We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A room with island flair in a great view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Timothy Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Timothy Beach Resort to your Saves list
Timothy Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 South Frigate Bay Beach, Frigate Bay, St. Kitts   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Frigate Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Millinocket, ME USA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A room with island flair in a great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

My wife and I needed to find a hotel room for one night before flying back to the US. With many options available I decided to give the Timothy Beach Resort a try. Our third floor room proved to have a great view of Frigate Bay and had a nice Caribbean touch in the decor. We wanted to go to the beach the morning of our departure and they were very accommodating, allowing us to have a late check out. It was great to be able to shower and clean up before our long flights home.
We also enjoyed the adjacent Sunset Cafe for excellent dinner and breakfast fare at reasonable prices while overlooking the Caribbean.

Room Tip: Friday night beach bars had loud music until late in the night. If quality sleep is a must, you mig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    211
    66
    18
    6
See reviews for
60
213
23
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wyoming
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

I just returned from a one-week stay at Timothy Beach resort with my parents in law, brother-in-law, husband, and two small children (ages 2 and 3). I got nervous when we first pulled up because honestly the pale blue paint makes this place look not as nice as it truly is. We found my small family's one bedroom condo to be extremely spacious. The housekeepers do an excellent job every day. The one negative is that I could never figure out how to get the hot water in the shower to work, but it's really not that big of a deal with this kind of climate. My daughters enjoyed seeing all of the monkeys running around. The kitchen was very adequate to cook most of our meals in. The wildly popular Shikkidy Shack is right across the street. Personally, we did not find this restaurant to be that fantastic but everyone else seems to. The best meal we had there was at Rock Lobster, which is a short hop away. A big bonus to this place is that it is located on the calm Caribbean side of the island and there are also other spectacular beaches that are a very short drive away. We seemed to be the only people out at the pool every day, which was a very nice area to relax in.

If you are looking for an extremely affordable place that is in a great location, I would pick this place.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, Illinois
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Timothy's Beach Resort from March 31st to April 4th and I must say it was worth the price of admission. Our room was on the second level and we had our own private deck with a table and 2 chairs and 2 chaise lounges. We overlooked Frigate Bay with its beautiful sunsets and sailboats floating in the waters right off shore. Our room was very nice. We had a king bed, tons of closet space, nice bathroom with a shower, a mini fridge(which we really appreciated), and a coffee pot. We met a great taxi driver named P.J.at the airport and he took us all around the island. The beach in front of the resort was nice, but it had suffered some erosion over the winter, according to P.J. There was not much to see with your snorkel, but the water was beautiful blue and clear as a swimming pool. There was good food to be had in the attached open air Sunset Café. Watch out for those Rum Punches at the open air bar. They gave us a coupon for a free drink and it about did me in, but I did enjoy meeting all the very friendly people at the bar. The pool area is very nice lots of shade or sun, according to your preference. Down the beach from the hotel are local restaurants which do offer great food despite their outward appearance. There are not many hotel properties on St. Kitts and the ones we saw, besides Timothy's, were very expensive. This is a great clean place to stay for a very good price.

Room Tip: Get an upper level room if you can handle the stairs. the view is wonderful. Watch out for the resid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

If you are looking for luxury, think again. This place was one of the most laid back and comfortable places I've stayed and the staff truly felt like family. I felt as welcome as next of kin with all my new friends. Great views, great local cuisine on site and seconds walk down the beach. Felt like home. Snorkeling was easy and sunsets were amazing. Monkeys, monkeys, monkeys all across the hill and side of the grounds. Definitely recommend paying the little extra for the ocean side rooms if you like the balcony as much as we do. The views didn't disappoint. Thanks for a great trip TBR.

Brett

Room Tip: Hard beds are the thing, but we weren't in our rooms much. Ocean side is the key.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Our stay was from March 13 to March 23, 2014. The property is very well located with easy access to restaurants and nightlife by walking and by car. We typically ate breakfast at the hotel which was usually a 1 1/2 hour experience. Don't plan on fast anything at the hotel as the service is super laid back. The rooms are spotless and the staff responsive although they did forget to service our room one day. By all means get an ocean view room as it is a delightful start to the evening to relax with a glass of wine prior to leaving for dinner. There is really no beach, just a path with some grass, sand and concrete with chairs and umbrellas but there is access to the water and it is easy to negotiate the patches of rocks and stay in the sandy areas while swimming. A public beach adjoins the property plus there are excellent beach clubs like the Shipwreck (best fish tacos for lunch) Reggae Beach and Carambola Beach Club (a deluxe place with an excellent restaurant open for lunch and dinner but more expensive than Shipwreck or Reggae Beach for chair and umbrella rentals.) In addition to Carambola for dinner, Mr. X's next door to the hotel has a Thursday night dinner with good entertainment but you need to get there by 6:30 to get a table. Serendipity and the Spice Mill were excellent. Lunch at the Spice Mill was OK but I had a superb fish special for dinner. Perhaps one of the best fish preparations I've ever had. The hotel beach bar didn't open until late afternoon except on weekends. There was always an interesting crowd there at happy hour. As other's have noted there are monkeys early morning and early evening plus and assortment of chickens, cats and mongoose roaming around at any particular time. Beware the alpha male monkey will sit near you at breakfast and suddenly grab your toast from your plate. Driving is generally not a problem as there is not much traffic except in Basseterre. Beware, some stop signs are painted on the road only, no signs. This island is laid back and not overrun with tourists except for the cruise ship people who are generally at a location for an hour or two. It is worth a trip to Nevis to visit some of the plantation resorts which are beautiful but expensive. No bugs other than a few outdoor "palmetto bugs" and an occasional centipede. We were advised to avoid the centipedes and a sting would entail a trip to the hospital but we only saw two in ten days. Pretty much bug free. The hotel and the location was great and our trip was wonderful. Don't be in a hurry, just go with the flow. You'll find it a pleasant departure from large cookie cutter hotels. We will go back!

