We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice quiet budget hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Timothy Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Timothy Beach Resort to your Saves list
Timothy Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 South Frigate Bay Beach, Frigate Bay, St. Kitts   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Frigate Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cambridge Uk
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Nice quiet budget hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The TBR is a good value choice. Its on the right side of the island for swimming and snorkelling. Staff are all nice and helpful. All the rooms are big and airy, with everything you need. We loved the view, watching the ships go in and out, the monkeys, and the sunsets.
Be prepared to relax! The hotel is remote from the capital so bear this in mind as the only way into town is by taxi which is ECD30 each way. We did get a bit bored with the food and limited choices available. Most prices are similar to the uk for dining.
Do go to Nevis, which is even quieter

Room Tip: Book a sea view - the rooms at the back do not have a good outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    210
    65
    18
    6
See reviews for
60
212
23
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
AustinTexas area
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

It was beautiful there. The 1 bedroom unit we had was very spacious but not very comfortable. The bed and pillows were fairly awful in fact, but the view was great and we enjoyed walking to the Marriott and restaurants in between. I would not choose this destination again simply because the bed and all of the chairs and sofa were just uncomfortable to me but the beach is amazing. The water is warm and calm, unlike the Marriott's beach area. The snorkeling to the left side around the rocky shore was pretty decent. Great alternative to the large flashy resort--if only they would update the beds. The service was spotty. Don't come here if you're used to be pampered. We found it difficult to get anyone to smile back at us.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey, UK
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights during our two week stay in st kitts. We booked direct with the hotel who gave us a great deal ;-)
Just before our arrival date we had to book an extra night, being Christmas we were worried about availability. No need as they checked us into alternative rooms for the first night. We stayed in 28 for one night - a one bedroom suite - with sofabed in the lounge and a small kitchenette. Air con worked a treat, kitchen equipped as needed (basics including plates, cutlery etc which could mean you could stay self catering throughout). bed was comfy however pillow really hard, I swapped with the kids and all was well!!
For the remainder of the stay we had a two bedroom suite. Each room had seperate locking which was useful for a big family such as ours - 3 adults, 4 kids! Each room had a bathroom with bath and overhead shower.
They added an extra single to each bedroom, the lounge set up with a proper bed not a soaf bed. Decortaed with colourful carribean fabrics, clean and well looked after.
My balcony overlooked frigate bay, the golf course towards Basseterre and also the Marriott - amazing sunsets every night..
This resort is open, its not all gated in which is exactly what we love. nicely cared for gardens, helpful reception staff, large simple pool with plenty of chairs, tables, sunloungers and umbrellas again overlooking the beach. Restuarant and seperate bar were friendly, served decent food and drink. Sun loungers on the beach were included and plentiful. the beach bay is calm waters and shallow, perfect for kids and snorkelling too
The resort is right on the beach so perfect for other local bars and restuarants in Frigate bay but dont expect amazing night life or shops!!
Housekeeping were amazing especially considering the mess the kids made, every day the room looked good as new!
Air con worked well, I stuck to the fan and having the doors open with the nets to stop the bugs. My room was always cool
My only negative would be the noise from other frigate bay bars and restuarants till 1am. However they did alwasy stop at 1am so instead I just joined in the fun!
I cant recommend this hotel enough. Lovely staff especially the manager who really goes out of his way to assist, at all hours too! Price was great, facilities perfect for the Island.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The title says it all. My wife and I vacationed to this beautiful island with my three brothers, their wives, and my parents. We stayed for just over a week and got to see the island as a whole, which aesthetically, is breath-taking.
For us though, that is about as far as the "wow" went...Please excuse the ranting like nature of this review, but I feel that people need to know what they are getting into when going to this island, not just with visiting this hotel. But first, the review of the accommodations:
This hotel is great for two things: keeping you out of the rain, and being close to "the Strip" (a string is restaurants and bars shacked together on the beach). The staff, like most natives we encountered on the island, seemed bothered that we were there. The cleaning staff was great however, stocking fresh towels and making sure the linens were changed each day. It didn't matter much though, as our "king" bed was two twin beds on wheels held together with bungee cords (literally...no joke). As stated, the hotel is close to the strip, which is good when you need to grab a bite to eat or snag a taxi to venture somewhere else on the island.
The rant/review of the island as a whole:
This island nation's economy has only been tourism-based for about the last 7 years or so. Prior to that, the island thrived on the sugar-cane industry, but due to the world market price of sugar dropping, and the extensive labor costs of major sugar production, that industry was made not feasible on an island with such limited resources. So, I get that most native people aren't used to waiting on tourists as their main source of revenue. But, if this island doesn't get its act together quick, it is going to become another desolate rock in the string of the West Indies. Being from the midwest, we say "please" and "thank you" on instinct and often. These gestures of good manners were met with blank stares and mumbling. I felt at times that I was almost a bother to the people I was paying for a service. Below are a few brief descriptions of what I am talking about:
---One night we went to eat at a restaurant called Marshall's (mid-upscale...supposedly one of the nicest places to eat on the island). Long story short, the waitress took down my order incorrectly (I order Surf and Turf, she wrote Surf and Surf). We I brought the error to her attention as politely as possible, I was told that I had made the mistake, and she walked off without explanation. I was then forced to pay for the incorrect meal, and was not offered any substitution.
---We spent a whole day on Reggae Beach, drinking and eating. We racked up a $500 bar bill, and when I went to settle the tab, I was informed that I was being charged for beach chairs ($10/piece for 8 people). When I asked why I was being charged for something I had to wipe the previous night rain off of, set up myself, etc., after dropping a bunch of money on drinks and food, I was met with a half-[--] explantation of how the bar owns the chairs, mumbles, and what I could only deduce as insults in the island english dialect.

