We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort, wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino

Save Saved
You added St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   858 Frigate Bay Road, Frigate Bay, St. Kitts   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Frigate Bay
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort, wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Just came back from spending a week in St Kitts, and it was an amazing vacation/experience at the Marriott. It is a beautiful and clean resort. There were always plenty of chairs available near either pool and at the beach which was a relief. The beach is gorgeous...you can't beat the views. The staff was very friendly for the most part. The restaurants on the resort are all pretty good, though pricy...no surprise there. We especially enjoyed the steak house (Royal Grill), and the lobby bar serves really great sushi. Also, the Calypso cafe was great for both breakfast and lunch.

The only thing is I would not recommend staying on a ground level room because of the noise you get from people walking around above. It sounds like loud stomping, even though I am sure that was not the case. Overall, fantastic trip...hope to return again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,009 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    844
    732
    234
    116
    83
See reviews for
408
721
42
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MN
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Just returned from a short stay while attending a conference. The weather was very nice, and the island is gorgeous. It's our first time there, and we were awed by the view of the ocean and the beach from the resort. There were several restaurants on the property, and the quality of the food is good. Blu, the seafood restaurant, had a nice selection, and it was very busy when we ate there on Valentine's Day. The steak place as well as the Calypso griill were both nice. One thing that makes me not give it more stars is the fact that service is very much lacking at the restaurants and the poolside. We never saw anyone come by the pool to take drink orders. There is a swim up bar at the main pool, so maybe they thought that would be enough. That doesn't really help out anybody swimming with little kids, like we were. At all the restaurants we went to, we always had to ask for refills of our water and beverages, even if it doesn't look that busy at all. The staff does tend to get overwhelmed very easily. It's also somewhat strange that they never gave utensils to our 3 year old, who is perfectly capable using a fork and spoon. Everytime we were seated at a table, the server immediately took away utensils in front of him and didn't replace it with anything else. We weren't sure if they were expecting him to eat with his hands or what?!?! When we asked for juice and milk for him, sometimes it came in a lidded cup with a straw. Sometimes it came in a normal glass. So, 3 year old can't use fork or spoon but ok to drink out of adult glass? I am giving this property 3.5 stars because they did upgrade us to a executive suite with a full kitchen. I think if we went back to St.Kitts, we will most likely stay at other properties. There wasn't anything grossly undesirable with this property, but we just felt that the service could be greatly improved with the amount of money we were paying. Overall though, the beach is gorgeous and nicely kept. The waves were not bad at all given the breakers placed there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We visited the Marriott in St Kitts as part of a double celebration for our wedding aniversary and my wife's birthday commencing the holiday on the 1st January 2013. It was a mixed stay in a gorgeous setting. We arrived at the hotel to be advised that our upgrade would not be available until the following day but no problem. We were treated well as Platinum Elite Members and ordered a gift of wine and cheese etc were taken up to the room to find a bottle of champagne and fruit for our wedding anniversary a nice touch.

The room was ok with a limted view but for one night no problem. After three hours and four phone calls later the platinum gift arrived. The first week we had breakfast in the restaurant we felt like we were in the way as very few smiles from the associates and apart from the manager who made an effort they were a right grumpy lot.

Our upgrade was brilliant the double roomed suite on the fifth floor was perfect in every way a bit dodgy on the cleaning (when we didnt cath them watching the tele) but awesome just the same. We initially only ate twice in the hotel the first week after being served cold food in the snack place and treated like pariahas in the seafood restaurant we chose to eat out and it was a good decision.

The following Tuesday we were invited to the Elite members cocktail welcome on the roof and then everything changed to perfection. We met Imelda Lane the Finance Director and the holiday and the hotel experience improved a 100 fold (this lady is a fatastic advert for Marriott and deserves to be recognised for her help, assistance, demeanour and overall professionalism.

After meeting Imelda it was as if someone had put a bomb under everybody and we were treated like royalty a pity it took Imelda's intervention to achieve this. From then on we were greeted in the restaurant by name we had a fantastic meal in the main restaurant which I thank Annette Jacobs for sorting for me.

I would aslo like to thank Flavelle Woods and Keeva for their help and assistance. The hotel took some stick during the Christmas Period and New year for the attitude and approach of the associates all over the hotel who looked like the geusts where in the way of their day. The two guys on the front of the hotel were brilliant and helpful and friendly and made exit and entry in to the hotel a pleasant experience.

Saying that and with the help of Imelda who tried really hard to ensure our holiday was a successful and enjoyable one and worked hard to dispel the bad press you expect high standards from any Marriott and up until her intervention they were well below par.

The hotel itself is fantastic, impressive and clean and well situated the associates need to be reminded that without guests there would be no need for associates. Try and smile more and be a bit more pleasant and the hotel could be the best holiday you could hope to have.

