We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Timothy Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Timothy Beach Resort to your Saves list
Timothy Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 South Frigate Bay Beach, Frigate Bay, St. Kitts   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
35% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Frigate Bay
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

This resort was so perfect for me and my family as we were looking for a beach holiday. This resort actually reminded me of Dirty Dancing with apartments starting at the top of a hill leading all the way down to the beach. The grass was green, the palm trees were beautiful and every now again we got see a cute and mischievous monkey hiding in the trees. If I had to complain about anything it would be be the hotels restaurant. The restaurant was plagued with flies and I mean plagued!!! Not the odd couple flies. However the beach had such a variety of food huts and bars that this was little concern to me. Water sports are readily available on the beach and as this is a public beach a variety of visitors adorn the beautiful sand. The room was fully stocked for the self catered guests and also had a sofa bed for additional space. We had a balcony where you could look out to towards the beach. This room was perfectly adequate for 2 adults and 2 kids and could accommodate 1 or 2 more quite easily. There was also a large pool near the beach which was perfect for the relaxing times as this was private and for guests only. If you fancied a bit of fine dining just a short walk away was the Marriott Hotel where we dined and had the most fabulous Rib Eye steak. If heading to the town centre it is a short taxi drive of about 10 minutes and approved taxis are available via reception. St Kitts is a beautiful country and this hotel provided all we required for our holiday requirements at a reasonable price!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    194
    54
    18
    5
See reviews for
55
182
21
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Davison, Michigan
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

The room was comfortable even for 3 people to stay in. The fold out sleeper sofa was very comfortable. Housekeeping and maintenance were very prompt. The kitchenette was nice to have. We saw monkeys and mongooses every day on hotel property. The Sunset Cafe has good food reasonably priced. The beach is nice, and the beach chairs are free. The Dock bar is better than Shiggity Shack right next door. It is an easy 20 minute stroll to the Marriott for conference events.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Prairie, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

This resort property was just right for us. The staff was friendly and helpful, especially Kimberly and Laurel on the front desk. Situated right on the water, it was easy to have fun; some of the best snorkeling on the island. We even had a monkey come drink out of the pool while we were swimming, so the natural setting is delightful. The room was clean and outfitted with a kitchenette, making eating in an option. The grounds are beautiful and very well maintained. I highly recommend this property as your home away from home.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Just got back from a week stay at the Timothy Beach Resort. My husband and I were looking for a peaceful warm place and we found it. Stayed in a 1 bedroom condo. Had everything we needed. Rooms were clean and maintain nicely. Had a balcony to enjoy sun sets on and breakfast every morning. Great location with both sea and ocean views. Enjoyed watching the monkeys every morning well having breakfast. The staff was very friendly as was everyone on the island. I had forgotten my light sweater in the taxi ride form the airport. That I would never see it again but the driver returned it to me the following day when he found it in the back seat. There are plenty of choice places to eat all within a 5 minute walk from the resort as well as night life. Great location and without being fancy just a great place to relax and enjoy yourself.

Room Tip: Stay in the end unit furthest from main area. Quiet for sleeping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed at Timothy Beach Resort from the 12th - 19th October 2013 and had a thoroughly enjoyable stay. The hotel is set in the most beautiful gardens and if you have an ocean facing room you will not be disappointed with the view both in the morning and sunrise and in the evening at sunset. The rooms are big and comfortable with everything you would need, fridge, coffee/tea facilities / TV / large bed / balcony with tables & chairs & deck chairs. There are also new hairdryers in the room - I would advise just using this as I took my one and the electricity supply wasn't good enough to give it proper 'umph'. There isn't however the provision of shampoo etc so take your own (this didn't matter to us at all). The rooms inc bathroom have tiled floors and also slightly dated furnishings however I wouldn't say that this is a bad thing, if you are going to spend all day on the beach or trekking the mountains its the perfect place to come back and freshen up, you aren't going to ruin anything by walking sand and mud everywhere - overall the rooms were comfortable, we didn't need anything more. There is also free wi-fi although we could get signal on the balcony, again no hassle I just wanted to use it for researching the fish that we saw whilst snorkeling!! There is also free and plentiful parking if you rent a car.

The ladies that staff reception were also very helpful they were on hand to help when we needed it and provided advice on which tour operators to use. We climbed the volcano with Rodger's Tours, recommended by the hotel. What a great tour that was, it took us 1hr 45mins up with a food stop near the top and then 1 hr 30 mins back - overall around 4 hours. Rodger will also pick you up and drop you back to the hotel. It was Adrian who climbed the volcano with us and was very knowledgeable. We did do the climb pretty quick because it was just the two of us and Adrian, I would suggest that you need to be quite fit and prepared to hoist yourself up and over things, if you are in a bigger group I think it would take a lot longer as the paths are narrow and you would have to wait around for everyone to conquer the pathways. However the views from the top in the crater of the volcano and the interesting walk through the rain forest are well worth the challenge (it cost us $75us pp).

The Timothy Beach Resort beach is also the safest for swimming / snorkeling on the Island - and you can help yourself to sunbeds and position them just above the water (although there isn't much beach). This is the place that I found most comfortable snorkeling you can just walking down the steps and wade for about 1-2m and put your head in and you will see a variety of fish - swim further out and round the rocks and it is a wealth of colour and varieties of fish. It is safe and warm and you won't be disappointed.

