We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel on a great island” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino to your Saves list
St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   858 Frigate Bay Road, Frigate Bay, St. Kitts   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Frigate Bay
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Good hotel on a great island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This is a good hotel and probably one of the better choices on the island. To begin, the hotel itself is nice. We are used to staying at more higher end properties and although the Marriott is not a 5 star property nor pretends to be thats ok. It is a great choice for an amazing trip to a beautiful island. We had a 2 bedroom suite which was gorgeous and well appointed. We did not have a view but to be honest we didnt spend much time in the room to matter. It is the largest property on the island so there was a bit of walking from the lobby to our room but we didnt mind. We ate at the Italian restaurant and enjoyed our meal. The beach is also nice and perfectly adequate. The grounds are nice and the pools were enjoyable. The thing is this was a great hotel for what we needed. It was safe, beautiful, convenient AND had an amazing golf course located right next door! We didnt spend much time at their beach nor eating in their restaurants. We slept here, woke up and spent our days exploring this truly amazing island. The beach is nice and convenient and beautiful, but if you really want to experience St Kitts beaches, get a car and drive to Regaee beach or Carambola. These spots were spectacular! There were so many amazing places to see on St Kitts and the Marriott gave us a very convenient and comfortable place to stay to make it all happen. The staff was great. We befriended many of them and they provided us a wealth of knowledge on St Kitts and places to see and eat. If you go to St Kitts you will not regret staying at the Marriott, but you will regret it if you stay on the resort your whole trip. Play the golf course, its amazing! The last few holes have some spectacular views. Rent a car and check out the island. Enjoy its people and beautiful beaches. Hop the ferry to Nevis and dont forget to make your reservations for dinner at the Beach House! I hope you enjoy St Kitts as much as we did!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    901
    759
    249
    122
    87
See reviews for
427
771
46
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This hotel is an excellent resort, we went off high season, all inclusive and had a nearly perfect time. All the food was top quality and we had fantastic drinks at all their bars and the service was really good except the securty/room hospitatlity. The fitness room was perfect, had all the equipment and supplies to stay in top shape while vacationing.
Our only problem was the key and door lock for our room. Our room key did not work the 1st time we tried it and had to go back down (3 flights) to the desk to get it "reprogramed". Then the next day it didn't work to let us back in after breakfast, and to make a long story short, we had to go back to the front desk 7 times over 6 days, have the key "reprogramed", the battery in the door changed, the "mother board" in the lock changed, and ultimately the key would not let us back in to get our luggage when we were trying to leave (with a taxi waiting on us). The security was NOT very friendly and 2 housekeepers refused to help me because it was "outside their room number area assignment" even though they were standing 10 feet from me.
But the people of St. Kitts were very friendly, the weather was perfect for us, the service in all the restaurants was fantastic. The room was large and clean with a great A/C and good coffee. Everything was comfortable and we had no trouble getting anything we asked for (extra coffee or towels).
We got great service to and from the golf course that was less than five minutes by golf cart ride from the resort. The golf course was to die for, the back nine overlooked the ocean and it was the best most fun and beautiful course we have ever had the pleasure to play. The service at the course was superb!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton Parish, Bermuda
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

When I (13 people) arrived in St. Kitts, it was such a great feeling to know that I had landed to visit my paternal family's island of birth. It was so amazing seeing the mountains with the clouds around them and the greenery. When we arrived at the Marriott, it was a beautiful place to see and stay for 10 days. The staff greeted us and were so friendly and made us feel comfortable, obliging us from the beginning of our stay to the end. Our room was on the 3rd floor and we could see the mountains, and houses from our side. The Casino was a big hit with the bingo nights Even our room service persons became our friends, They always spoke and full of smiles.
Our taxi driver Henry White nicknamed "Set-up" was the best ever, taking us to Nevis on the ferry in his taxi and driving us all over even visiting peoples homes that he knew.Tthey were so welcoming, feeding us fresh mangoes, coconuts, sugar cane, gynops, and avacadoes right off their trees. "Set-up met us at the hotel when ever we needed to go somewhere right on time, taking us touring all around St. Kitts and Nevis. Visiting the Bestik Printing, The Forte, Monkey Beach, Kathy's Restaurant, Shiggydy Shack, and so much more. St. Kitts and Nevis is a place that I would want to visit again and definately stay at the Marriott.

