We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vacation destination” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino

Save Saved
You added St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   858 Frigate Bay Road, Frigate Bay, St. Kitts   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5th,6th & 7th Nights Free
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Frigate Bay
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great vacation destination”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Marriott St. Kitts in January having left single-digit temperatures in Utah to warm ourselves in the Caribbean sun. We found warm smiles and helpful service throughout our seven-day stay there.

The hotel itself was quite nice, as was the property. The pool was clean and refreshing though the water was surprisingly cold for such a warm location. The beach was by far our favorite place to hang out. We were able to secure a shaded canopy every day And enjoyed a mixture of full sun warm Caribbean water and waves, and shade when we needed it. At first I thought it would have been better if the hotel were located on the Caribbean side of the island, but after a few days of Playing like kids in the Atlantic side waves, we thought it was just right as is.

We dined at several restaurants while there including Rituals for breakfast most mornings, Cathy's and Shiggiddy Shack within walking distance of the hotel. We also had dinner at several of the higher and recommended places and while all very fancy and delicious, would rank them as follows: 1. Marshall's (get the lobster--soo good - not tough and chewy) 2. Pavillions (very flavorful and well presented), and the Italian restaurant on property.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,900 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    798
    688
    223
    111
    80
See reviews for
372
678
39
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed here for a week with another couple and loved it.
The hotel and staff were lovely.
The pool area is great and stunning at night lite up.
The hotel has its own beach with great loungers and sun cover.
Ate at the Hotel a few times in the week as the food was so good.
Do try the pizzas from the poolside restaurant , they are just great
my fav was the BBQ Chicken.
St Kitts is a Beautiful Island and you will come away sooooo Chilled out.
Hope to get back there some day.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Plata, MD
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My husband & I spent last week at the Marriott time share part. The villa was beautiful, well equipped and clean. The staff and groundskeepers were all so kind and patiently answered all our questions, especially about the mongooses! The only down side of the resort was the on-site restaurants are VERY expensive! Breakfast for 4 people (just eggs, bacon, toast, juice & coffee) was $97.00! Would definintely go back to the resort, just not eat there! Thanks for an otherwise incredible vacation!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Va
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this resort recently, and while there is nothing to particularily dislike about it, there is also nothing particularly impressive. It is very large with the requisite large pool and swim-up bar, but that's about it. It's got a casino, but it was so overpowered by cigarette smoke that most of our group had to leave after about 15 minutes. The grounds are fairly well maintained, but again, there is nothing particularly special about them. There is very little foliage compared to similar resorts, and there is almost no place to sneak off to and be alone. The most troublesome part of this resort is the service. With a few notable exceptions, the staff is slow and generally uninterested in guests. Most mornings the gym had no towels, and when I asked someone, she told me to go to the front desk. I cannot count how many times we were told at the bar or a restaurant that we were on "island time", which sounds lovely, but it really just meant extremely slow, uninterested service. As my husband kept saying, "No, WE are on island time. You, on the other hand, are working." It didn't seem to compute. There is a large beach, but the staff never comes out there - at least that we saw. In other words, this is not the type of resort where there are waiters taking your order or bringing trays of drinks by you. Overall, it's very average, and the service is well below average.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We spent the week 11-18 January on an All Inclusive package with Air Canada Vacations. (ACV)
Pluses.
Easy check in. Easy check out. Helpful staff at the desk.
Friendly, helpful forecourt staff.
Bright airy lobby.
Helpful concierge service for restaurant reservations. I was told that restaurant reservations are not always necessary, but you will be assured of seating at your chosen time, if you reserve, so it’s better to use the services of the concierge for the Royal Grill Steakhouse, the Blu Seafood or La Cucina Italian restaurants. (Not every restaurant is open every night. This is another reason to reserve via the Concierge in the lobby.) The chef at Royal Grill (Terrance) works magic with his preparations especially the Short Ribs and the Onion soup is quite excellent !! Derrick the maître d’, is also obviously concerned about the welfare of patrons in the Royal Grill. Well done ! . Breakfast is served at the Calypso Café in the main building, so staying in the main building was good for us. We found the breakfast buffet to be excellent. The Calypso Café is not open in the evenings for seating, but yet the kitchen is open just for take-aways. This is odd.
Bar service at the beachfront snack bar and the lobby bar is friendly and consistent. Stephen the Food and Beverage manager is also attentive and always seems present morning and evening.
We had a room in the main building and were not disappointed. In fact, it was extremely convenient to not have to walk out to villas. Room TV is excellent with a few Canadian and British channels. Very nice – thank you !!
Well laid out pool area. Beach cabanas were never all occupied if you wanted one. The beach is clean. The hotel is on the Atlantic side (as opposed to the Caribbean side) and the waves / breakers can be rough, but most of the wave action is reduced by the breakwater a few yards out. Lots of room to swim and the ocean is perhaps four or five feet deep. I think the wave action might interfere with snorkelling.
There are shops off the lobby area and they stock most items including convenience food and beverages, jewelry, watches, tee-shirts etc. One store – PDF – has a huge selection of duty free perfumes and, as an example, one bottle of perfume was $30.00 cheaper than at the YYZ duty free. This store is also at St. Kitts Airport.
The ACV rep (Pam) was at the hotel most days. Two tours you should not miss are the St. Kitts Scenic Railway (two hours by train through areas of the island not seen by car, and the trip to Nevis.