Room Tip: Go for an ocean view room as they have a nice large porch and a good view of the sunset. Mountain v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorestown, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

It was perfect. We were on our way to the Four Seasons and had 2 days to kill prior. Wanted to experience the "local flavor" and Timothy's was perfect. The facility was very clean, staff was great and everything within waking distance . Lots of wild monkeys, roosters and friendly birds added to the local experience.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We stayed at Timothy Beach Resort, January 16-25, 2014.

We were looking to try something besides the typical all-inclusive option and a little less busy; we were not disappointed! Timothy Beach Resort is small and cozy and quiet – it is not the Marriott. If you want that level of service, activity, chic, etc. at your disposal that would probably be your better bet.

That being said, Timothy Beach Resort is the classic laid-back island experience. Warm breezes, warm aqua water with a sandy bottom beach, beach shack eateries to stroll into (whether you have flip-flops on or not), very low-key. We didn’t have a suite but a regular hotel room with just a fridge but it was enough to hold water, juice and some snacks for a few days. We walked 2 blocks to Ram’s grocery to re-stock.

Get a room facing the beach with a balcony. Noise wasn’t an issue, A/C was on most of the time. Bathrooms have been remodeled with all new tile and were clean (we are SUPER picky about bathroom cleanliness!). Our TV was very small, but we are not huge TV watchers so this was not a big deal for us. The balconies are large and a great place to have coffee in the morning or a drink in the late afternoon. No mosquitoes.

The Sunset Café is good for breakfast and they have a few theme nights which we tried, too. It was fine. As I mentioned, there are a lot of good places on the beach or a short walk to something more upscale. A word of caution though – there is a 12% VAT tax and 10% service charge in all restaurants, so remember to figure that into the price! The grilled lobster dinner at Cathy’s on the beach was great!

There is a new little beach bar on the grounds. A fun place to meet other travelers for happy hour but it gets crowded quickly!

Staff is very friendly and easy going. We received especially good service from Ashton and Juliette.

About the beach, yes, it is very small. However, it is literally steps on the sand to the large public beach which was big and had a nice sandy bottom. We would leave our chairs and things on the pool patio and run down to the beach. The water was very warm during our January visit.

The animals are a bonus! Three resident chickens (a rooster and 2 hens), mongoose, cats and monkeys! The green Vervet monkeys are quite entertaining but can be very mischevious. They seem to be quite used to people being around and they provided lots of laughs (I’m sure the staff may have found them less endearing than the guests)!

Walked to the Marriott one day to check it out. Big and beautiful. Gorgeous and huge beach, but the surf is much rougher than our smaller Carribbean-side beach. Not really the vacation experience we had wanted in St. Kitts, but glad we checked it out anyway. We did gamble at the casino one evening after a lobster dinner special at Blue Restaurant in the Marriott (think that’s the correct name of the restaurant).

The pool at Timothy Beach was small but enough for all the guests and clean. Many times we had it all to ourselves.

Shopping in Basseterre is OK, a busy but small capital city. Port Zante is the best shopping for jewelry, liquor, perfume, etc. Also a small craft market outside the port. Shopped at Kay Jewelers, which is recommended by the cruise lines. Very pleased with the selection and my jewelry purchase from there.

Do take a day trip to Nevis, the smaller and quieter sister island. A guide drove our small group around the island and made several stops for us: Natural hot springs, Hermitage Plantation, Nesbit Plantation for lunch (gorgeous!), and a beachside place for “Killer Bee” punch. Delicious but potent!

Room Tip: Ask for a second or third floor room with a balcony (not the mountain side)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Timothy Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timothy Beach Resort

Address: 1 South Frigate Bay Beach, Frigate Bay, St. Kitts
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Kitts and Nevis > St. Kitts > Frigate Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Frigate Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Timothy Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Timothy Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timothy Beach Hotel Frigate Bay
Timothy Beach Frigate Bay
Timothy Beach Resort St. Kitts/Frigate Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Timothy Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.