleasant and the hotel could be the best holiday you could hope to have.

We had a brilliant holiday over 16 days the facilities are impressive. Some one give Imelda a massive Gold Star she deserved it. Bob and Pat

Room Tip: The roomes and suites overlooking the pool and coast are awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino

Also Known As:
St. Kitts Marriott Resort And The Royal Beach Casino
St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Hotel Frigate Bay
St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Hotel
Marriott Frigate Bay
Marriott St Kitts
St Kitts Marriott
Frigate Bay Marriott
Marriott St. Kitts
St. Kitts Marriott
St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino Frigate Bay
Address: 858 Frigate Bay Road, Frigate Bay, St. Kitts
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Kitts and Nevis > St. Kitts > Frigate Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Frigate Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marriott St. Kitts Resort & Royal Beach Casino captivates you from the moment you see it, immersing you in the culture and atmosphere of this most relaxing and romantic of Caribbean Islands. Our breathtaking St. Kitts resort hotel offers an unparalleled island vacation experience. Luxury guest rooms, trimmed with West Indian accents and cutting-edge comforts, are spacious and welcoming. That same Caribbean flavor sets the tone in our 8 restaurants and 2 lounges. For entertainment and relaxation, the resort also offers the 35,000 sq ft Royal Beach Casino, the 15,000 sq ft Emerald Mist Spa and boasts an 18-hole championship golf course at the Royal St. Kitts Golf Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Amex, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.