Room Tip: Our room (307) was spacious and quiet, and clean. If we was to return I would like to get that room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We spent 12 glorious days in the Marriott from 30th Aug. From the moment we arrived at the hotel we were treated very weep, we knew by the greeting that we were going to have a good time. We had a suitcase issue with mixed up baggage and the hotel ran us back to the airport to collect our bag. We had 2 different rooms as we did 3 nights on rewards. We started with an ocean view on the 4th floor. The view was superb, room was spotless and this continued for the duration of our stay. We moved to the 5th floor to a suite with a mountain view. The room was fabulous BUT sitting out on the balcony was an issue because of the noise of the generators below.
We alternated between the beach and the pool and found the beach clean, and the water seaweed free (something that we had been concerned about). We had a cigar man and a massage guy come by each time but once you say no they don't bother you again. There were always cabanas free and plenty of towels. We found the pool clean, we observed cleaning every day. Food at the hotel we found pricy for what it was and ate out most nights. We shopped at the local grocery and found it no cheaper elsewhere when we rented a car to go to a bigger supermarket in Basseterre.
The staff at the hotel were all excellent, Lois at the front of house was wonderful and efficient. Anita out at the beach bar was speedy and engaging. The only issue we came across was in the Italian hotel restaurant where a very surly waitress seemed to want to be elsewhere and treated us like an inconvenience but we easily overlooked that because we saw it was not the norm.
We did several trips, rented a car twice so we could explore the island. We went to the fort, the Batik place, island trip to Nevis, and did the sugar train. We visited the beaches but none we found as nice and as quiet as the Marriott beach. We went to the Ottley plantation house, that was beautiful and we ate a leisurely lunch.
We did some fine dining ( St Kitts style) for our anniversary dinner and my birthday. Marshall's was excellent, they decorated our table and the chef came out to meet us. Ciao Italian along from the hotel was one of THE best we've ever had, all freshly made by the Italian owners. The owner was very welcoming and made us feel like family with hugs goodbye. We loved eating twice at in Basseterre for lunch, great atmosphere and views from the balcony of the locals doing their thing. Nirvana was another great pace to eat that we drove to. the English chef came out to talk to us.
We did visit the Shiggidty Shack and Shipwreck but we didn't find anything to rave about. Maybe if you'd been on those local beaches all day and were full of rum punch you might see it differently but we called in for pre dinner drinks and it didn't appeal. We ate breakfast at the Rituals coffee shop every day, great value, service and atmosphere.
We'd absolutely go back. We've been to a few Caribbean Islands and so feel able to compare and say that St Kitts is the BEST. We are Brits but have lived in the US for 7.5 years now so feel that we know what a US Marriott is like and what is is like to get something similar in the UK/Europe in term so cost and service expectations so we hope that our view is useful for other travelers. We did go in low season which we like because although some things close down for the season we like the quiet hotels. We were lucky with the weather, sunshine every single day all day!!

Room Tip: High floor if on mountain side to avoid the noise of the generators when on the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macungie, PA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

This is our 3rd trip to the Marriott in 6 years. We began in 3/08 and returned in 3/10 and 3/12. In that time we went from travelling with one child to travelling with 6 year old and 3 year old. The trips keep getting better. In 2012 (all of this review is based on 2012) we stayed in a 1 bedroom suite which was large enough for 4 (one king bed, pull out for 6 year old and pack and play for 3 year old). The pool and pool bar have recently been redone and they were renovating rooms while we were there. We were looking for a vacation of pool, beach, dinner, sleep and more pool and that is what we got. We were all-inclusive (Marriott use to have a program that allowed using rewards points to make all-inclusive) and the food was good but scheduling a restaurant can be difficult because each is only open on certain days. Golf was good (Marriott has a great program for kids 12 and under. They play free in afternoon with a paying adult so my 6 year old played and had a great time - not crowded in afternoon) Food and drink prices - usual Caribbean prices -- high. Main problem is getting a flight to and from that is reasonable. If you are looking for a relaxing rest -- this is it. You can find things to do on the island and Nevis and we may do more next time, but kids were too young for alot. Overall, I would give this property a B+. Picture is from top of tower at center of hotel where we were for a Mgr. reception.

