We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Swimming with Pelicans” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Timothy Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Timothy Beach Resort to your Saves list
Timothy Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 South Frigate Bay Beach, Frigate Bay, St. Kitts   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Frigate Bay
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Swimming with Pelicans”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Located on the Caribbean side of the island Timothy Beach hotel was just what we wanted. A small very friendly hotel at the end of the strip, the hotel was perfect for our needs. We stayed RO basis, but chose to have breakfast everyday watching the pelicans diving for their breakfast, lunch and dinner. The sandy beach was great for swimming and snorkelling as long as you made sure you didn't look like a fish as the swooping birds would dive right in front of you.
There was plenty of nightlife along the strip, and a wide selection of restaurants both on the strip and along the road to the atlantic ocean side - 10 - 20 minutes walk away.
Loved exploring St Kitts but taxis were expensive for short rides, but provided the best way tour the island.
Nevis is also worth a visit - 45 minutes by passenger ferry - a journey worth doing for the views.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper ask for a room away from the beach, the music can be a little loud but on...
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    198
    57
    18
    5
See reviews for
56
189
22
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Forres, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

On arrival we were asked to register and then were shown to our room which turned out to be in a block of rooms with a vioew of the lake/land along with part of the view of the Caribbean sea which for once was a blessing as the sea was calm enough for us both to enjoy the swimming as the Atlantic can be problematic especially when the sea is rough. The room was Ok with all the usual accoutrements a large bed and cable TV, with a balcony with loungers.
The restaurant was just the job and we enjoyed a few meals along with breakfast daily but this being the Caribbean the service although adequate was very laid back but the food turned out OK in the end. The saving grace was that the hotel was next to the "Strip" which had Mr Xs Shiggidy Shack, Cathy's Bar and Buddies Bar along with Mexican eateries and were well worth the effort, good food not too expensive although we also went to Marshalls one night and although the food and ambience was excellent it turned out to be a lovely but expensive treat.
Whilst on the island we experienced an island tour, scenic railway tour and two excursions on the trip wire courtesy of Tropical Tours which we can assure everyone was very enjoyable especially the zip wire experience, they are well worth the effort as they are very professional and we were well looked after by all of the employees.

Room Tip: If possible pick a block which is the furthest away from the reception area especially over the week...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knoxville, tn
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Timothy Beach in February. It was our first time to St. Kitts and we wanted an island/ local experience. You'll find that at Timothy Beach Resort. No frills, close to the strip and a great island resort. The staff was very helpful and accomodating. The water is clear, the beach is brown from the volcanic sand. I would recommend getting a kitchenette because breakfast and lunch can be a little pricey. Get an ocean front room as well. The monkeys in the mornig were fun to watch and the night time view of the mountain and the lights were cool. We will stay there again on our next trip.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales UK
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Timothy Beach Resort is a pleasantly situated resort consisting of 2/3 storey blocks of units.

The grounds are well kept and the staff are very courteous.

We stayed in a top third floor unit number 36. This is a one bedroom full kitchen ocean facing suite comprised of a large bedroom with super king bed, plenty of drawers and hanging space. Cable Television included. The bathroom was small but adequate with a tiled walk in shower which needed upgrading but was perfectly clean, with again lots of storage space. Lounge/Kitchen with large 3 piece suite, dining table and chairs. The kitchen- breakfast bar held a large fridge, sink, microwave and toaster with plenty of utensils, tableware etc. There were 4 hotplates and no oven.

The balcony was large with two loungers, table and chairs. Best of all was the lovely view across the bay which has amazing sunsets.

From our unit it was about 3 mins walk to the beach. Towels and bed linen were changed frequently. There was also a beach towel exchange at reception. No charge for beach towels or deposit box. Wi Fi was excellent all across the resort.

There were a few niggles regarding the hot water - which you had to run for about five minutes before it eventually ran hot. Also the maid seemed to service our unit last in the day, sometimes it was as late as 4.00 pm. This was annoying if you wanted
to take a siesta during the hottest part of the day between 1-3.