We had a brilliant holiday over 16 days the facilities are impressive. Some one give Imelda a massive Gold Star she deserved it. Bob and Pat

Room Tip: The roomes and suites overlooking the pool and coast are awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsburgh, ON
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Royal Grill at the St Kitts Marriott is by far the best dining experience on the property. The food was spectacular, and even though the specialty is steak, the scallops were amazing!! Monika and the entire team took excellent care and the attention to detail and guest comfort was a definite plus.

in general the property is going through some changes to upgrade their service across the board. There is new leadership at the top and it shows. The resort itself is welcoming and provides a variety of activities, or you can just enjoy the sun!!

Room Tip: Always take advantage of any upgrade available when you check in - it's worth a bit extra to ens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONG BEACH, NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My fiancee and I recently attended a conference at the St. Kitts Marriott Resort and we had a great time. We stayed in a pool view room and ended up on the ground level, so we were able to open our sliding glass door and walk right out to the north pool. As was mentioned in previous reviews, when we arrived at around 2PM, local time, we were also told that our room was not ready and would not be ready for at least 30 minutes. The building staff was more than pleasant and inviting when we arrived and they were able to tag our bags and hold them off to the side for us until our room was ready. While waiting, we ate lunch at the Calypso restaurant, right off of the lobby. The food was pretty tasty. We ate their regularly, and enjoyed many an iced coffee from the "take-out" area right outside of Calypso.

Our room was clean and very comfortable, and the bed was made and the room straightened up every day. We were never without clean towels or glasses. We found the king-sized bed to be very comfortable and relaxing, and we both slept during the week.

In our week in St. Kitts, I had meetings to attend during my conference, but we were able to enjoy most of the amenities that the resort offered. We were able to hit the beach a few times and yes, it was regularly windy, but we found the temperatures to be quite pleasant. Dangerous to lazy sunbather who equates "i'm not feeling hot" with "i'm not burning," as the wind helps to keep one feeling cool. The ocean was clear and enjoyable, as the beach is protected by the rough surf by several stone barriers that I believe were man-made. The bigger waves are blocked further out so the surf at the shoreline is gentle enough for relaxing on a raft or standing and shooting the breeze (pun intended) in the shallow water.

We took advantage of the pool and the swim-up bar, as well as the "Bohemia," the eating area and bar by the beach. We found the mixed and frozen drinks to be must tastier and better made than most that one would expect to find at an all-inclusive resort. If the reader decides to visit this resort, it is imperative that a "Painkiller" and at least one of Troy's mudslides be tried. Our favorite beverage of the week was the local beer, Carib. Carib can be found in bottles, cans or on draft throughout the resort, and buckets of Carib bottles can be delivered to the room, on-ice. My fiancee enjoyed the best mojito that she had ever had at the lobby bar, but found that the resort, as a whole, frequently ran out of mint. More often than not, they were out and she was not able to get the mojito, so if you are even remotely in the mood, and you see mint behind the bar, seize the opportunity!

We ate at all 3 of the resort restaurants and found the food to be excellent. On our last night, we elected to eat at Blu, the seafood restaurant at the beach, a 2nd time, and we were not disappointed. On our first go-round, we both enjoyed DELICIOUS Chilean Sea Bass. It was excellently prepared and the portion was an ideal size. The 2nd time, I had the surf and turf and my fiancee had the local lobster tail. Both were exquisite and cooked to perfection. Our experiences in both the steak house and the italian restaurant were equally as satisfying. The surf and turf was delicious at the steak house, and the lobster ravioli was fresh and delicious at the italian joint. We enjoyed bottles of wine with dinner at all the restaurants and found the selection to be quite broad, with a decent amount at a more affordable price. The food at Calypso, Bohemia and the Pizza Shack was quite good. I had the "roast pork sandwich" for lunch 3 days in a row from Bohemia because it was just that good. The pizzas that we got from the pizza shack were surprisingly delicious. That's coming from a Long Islander that can be very critical of "off-island" pizza and bagels. The pizza shack is worth the price of admission.

Overall, the staff at the resort was amazingly friendly. When we were arriving and checking in, we were asked if it was our first time visiting, told a few tidbits of information about the island and wished a great time. Throughout our stay - even while walking past us in the opposite direction - staff members greeted us with smiles and asked us if we were enjoying our time on their island. When leaving my room to attend a meeting as part of my conference, I asked a gentleman that was painting if he could point me towards the conference room mentioned in my itinerary. He not only explained to me how to get to the room, but when I repeated his directions to confirm, he said "come with me, I will show you. No problem," and he walked me there. It wasn't a far walk into the main building and up some stairs, but he made sure to ask me if we were enjoying the resort and having a great time. I thanked him for his help and assured him that we were having a wonderful time. In general, the wait staff and bartenders throughout the place were very polite and patient. The first night we ate at Blu, Cecil was a top-notch server, stopping back at the table to re-fill our wine, checking to make sure everything was delicious, and sold us on dessert. Thanks to Cecil's dessert recommendation, we purchased a bottle of coffee rum at the airport to bring back with us so we can make "Kittitian Coffees" at home.

