We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent stay thoroughly enjoyable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Timothy Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Timothy Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Timothy Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 South Frigate Bay Beach, Frigate Bay, St. Kitts   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
30% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Frigate Bay
Somerset
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“An excellent stay thoroughly enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed at the Timothy Beach Resort for a week at the end of September 2013. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend the hotel unreservedly.

It is a typical three star hotel so don't go if you want 5*. It is, we thought, however traditionally Caribbean and not similar to the large scale anonymous AI resort hotels found elsewhere in the Caribbean like the Marriot which is about a mile away - it therefore suited us perfectly.

The staff were extremely friendly, particularly Ashton and others at the Sunset Cafe and Clovis at the Dock Bar, which is the hotel's beach bar.

The rooms were very spacious and although a little dated this did not impact on our stay. We had a room with an ocean view and we thoroughly recommend that this option be taken. The view from our balcony was extremely good and we spent many hours just watching and relaxing. The air conditioning in the room was very efficient and there is a fridge and a coffee maker. The shower needed some patient adjustment in order to obtain hot water and a decent flow but this was only a minor irritation. There's a safety deposit system in Reception as there is no safe in the room.

The sea was extremely warm and very clear and perfect for snorkelling. There are a number of sunbeds at the edge of the beach for use by hotel guests. Beach towels are provided by the hotel at no charge.

The pool was also extremely pleasant, very warm and always kept clean.

There are also numerous monkeys, mongoose and a few chickens around the hotel.

It is also very convenient for the range of beach bars close to the hotel.

We visited the hotel during the very quiet season and some of the beach bars were not always open but again this did not cause any problems. In fact it made the result less busy and more pleasant.

It's well worth hiring a car for the day to see the island. You have to purchase a temporary St Kitts licence ($US24) and including that it cost us about £65 for the day from Thrifty - there are other rental companies, Bullseye, Avis and Hertz.

Finally, we met some very nice people during our stay and had an extremely pleasant week, courtesy of British Airways Holidays - their transfer arrangements etc were very efficient.

St Kitts is a lovely, unpretentious island with very friendly people.

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra and opt for an Ocean View room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    191
    54
    18
    5
See reviews for
55
178
21
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Spalding, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We have just spent a week at Timothy Beach Resort and can highly recommend it. The location and setting is wonderful, atmosphere really laid back and relaxed, and the staff very helpful and friendly (A special thanks to Clovis at the Dock beach bar). Although a quieter time of year, we found lots of choice to eat each evening, either at the excellent hotel restaurant, or hotel beach bar or at one of the other beach bars on Frigate bay beach (only 3-5 mins walk along the beach from the hotel). Great live music at the Dock beach bar and Mr X's Shiggidy Shack Beach Bar.
Our Hotel room was comfortable with huge bed, tv, fridge, coffee machine, really good air conditioning and fans, which were really appreciated as the weather was HOT, with no rain all week. Room cleaned and towels changed daily. Sunbeds, towels and sun shades supplied daily for hotel guests (no extra charge) on the beach in front of the hotel restaurant and bar, only a couple of steps away from the "Caribbean" sea which was clean, calm and shallow with lots of fish to snorkel among.
The swimming pool (with sunbeds and shades) was usually very quiet and peaceful.
Lovely gardens around the hotel, which were well cared for - with a few chickens, monkeys and mongoose - a real treat.
If you are looking for a relaxed, friendly and unpretentious St Kitts holiday experience - Timothy Beach is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: We had one of the rooms to the rear of the hotel with a small balcony, very quiet. We did not ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I stayed at Timothy Beach Resort in Sept. 2013 for business purposes. This resort was just right for the purpose of my stay. The rooms are designed in an apartment setting some with an ocean view and others with a hill view. I took an ocean view and I must say the view from my balcony was great. There are stairways to get to some (if not all) the rooms which may prove a little difficult for persons with disabilities. But I'm assuming that provisions would be made in light of such a situation. My studio room had the much appreciated appliances such as a refrigerator, stove, microwave etc. The staff were pleasant and always willing to assist with anything I needed. Sharon (at the front desk) was very helpful even prior to my arrival. The compound was very well kept and also hosts a restaurant and bar (both in clear view of the ocean which lines one side of the resort). Staff at the restaurant (Juliette and Michelle) were very pleasant so too was Clovis who works at The Dock beach bar. All in all, I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