Minuses.
Wifi. Two observations or complaints. $14.00 per day - a day being 24 consecutive hours. Who needs 24 consecutive hours? 24 hours spread over a week perhaps to check family and friends’ emails but the Marriott system is not set up to do this. Why even charge for internet? $14.00 per room per day is ridiculous. Eventually I was able to obtain the 3 free hours per room per week that was part of my ACV package. Front office management were not even aware of this inclusion but, fortunately, I had a printed copy listing this inclusion which I could show them. It took three days to sort this out….
Checks. Every item must be signed for even if you are there on an all-inclusive package. No wristbands for those who are all inclusive.

Room Tip: We found the Main building more convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

The entire staff was so friendly and fantastic. Couldn't have had a better experience!! Everyone on the island was so inviting and welcoming. The tipping added up, but everyone does such a great job it is worth it! Say your please and thankyous and you will get treated with even better attentiveness!
Ps: all of the bathrooms on the entire island are immaculate!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a waterfront view on a top floor, the bottom floor has a large wall that blocks the view :(
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kincardineshire
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Before you go, be prepared for the laid back Caribbean attitude. At the front desk we were welcomed back having been there previously. We had requested specific rooms, but unfortunately only one of those were available. This was not a problem. The rooms were clean and well appointed with lovely bath products. The rooms were made up promptly and efficiently. Our TV didn't work properly and the Wi-fi we paid for didn't work in our room, only in the main hotel area. This was sorted out after the third time of asking and the payment was deducted from our bill. We didn't spend much time in the hotel as we were entertained by relatives, but there was enough going on in the hotel to enjoy. The hotel has a beach on which you can have back, body or foot massages. Drinks orders are taken whilst relaxing on the beach - heaven. The pools areas are clean and well kept, as are all the grounds of the hotel. . Breakfast in the hotel is superb with everything from sausage, bacon, steak and onions, salt fish, fresh fruit and cakes. Indulge in the buffet and you certainly wouldn't need lunch. Staff in the restaurant are friendly and efficient. Drinks from the bar are on the expensive side but the bar doesn't offer much in terms of atmosphere or comfort, although there is live entertainment most nights. The Marriott provides everything you need for a holiday destination to this most beautiful Island.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino

Also Known As:
St. Kitts Marriott Resort And The Royal Beach Casino
St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Hotel Frigate Bay
St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Hotel
Marriott Frigate Bay
Marriott St Kitts
St Kitts Marriott
Frigate Bay Marriott
Marriott St. Kitts
St. Kitts Marriott
St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino Frigate Bay
Address: 858 Frigate Bay Road, Frigate Bay, St. Kitts
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Kitts and Nevis > St. Kitts > Frigate Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Frigate Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marriott St. Kitts Resort & Royal Beach Casino captivates you from the moment you see it, immersing you in the culture and atmosphere of this most relaxing and romantic of Caribbean Islands. Our breathtaking St. Kitts resort hotel offers an unparalleled island vacation experience. Luxury guest rooms, trimmed with West Indian accents and cutting-edge comforts, are spacious and welcoming. That same Caribbean flavor sets the tone in our 8 restaurants and 2 lounges. For entertainment and relaxation, the resort also offers the 35,000 sq ft Royal Beach Casino, the 15,000 sq ft Emerald Mist Spa and boasts an 18-hole championship golf course at the Royal St. Kitts Golf Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.