Our experience was excellent and we were greeted with pleasantries everywhere we went. We intentionally dialed back our geared up New York expectations when we arrived and it's a good thing that we did, as one shouldn't expect everyone working at the resort to be in a rush. We were never kept waiting for more than a few minutes at any restaurant, except for one instance at Calypso. That was mildly frustrating, but no one died, so it wasn't a big deal. But one must remember..."you're on island time, mon. Relax." If you sit down at a table at Bohemia to order lunch, take a moment to enjoy the view, soak up some sun, do some people watching...and be patient. Someone will come by to take your order.

We visited the casino a couple times and I found it to be quite nice. The black jack tables were full of enjoyable guests and the dealers often had a sense of humor. There was live music playing on top of some banks of slot machines one night and in 3 visits, I ended up taking home some of the casino's money, so I left happy. I would recommend taking a spin through.

We chose to upgrade our reservation to the all-inclusive package before our arrival. It added a significant cost, obviously, but we felt like it was worth it. We have traveled to all-inclusive resorts before and the peace of mind offered by knowing that all it takes is the flashing of a bracelet to "pay for" drinks or food, just makes things easier. However, the Marriott St Kitts uses a different system. We have mixed feelings on this system: there are not any bracelets, like one would expect out of an "all-inclusive package," rather all-inclusive guests are given a list of places that are included in the package. When we went to these places, we were ultimately given a receipt for the food, just like everyone else. We were initially instructed to just fill out and sign the bills accordingly (room number, name, etc) and the bills that are from included areas basically just disappear. HOWEVER, we were very confused about the TIPPING. Included on every bill is a 12.5% "service charge" and every bill had a blank line marked "gratuity" right above "total". We didn't know if this was supposed to act as a "tip" or what. While at the bar the first day (and generally, a bill is given after every round) i had a few singles in the pocket of my board shorts, but i waited to see at least 1 other person put a bill on the bar after ordering drinks. I never saw 1 dollar on a bar anywhere. No tip cups either. So after our first dinner, at which I absentmindedly left a roughly 20% tip on the bill because the food and service was excellent, we decided to just periodically put $1 or $2 on on bar orders that were generally $15-$25 (a couple rounds of beer + a frozen drink), and $10-$15 on meals. When checking out, only additional gratuities are added to the bill. So our $180 dinner with a $15 tip at Blu was listed only as "Add'l tip - $15." It worked out in the long run, but when checking in, we would recommend asking someone to clarify how to handle the tipping situation.

We never experienced the Emerald Spa.

Room Tip: Our room was a "pool view room" and we never scouted around to check others, but if at all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayce, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I found this place to be a wonderful experience.We stayed five nights and we never got tired of the scenery or the food.The staff was friendly and very accommodating and the islands were of course fantastic. The excursions were great and the snorkeling was phenomenal. Loved every minute of it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

As a group of 8 people traveling, the resort was very accomodating. One major downfall we experienced, was a private event of Delta Airlines that made it hard to do things around the resort--they closed many restaurants down for them. The Royal Grill was amazing! When we made reservations for La Cucina, we showed up and they had a buffett in the middle of the resort without telling us(because of Delta group), luckily we got in a different restaurant down the street, Ciao--excellent service, all homemade pastas...Marshalls was definitely the place to eat, as well as carabolo (sunset on the beach, then dinner--small portions though) Cathys Grilled lobster was a huge hit with our entire party.
Rooms were very good- large in size-- we were on the third floor in the main building, so not a great view, but still some. Beds were extremely comfortable, excellent pillows!
If you go to the Casino--make sure you play games you know how to play, the dealer tried taking my boyfriends money and telling him he lost--when he knew he didnt so he demanded getting another person, which verified he was right and it was actually a $250 hit...that was the only time any of us won all week!
You must zipline!! Best experience of the week in my opinion! Going over the rainforest was awesome, we also did the catamarin excusrion for snorkeling which was awesome. Dont forget sunscreen on this adventure!!
The pool was fabulous, we spent a lot of time there and the beach bars food was great, as well as all the frozen drinks! I would definitely recommend the Marriot!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino

Address: 858 Frigate Bay Road, Frigate Bay, St. Kitts
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Kitts and Nevis > St. Kitts > Frigate Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Frigate Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marriott St. Kitts Resort & Royal Beach Casino captivates you from the moment you see it, immersing you in the culture and atmosphere of this most relaxing and romantic of Caribbean Islands. Our breathtaking St. Kitts resort hotel offers an unparalleled island vacation experience. Luxury guest rooms, trimmed with West Indian accents and cutting-edge comforts, are spacious and welcoming. That same Caribbean flavor sets the tone in our 8 restaurants and 2 lounges. For entertainment and relaxation, the resort also offers the 35,000 sq ft Royal Beach Casino, the 15,000 sq ft Emerald Mist Spa and boasts an 18-hole championship golf course at the Royal St. Kitts Golf Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Tingo, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Kitts Marriott Resort And The Royal Beach Casino
St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Hotel Frigate Bay
Marriott Frigate Bay
Marriott St Kitts
Frigate Bay Marriott
St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino Frigate Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.