Room Tip: Choose a suite -- plenty of room for a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Vale, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I guess you could say we fell in love with the beautiful island, the amazing people and the lovely resort. We go back a few times a year to visit friends who are now part of our kittitian family. We always stay at the Marriott, as it offers a little something for everyone.

We use our time share or stay in the garden houses, which enhances the island experience. I don't recommend the all inclusive because there are so many great dining options on the island, that it's a shame to limit yourself to just Marriott restaurants. (although they are all very good.)

If you trust this jersey girl who knows saint kitts like the back of her hand, do the following:

1. Go to Cathy's the night you arrive. It is a shack down the road, on the Caribbean side. Take the 6$ cab ride. Don't go hungry, because it the slowest spot on the island...but the lobster is the best. Yes, better than shiggity shack, which is 3 shacks down the beach. It's a perfect, casual thing to do when you first get in...put on your shorts, flops and have Cathy's famous rum punch.

2. When you are truly ready to unwind, locate Angela on the Marriott beach and enjoy an aloe massage. The local men and women hustle the beach aggressively. But, if you tell them you are with Angela, they will never bother you again. Ask Angela to pull her chair down by the water front and indulge in a soothing massage. She is one of the older gals on the beach (my age! 48) and she will see to it that you enjoy your spa service. I rarely pay for the emerald mist services...I can do that in bergen county nj. Angela is honest and cordial. I never miss a good visit with her when in town. She works hard to support and educate 4 beautiful daughters!

3. At the beach bar, locate Vanessa, vincia, livi, latasha and ask them to whip you up one of their favorite libations. Mine is the "Ela special" and though it's not on the menu, it was originated by vanroy, the best bartender ever to walk this earth. (he is now a supervisor and works elsewhere) But the girls have carried on his tradition nicely.

4. Listen to the band in the lobby bar on weekends. They are Fabulous and with the right crowd they will really come alive. Odessa has the voice of an angel.

5. Do the Island tour. I recommend using Mr.T. (tyronne) In fact, use him for everything...grocery store, restaurant runs, airport. If he can't accommodate you, he will set you up with a buddy who is just as safe and fair. It is best to stay with the same driver the whole time ur there for a real island experience. Love the views from the fort, the black rocks and just seeing the lush tropical interior of the island.

6. Visit shipwreck for a burger and a cocktail...depending on the time of the year, you my catch a breathtaking sunset. Write your name on a post and let the world know you were there! When you go back, and trust me you will, it's fun to see what you wrote.

7. For finer dining,the marriott steak house of course is lovely...but you can get that at home. Venture to the Beach House and Carambola. Water front dining. You must pry yourself away from the pool and get to both spots before sunset! If you go after dark you truly cannot appreciate the
ambiance. These places won't disappoint and bring your camera!! The beach house is well worth the 25 minute rocky cab ride. Favorite spot in the Caribbean.

8. If you are physically fit take a walk up the large hill to the left as you come out of the Marriott. At the top you will see the Atlantic on the left, the Caribbean sea on the right. One of the prettiest views on the island. If you head to shipwreck, beach house or carambola, your cab driver will stop there for you and take a photo. Dont be shy. Don't miss this view. I have a 20x30 photo in my great room of that spot.

9. Ignore, or better yet, report that one nasty girl in calypso cafe. Her name escapes me now...but I know you will encounter her. She is most likely the only one who will treat you with disdain. I'm not sure why she is still employed. Mental note for next trip...

10. Slow your pace down the minute you exit the aircraft. Island life is slow. It's not that service is bad at the Marriott, it's just that we are all used to things being done in 2 minutes and in saint kitts that doesn't happen. Quite frankly that's the beauty of the island and the beauty of vacation. Put away the phone, disconnect from social media, grab a must read novel, be kind to those you meet and the island of saint kitts and the Marriott hotel will be one for the record books.



