We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino to your Saves list
St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   858 Frigate Bay Road, Frigate Bay, St. Kitts   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3 free nights in Paradise
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Frigate Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dublin
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed here for a week with another couple and loved it.
The hotel and staff were lovely.
The pool area is great and stunning at night lite up.
The hotel has its own beach with great loungers and sun cover.
Ate at the Hotel a few times in the week as the food was so good.
Do try the pizzas from the poolside restaurant , they are just great
my fav was the BBQ Chicken.
St Kitts is a Beautiful Island and you will come away sooooo Chilled out.
Hope to get back there some day.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    923
    791
    262
    126
    93
See reviews for
443
804
49
163
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (451)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Plata, MD
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My husband & I spent last week at the Marriott time share part. The villa was beautiful, well equipped and clean. The staff and groundskeepers were all so kind and patiently answered all our questions, especially about the mongooses! The only down side of the resort was the on-site restaurants are VERY expensive! Breakfast for 4 people (just eggs, bacon, toast, juice & coffee) was $97.00! Would definintely go back to the resort, just not eat there! Thanks for an otherwise incredible vacation!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Va
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this resort recently, and while there is nothing to particularily dislike about it, there is also nothing particularly impressive. It is very large with the requisite large pool and swim-up bar, but that's about it. It's got a casino, but it was so overpowered by cigarette smoke that most of our group had to leave after about 15 minutes. The grounds are fairly well maintained, but again, there is nothing particularly special about them. There is very little foliage compared to similar resorts, and there is almost no place to sneak off to and be alone. The most troublesome part of this resort is the service. With a few notable exceptions, the staff is slow and generally uninterested in guests. Most mornings the gym had no towels, and when I asked someone, she told me to go to the front desk. I cannot count how many times we were told at the bar or a restaurant that we were on "island time", which sounds lovely, but it really just meant extremely slow, uninterested service. As my husband kept saying, "No, WE are on island time. You, on the other hand, are working." It didn't seem to compute. There is a large beach, but the staff never comes out there - at least that we saw. In other words, this is not the type of resort where there are waiters taking your order or bringing trays of drinks by you. Overall, it's very average, and the service is well below average.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We spent the week 11-18 January on an All Inclusive package with Air Canada Vacations. (ACV)
Pluses.
Easy check in. Easy check out. Helpful staff at the desk.
Friendly, helpful forecourt staff.
Bright airy lobby.
Helpful concierge service for restaurant reservations. I was told that restaurant reservations are not always necessary, but you will be assured of seating at your chosen time, if you reserve, so it’s better to use the services of the concierge for the Royal Grill Steakhouse, the Blu Seafood or La Cucina Italian restaurants. (Not every restaurant is open every night. This is another reason to reserve via the Concierge in the lobby.) The chef at Royal Grill (Terrance) works magic with his preparations especially the Short Ribs and the Onion soup is quite excellent !! Derrick the maître d’, is also obviously concerned about the welfare of patrons in the Royal Grill. Well done ! . Breakfast is served at the Calypso Café in the main building, so staying in the main building was good for us. We found the breakfast buffet to be excellent. The Calypso Café is not open in the evenings for seating, but yet the kitchen is open just for take-aways. This is odd.
Bar service at the beachfront snack bar and the lobby bar is friendly and consistent. Stephen the Food and Beverage manager is also attentive and always seems present morning and evening.
We had a room in the main building and were not disappointed. In fact, it was extremely convenient to not have to walk out to villas. Room TV is excellent with a few Canadian and British channels. Very nice – thank you !!
Well laid out pool area. Beach cabanas were never all occupied if you wanted one. The beach is clean. The hotel is on the Atlantic side (as opposed to the Caribbean side) and the waves / breakers can be rough, but most of the wave action is reduced by the breakwater a few yards out. Lots of room to swim and the ocean is perhaps four or five feet deep. I think the wave action might interfere with snorkelling.
There are shops off the lobby area and they stock most items including convenience food and beverages, jewelry, watches, tee-shirts etc. One store – PDF – has a huge selection of duty free perfumes and, as an example, one bottle of perfume was $30.00 cheaper than at the YYZ duty free. This store is also at St. Kitts Airport.
The ACV rep (Pam) was at the hotel most days. Two tours you should not miss are the St. Kitts Scenic Railway (two hours by train through areas of the island not seen by car, and the trip to Nevis.