17th September Just returned from a lovely week in St Kitts staying at the Timothy beach hotel, we had an ocean view room which had been recently decorated throughout, great bright room with modern bathroom. The weather was great only rained at night, the hotel was quite and we had the pool to ourselves most days, we hired a car and drove around the island, Brimstone hill was really worth a visit, cockleshell bay is a must, it a lovely bay with great snorkelling. Although saying that the snorkelling around the hotel was really good we saw a large turtle by the rocks on the left of the dock, and we also saw large rays and other colourful fish. The Dock beach bar was great with the entertaining and pleasant Clovis and Juliette serving cocktails.
The sunset cafe had an adequate menu. The stripe with lots of shacks selling food and drink, and providing entertainment was convenient placed opposite the hotel, not to far to stagger back to our room after a late night.
Would love to return in the not to distant future.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

I decided to spend a weekend in kitts, left the hotel choice to the taxi driver and I landed here by the strip. Nice area full of places to party and people to meet. If you go to st.kitts make sure you have your own party spirit with you, they're not the best in this activities !!
The place is ok, maybe a bit out priced for the standards, staff very Caribbean but overall a clean place. They let me stay in the room after check out time... But it needs a bit more than that to make a break into a nice break. Mist placed my wallet on the first night and all I got was "a what is going on here? Somebody just lost their phone"
Wasted a day to block cards and stuff. But got stranded here until I decide to ask for a taxi and get a taxi tour. Maybe they should select t their guides better. I've been allocated to Alfonso whom works for a company called Talbo, piece of tripadvice.... Stay away!! $80 for a islan tour and the he wanted to add another $80 to take me down the road to the Shipwreck bar!!! I naturally told him exactly where to go!! The funny thing is that I was prepared to leave a nice tip and use him for my last day too.. What a muppet!!

If ur island hopping I suggest a stop here in St.kitts n Nevis, specially if is weekend....
Again, leave ur expectation home nd ur safe!!

Enjoy!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Place is old, need upgrading. Room was not the best but it was clean enough (standard of cleanliness is different there, :) ). Bathroom really need new fittings, faucets were leaking! We had a rental car so it was nice that they had free parking in the back. Staff was friendly, most people there are friendly anyway. They have free towels at the office so you can take to beach or their pool. Air conditioner worked fine. Overall, it was alright. I hardly spent time in the room, so I didn't care much. Bed was, meh!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Timothy Beach Resort is about 20 minutes from the airport on the beach in St. Kitts. Although a little funky, it is a nice retreat for travelers looking for a beach get away without the corporate feel. "The Dock" is their beach bar which also serves food from the larger Sunset Cafe attached to the main building. It was easy to meet locals, and ex-pats at The Dock and it provided the classic Caribbean beachside bar experience. Meals I had were good with fresh fish a specialty. There are several other bars down the beach, but they were not open in "off season".

Rooms at the hotel were up on the hill, through the well tended gardens, they were a little old but large and clean. Rooms had some maintenance issues as you might expect from their age, but in general everything worked. The resort had an unusual safety deposit box arrangement at the main office which involved two keys, yours and the managers key. It all worked. Staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Timothy Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timothy Beach Resort

Address: 1 South Frigate Bay Beach, Frigate Bay, St. Kitts
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Kitts and Nevis > St. Kitts > Frigate Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Frigate Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Timothy Beach Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Otel and Priceline so you can book your Timothy Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timothy Beach Hotel Frigate Bay
Timothy Beach Frigate Bay
Timothy Beach Resort St. Kitts/Frigate Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Timothy Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.