I could type all day with instances like this...but I think my point is fairly clear. Maybe I am being too judgmental, or maybe I have been spoiled from having previously traveled to places in Central America, where they have embraced the tourism industry as a huge source of income for their nation and understand that god service is key. The only "service" I saw was the extra 10-20% charge on every bill I got, which I would have refused to pay had it been optional, as not one person who "served" me earned it. I will never be going back to this island, and plan to warn everyone thinking of heading in that direction. There are better places with nicer people.

Quick Tips: If you are going, here are some things to get you by:
-Cab fair are negotiable. They will always up charge because they know you don't know any better. Be firm and work them down on price.
-Every price, including things in the grocery store, is negotiable.
-If you want a solid couple of places to eat, Wing & Tings (food shack) and Patsy's (on the Strip) are the places.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Recommend room 30...1 bedroom suite on the second floor. Great view of the Carribean and the Atlantic from the balcony. Also good spot to watch the sunset if you don't want to go to the hotel beach bar which has an even better view. Full kitchen, comfortable bed and TV that gets about 100 channels. Water from the tap is tastes good...so you can refill your water bottles for excursions. About a 15 minute walk to the Marriott and excellent restaurants along Zenway dr...if you want to venture out from the hotel restaurant. Calm water at the beach is good for a dip and snorkelling around the pier and rocks. Staff are friendly and will get you what ever you need. Vervet monkeys live in the hillside behind the resort. You will see troops of them in the morning and around 4pm....great pictures. Very restful. Also wifi is available in your room. It was perfect for us. Not the Marriott, but lots of space, upgraded bathroom with new tile and marble. Free parking. Can't go wrong.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the beach for fresh breezes and view of the sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

we were very happy with our short stay here, it's the perfect location on frigate bay and our room was fine. the front desk, grounds, and restaurant staff were all super friendly and helpful. we had a small mountain view room, i had no complaints on it for what we paid. the beach bar was fun and we ate at the restaurant a few times. many places seem to operate depending on the cruise ships so plan ahead if they are not in town (the beach bar was closed on saturday night since the boats left friday). we wanted to book a snorkel trip but couldn't find anyone running a boat since the big ones were gone. a lot of the nearby restaurants were closed as well, we were a little surprised since we were here a few days before christmas. snorkeling is decent around the pier, we brought our own equipment but i'm pretty sure the front desk had some available to borrow.

we were in room 43, which was very close to the bay, pool, and restaurant but it was a little noisy at night. nothing terrible, but if you want to get to bed early you may want to request a room on the side opposite the bay.

frigate bay is a beautiful spot, my only complaint was the amount of flies near the pool and restaurant. luckily i packed bug spray, i'd recommend bringing some if you go to either st. kitt's or nevis in december - they are really annoying, especially at sunset.

Room Tip: stay on the side opposite the beach if you want quiet at night, the crowd from the bar can be a litt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

After doing extensive research on where to stay on my solo trip to St Kitts and Nevis I decided to give this place a try. It was cheaper than other options at $72/night before taxes and the location and what I read in other reviews looked good. Bed was comfortable, room was clean and bathroom was nice. I choose the cheaper option that faced the hill but it didn't matter because I used to the room to sleep/relax and the best views were at the beach. I did swim in the pool for a few minutes just to try it out and it was a nice little pool. Property was very well kept and really clean. Hotel provided beach chairs and for a beach tourist, just really convenient.

The beach, was really nice. Water was calm, blue and felt great. The beach was so clean and at night the strip of bars along the beach came alive especially on Friday. It was a good time and next time I visit St. Kitts I'd love to stay here again. The staff was friendly and the food was really good. I do have to say there was an issue with my online booking but after I showed them my online receipt they were able to fix the problem.

Anyway, as you can tell I enjoyed my time at Timothy beach. It was pretty much exactly where I wanted to stay on the island with good dedicated parking (if you rented a car, I didn't) and taxi's were readily available.

Stayed in room 44B

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Timothy Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timothy Beach Resort

Address: 1 South Frigate Bay Beach, Frigate Bay, St. Kitts
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Kitts and Nevis > St. Kitts > Frigate Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Frigate Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Timothy Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Timothy Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timothy Beach Hotel Frigate Bay
Timothy Beach Frigate Bay
Timothy Beach Resort St. Kitts/Frigate Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Timothy Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.