Minuses.
Wifi. Two observations or complaints. $14.00 per day - a day being 24 consecutive hours. Who needs 24 consecutive hours? 24 hours spread over a week perhaps to check family and friends’ emails but the Marriott system is not set up to do this. Why even charge for internet? $14.00 per room per day is ridiculous. Eventually I was able to obtain the 3 free hours per room per week that was part of my ACV package. Front office management were not even aware of this inclusion but, fortunately, I had a printed copy listing this inclusion which I could show them. It took three days to sort this out….
Checks. Every item must be signed for even if you are there on an all-inclusive package. No wristbands for those who are all inclusive.

Room Tip: We found the Main building more convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

The entire staff was so friendly and fantastic. Couldn't have had a better experience!! Everyone on the island was so inviting and welcoming. The tipping added up, but everyone does such a great job it is worth it! Say your please and thankyous and you will get treated with even better attentiveness!
Ps: all of the bathrooms on the entire island are immaculate!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a waterfront view on a top floor, the bottom floor has a large wall that blocks the view :(
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kincardineshire
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Before you go, be prepared for the laid back Caribbean attitude. At the front desk we were welcomed back having been there previously. We had requested specific rooms, but unfortunately only one of those were available. This was not a problem. The rooms were clean and well appointed with lovely bath products. The rooms were made up promptly and efficiently. Our TV didn't work properly and the Wi-fi we paid for didn't work in our room, only in the main hotel area. This was sorted out after the third time of asking and the payment was deducted from our bill. We didn't spend much time in the hotel as we were entertained by relatives, but there was enough going on in the hotel to enjoy. The hotel has a beach on which you can have back, body or foot massages. Drinks orders are taken whilst relaxing on the beach - heaven. The pools areas are clean and well kept, as are all the grounds of the hotel. . Breakfast in the hotel is superb with everything from sausage, bacon, steak and onions, salt fish, fresh fruit and cakes. Indulge in the buffet and you certainly wouldn't need lunch. Staff in the restaurant are friendly and efficient. Drinks from the bar are on the expensive side but the bar doesn't offer much in terms of atmosphere or comfort, although there is live entertainment most nights. The Marriott provides everything you need for a holiday destination to this most beautiful Island.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingwood, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

The weekend of 11 – 13 January 2013, spent at the Marriott St. Kitts Resort, was a fantastic experience and one I will not forget for a very long time. I am a visiting professor at Ross University, School of Veterinary Medicine, here in St. Kitts, and I have been coming to the island for the past fourteen years. I decided to treat myself to a weekend at the beach and enjoyed every minute.

When I stopped by to make reservations, I was greeted by a young lady at the front door who was very helpful and she referred me to a reservation’s specialist who efficiently accommodated my request for two nights. When I checked in on Friday afternoon, I was greeted by at the front desk and the receptionist was delightful, professional, and competent. While at the resort, I had some problems with internet access in my room and two front desk staff members helped me resolve my problems on two separate occasions. The bellmen, room maintenance staff, and security folks were also very friendly and helpful to me. Anyone who stays at this resort should feel very fortunate and blessed to have such a wonderful staff to make their visit very memorable
indeed.

I am a Marriott Elite member and I want you to know that all Marriott hotels and resorts are not created equal! I travel the world and you and your staff are to be commended for the exemplary service provided to your clientele. Please keep up the good work. I will be back for sure and will be sending my friends from Texas!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino

Address: 858 Frigate Bay Road, Frigate Bay, St. Kitts
Location: Caribbean > St. Kitts and Nevis > St. Kitts > Frigate Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Frigate Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marriott St. Kitts Resort & Royal Beach Casino captivates you from the moment you see it, immersing you in the culture and atmosphere of this most relaxing and romantic of Caribbean Islands. Our breathtaking St. Kitts resort hotel offers an unparalleled island vacation experience. Luxury guest rooms, trimmed with West Indian accents and cutting-edge comforts, are spacious and welcoming. That same Caribbean flavor sets the tone in our 8 restaurants and 2 lounges. For entertainment and relaxation, the resort also offers the 35,000 sq ft Royal Beach Casino, the 15,000 sq ft Emerald Mist Spa and boasts an 18-hole championship golf course at the Royal St. Kitts Golf Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Hotel Frigate Bay
St. Kitts Marriott Resort And The Royal Beach Casino
Marriott Frigate Bay
Marriott St Kitts
Frigate Bay Marriott
St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino Frigate Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.