The beach is quite narrow, plenty of loungers and umbrellas for guests. It shelved quite steeply, but once you were in the water it stayed at shoulder height for quite a way out. The water was very clear.
The swimming pool at the resort was a nice place to relax, plenty of loungers but could do with a few more sun umbrellas.

The local children seemed to take over the beach on Friday afternoon, and at the week end it could be busy with families.

The eateries on the beach were good value serving a choice of Caribbean dishes and the ubiquitous burger and chips, We ate at Cathy's quite a few nights which was excellent, but you need to be patient and not in a hurry. She did not add 10% tax,10% service charge and 2% tourist charge as other restaurants did. So you can expect to add about 25% to your bills.'

The Dock' which was TBR's own beachside bar was a great place to meet. We enjoyed "Happy Hour" as we watched the sunset.

The SunSet Cafe - the resort's own eatery was pretty average and a little overpriced.

'The Strip' are the bars and shacks along the beach can be very lively Friday, Saturday and Sunday, but if you close all your double glazed and turn on the air-con it does cut out the noise.

For a laid-back unpretentious holiday, with friendly clientele I wouldn't hesitate in
recommending TBR.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

My fiancé (who proposed to me on our Timothy Beach Resort balcony!) and I spent a week at Timothy Beach and after meeting other tourists from other places on the island (especially the Marriott), this is the place I recommend.

The hotel is steps from the lovely Caribbean Sea. Steps. We were in the furthest unit away from the beach and it probably took 5 minutes to walk there because we took our time.

Upgrade to a suite with a kitchenette. It cost about $500 more for the week, and all we had to do was call the hotel ahead of time. The Mountain View really stinks - you're looking more onto a parking lot than a mountain. It's worth the upgrade to get the kitchenette and the ocean view. From our balcony, you see the town of Frigate Bay, turn your head to the left for the Caribbean view, and to the right for the Atlantic view. Having a kitchenette saves you money - you can go to the Rams up the street (about 10 minute walk towards the Marriott) or take a taxi ($12 each way) to Basseterre to shop at the Value Mart. We bought all of our breakfast food, lunch food (sandwiches), snacks, alcohol and mixer at the grocery stores and it really made a difference.

The front staff was so-so. I felt that they really tried to push their buddies' services on us (taxis, water activities) but when we needed to store our luggage on our last day they were very nice and accommodating. I suppose the other downside is the bed - they push two twins together to make a king and you can really tell!

If you want the more local experience, this is your place. The Dock at Happy Hour is bopping with tourists, locals and ex-pats alike. As well, the famous Strip is right on this beach. Again just steps from the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is bang on the beach and excellent for the beach bars of 'the strip' . Guaranteed fantastic sunsets! We rented a whole unit , lots of character , good condition and spotlessly clean . Lovely sea view balcony . The restaurant is ok , the beach bar much better. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west london
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This hotel is right on the beach. It is set in grounds that are well maintained. The monkeys in the morning appear from under bushes and sit and survey their area before bounding off.

The rooms on the upper levels have a wonderful view of the sunrise and sunset, there are three rooms in each section and are very generous in size. We had two dressing tables in our room, which is a good thing for single travelling females, and there was tea and coffee in the rooms, which is replaced every day.

The Strip is on your doorstep and can be a bit loud if you want to retire early but great fun and safe as it is patrolled by the police every night, but not because there is trouble.

Little walk away is the Marriott, bit like an airport check in so many people, felt like a small fish in a huge pond, too impersonal, at Timothy Beach Juliette knew your name and almost had the drink on the bar when you entered the bar and was able to help with local directions.

Can't ask for more from a hotel or the staff

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Timothy Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timothy Beach Resort

Address: 1 South Frigate Bay Beach, Frigate Bay, St. Kitts
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Kitts and Nevis > St. Kitts > Frigate Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Frigate Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Timothy Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Timothy Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timothy Beach Hotel Frigate Bay
Timothy Beach Frigate Bay
Timothy Beach Resort St. Kitts/Frigate Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Timothy Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.