6.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islip Terrace, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We actually had a terrible experience at the St. Kitts resort. Although I have spoken to three separate individuals on the phone about this, and was promised a return phone call with a possible solution, I have NOT heard back from anyone!

First of all, we are very loyal Marriott members. We stayed in the Aruba resort last fall and had a fantastic time. We are also not complainers. It doesn't take much to keep us happy: clean rooms, clean hotel, clean pools (are you recognizing the theme?). Being from New York, we'll even deal with a not-so-friendly staff, but this place was ridiculous!

Since purchasing our Marriott Vacation Club unit, my cousins, who have 3 children, have started to show an interest to also purchase within Marriott, based on our positive experiences. We invited them along with us to St. Kitts and the four of us occupied a 2 BR unit. It was such a horrible experience that my cousins actually left early and will probably never purchase a Marriott timeshare.

The resort was not up to what we consider Marriott standards. The pools were filthy (I've attached photos), as if it had never been vacuumed or cleaned. you could actually see mold growing along the sides. Not once did we ever see anyone maintaining the pool. Additionally, there was an ant infestation within the portico of our building and all of the the fountains were dirty. The beaches hadn't been combed in what seemed like years- filled with debris and cigarette butts.

Despite that all over the island there were signs about the new Marriott Residences being built, the Vacation Club office was NEVER opened throughout the entire week we were there, not even during hours the front desk said they'd be there. When we tried to complain to the front desk, I felt as if they brushed us off and they couldn't answer our questions.

Even the uniforms of the waitstaff in every restaurant were dingy.

The Excursion desk had posted opening hours from 9:00am, but when we went there at 9:30, we were told by front desk personnel that "they're probably on island time" and that we should come back later. When we finally booked the excursion to Nevis, it brought us to non-Marriott resorts throughout Nevis. In fact, all we saw on that excursion were OTHER hotels. So much for drumming up repeat Marriott business. We never got a feel for the other isladn on this excursion, as promised.

The staff overall from bartenders to front desk to casino dealers to excursion desk staff seemed uninterested and bothered by the simplest request- with the exception of the bell staff. Those men were outstanding! They ALWAYS greeted us with a big smiles and were courteous and helpful. Their manager must have excelled at the famed Marriott training whereas other departments at this hotel desperately need a management refresher course. We were so perplexed that we even asked if Marriott had plans to sell the location, because it was worse than staying in a Super8 motel!

The rooms were indeed beautiful, spacious and clean. We did have to call twice to request more toilet paper. There was none when we arrived and after the 1st call, they only brought one roll...for four people...in two bathrooms...for a week.

Overall, we were shocked and dismayed. We felt awful for our guests who were truly looking forward to what we refer to as the "Marriott Vacation Experience." Despite our repeated comments about how St. Kitts is not indicative of other Marriott resorts, the four of us left disappointed and upset. We felt as though we wasted a week of our vacation deposit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino

Address: 858 Frigate Bay Road, Frigate Bay, St. Kitts
Location: Caribbean > St. Kitts and Nevis > St. Kitts > Frigate Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Frigate Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marriott St. Kitts Resort & Royal Beach Casino captivates you from the moment you see it, immersing you in the culture and atmosphere of this most relaxing and romantic of Caribbean Islands. Our breathtaking St. Kitts resort hotel offers an unparalleled island vacation experience. Luxury guest rooms, trimmed with West Indian accents and cutting-edge comforts, are spacious and welcoming. That same Caribbean flavor sets the tone in our 8 restaurants and 2 lounges. For entertainment and relaxation, the resort also offers the 35,000 sq ft Royal Beach Casino, the 15,000 sq ft Emerald Mist Spa and boasts an 18-hole championship golf course at the Royal St. Kitts Golf Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Kitts Marriott Resort And The Royal Beach Casino
St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Hotel Frigate Bay
Marriott Frigate Bay
Marriott St Kitts
Frigate Bay Marriott
St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino Frigate Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.