The restaurants and cafes along the strip are also fantastic I would recommend Mr X's Shaggidy Shack for the Jerk Chicken and then by the far the best was Cathy's for amazing Lobster and Ribs combo - absolutely incredible.

Definitely hire a car whilst you are there - we did do the walk into Basseterre one morning at around 8:30am - it took 40 mins but was so uncomfortable, so we didn't do that again. You can then drive to the beaches on the south of the Island - Cockleshell is by far the best and the best snorkeling, we saw the biggest Ray (spotted eagle ray) and a sea snake and octopuses, others said that they saw turtles but we didn't. The Reggae Reggae beach bar and grill is also fantastic for lunch. We also went to the Shipwreck bar and grill and used their beach which again fantastic snorkeling along the reef ridge (ask in the bar for details or where to go) and brilliant food (sunbeds free if you are going to have food/drink). Further more you can drive to Nevis via the sea bridge from Majors Bay, which is an experience in itself. You drive to a 'ramp' into the sea the boat arrives every two hours, you reverse on and off you go. Nevis is very pretty and I recommend stopping for food and drinks at Sunshine's bar and grill - Sunshine is a lovely guy and so are the rest of the staff, you will feel at home. We didn't stay that long on Nevis just wanting a quick look so got the 1pm boat over and the 16:30pm boat back.

Whilst I am recommending things when you are in Basseterre definitely visit the Smoothie King on the corner opposite Ballahoo (which is a great restaurant for Breakfast) as they were the best smoothies I have ever had - regular $8ec / large $10ec - just pop the money in his pot and you will have yourself a smoothie. For any help you need visit the tourism office and they will help you out e.g. rent-a-car and other trips. Just watch Basseterre on a Friday as the cruise ships come in so the town is busy - other days you can have quite a peaceful stroll around the shops.

Overall we had the best holiday we could have hoped for and I think that this is because we had a great base and everyone was so nice and helpful.

Room Tip: Definitely book a ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We have stayed at Timothy Beach Hotel in February 2012 for one week before going to the sister island, Nevis for a second part of our holidays.

It's a lovely budget hotel located in an excellent area - only 15 minutes from the airport and few minutes walk from many restaurants and bars. Our room was small but comfortable, located on the 1st floor, had a partial ocean view and it was cleaned daily. The swimming pool is simple but well maintened and with plenty loungers around it. We had breakfast daily in hotel's restaurant and snacks and drinks in the afternoon/evening in Dock bar - both excellent service and good value for money. From other restaurants I would certainly recommend Bombay Blues & Ciao Restaurante Italiano. We have had an enjoyable stay and would certainly return again.

P.S. Plenty of wildlife to observe - vervet monkeys and moongoose running around hill side of the hotels. Beware of monkeys vendors on the beach - they are running after all tourist and nag them to take a photo with a poor little monkeys with a nappies on.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed at the Timothy Beach Resort for a week at the end of September 2013. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend the hotel unreservedly.

It is a typical three star hotel so don't go if you want 5*. It is, we thought, however traditionally Caribbean and not similar to the large scale anonymous AI resort hotels found elsewhere in the Caribbean like the Marriot which is about a mile away - it therefore suited us perfectly.

The staff were extremely friendly, particularly Ashton and others at the Sunset Cafe and Clovis at the Dock Bar, which is the hotel's beach bar.

The rooms were very spacious and although a little dated this did not impact on our stay. We had a room with an ocean view and we thoroughly recommend that this option be taken. The view from our balcony was extremely good and we spent many hours just watching and relaxing. The air conditioning in the room was very efficient and there is a fridge and a coffee maker. The shower needed some patient adjustment in order to obtain hot water and a decent flow but this was only a minor irritation. There's a safety deposit system in Reception as there is no safe in the room.

The sea was extremely warm and very clear and perfect for snorkelling. There are a number of sunbeds at the edge of the beach for use by hotel guests. Beach towels are provided by the hotel at no charge.

The pool was also extremely pleasant, very warm and always kept clean.

There are also numerous monkeys, mongoose and a few chickens around the hotel.

It is also very convenient for the range of beach bars close to the hotel.

We visited the hotel during the very quiet season and some of the beach bars were not always open but again this did not cause any problems. In fact it made the result less busy and more pleasant.

It's well worth hiring a car for the day to see the island. You have to purchase a temporary St Kitts licence ($US24) and including that it cost us about £65 for the day from Thrifty - there are other rental companies, Bullseye, Avis and Hertz.

Finally, we met some very nice people during our stay and had an extremely pleasant week, courtesy of British Airways Holidays - their transfer arrangements etc were very efficient.

St Kitts is a lovely, unpretentious island with very friendly people.

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra and opt for an Ocean View room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Timothy Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timothy Beach Resort

Address: 1 South Frigate Bay Beach, Frigate Bay, St. Kitts
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Kitts and Nevis > St. Kitts > Frigate Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Frigate Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Timothy Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Timothy Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timothy Beach Hotel Frigate Bay
Timothy Beach Frigate Bay
Timothy Beach Resort St. Kitts/Frigate Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Timothy Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.