We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Three Star Option at Frigate Bay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Timothy Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Timothy Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Timothy Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 South Frigate Bay Beach, Frigate Bay, St. Kitts   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
30% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Frigate Bay
Northeast Oh
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very Good Three Star Option at Frigate Bay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I was slightly underwhelmed upon arrival. But then, I had to remind myself that I booked my stay at a middle tier and not an elite property.

I had several acquaintances staying at the Marriott (they were told it's was the ONLY hotel on the island!?!) and we compared notes after the first few days of a one week stay. The things that won me over were the exceptional staff and the terrific food. From the initial booking process, the reception upon arrival, the cleaning staff and especially the people in the Sunset Grill restaurant and the Dock bar, the Kittitian people made me feel like family. My room was bright and clean. The grounds are well maintained. The beach was very nice, especially at night.

When I return in a few months, I will definitely stay here over the other hotels.

If you want a one or two week American experience, stay at the Marriott. If you want to see and meet the real people of St. Kitts, stay at the Timothy Beach Resort.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    192
    54
    18
    5
See reviews for
55
179
21
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We had a fabulous stay at Timothy Beach Resort. We had room 45C. The best oceanview room at the resort! The location is the best on St. Kitts. The staff was very helpful and answered all of our questions. We had one issue with the amount charged for a meal at the Sunset Cafe. We brought it to the staff attention and they were able to fix it and give us a refund and a free lunch. The food at the Sunset Cafe was good.

The pool is clean and maintained and is deceptively deep at over 6' 1/2". The beach sand area closest to the rooms is small, but gets much larger towards the center of the bay. The snorkeling was great. We went all the way around the hill and saw so many different tropical fish, yellow coral, brain coral, sea fans, sea urchins, sea biscuits, sanddollars, sea turtles, stingrays, and so on. There is a rinse off station next to the pool which we used to spray off the sand after snorkeling.

The room was clean and tidy. They have a sign up requesting that you turn off the a/c if you are going to be gone to save on electricity costs. We did do this and just opened the windows, including the bathroom window. This allowed the breeze to flow through and kept the room nice when we returned in the evening. The a/c only took about 20 minutes to cool the room down.

It is only a 20 minute walk to the Marriott hotel. In about a 10 minute walk you can get to the Ram's Express, Bombay Restaurant, Rock Lobster Restaurant, Ciao Restaurant, Pizza Boy, Rituals Coffee house, and more restaurants.

We had a rental car for the week and parked it next to Mr X's Shiggity Shack the whole week. They do have parking up behind most of the buildings. But this was further from our room. We also took advantage of the safe deposit boxes located in the front office. And also used the laundry service. Their price list for laundry is per item.

And yes the sunsets are amazing (provided there are no clouds obstructing it)!

Room Tip: Oceanview room 45C is the best one there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

A very good 3 star hotel, if you keep this in mind you will not be disappointed, in my opinion much better than the very commercial 500 bed Marriot. All the staff were very helpful arranging a car and trips etc.
We stayed in the 1 bedroom room with kitchen, have a room on the top floor for the best view. As previous guests have commented this is really only a hob and microwave so improvisation is the key. We didn't miss an oven but a grill would be very beneficial, tip - take a non stick frying pan, omelettes are a nightmare in a normal pan!
The room was in good condition, recently refitted showers & cleaning staff were great - no issues with water or the air con. As stated the room only has a partial sea view but we enjoyed sitting on the balcony eating breakfast or tea watching everyone come and go and the locals playing / relaxing on the green.
Having the kitchen is excellent and allows you to do St kitts on the cheap as eating out is expensive. The whole island was quiet so July is definately a good time to go, we had the pool to ourselves most days.
The locals use the beach and the sea in front of the hotel but this adds to the experience, we swam in the sea most days. There is reasonable snorkekling to the left of the jetty but it gets better if you go further round past the rocks on the corner.
Used Kenneth's dive centre for 10 dives, excellent operation and Kenneth is a real character. The diving is great, not on a par with places like the Maldives but I enjoyed every dive which were very relaxed with little or no current, even saw a frogfish and sea horse.
Recommend car hire for a few days and it helps with trips to buy groceries though the small RAMs supermarket 5 minutes from the hotel was ok but I enjoyed driving round the island and buying mangoes and veg from the side of the road. Duty free complex very overated and all t shirts or jewellery. Trip over to Nevis on the ferry is a must and a car for the day is the best way to get around and see the great beaches - highlight was the botanical gardens and an excellent thai lunch of the veranda of the house in the grounds overlooking Nevis and the sea

Room Tip: Get a room with the kitchen and on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

TBR is a 3 Star resort close to the Caribbean with clean comfortable rooms, and a good value. Good food is close by, and local entertainment on the weekend is also pretty good most of the time. Yes, the beach is close by, however it is not the best setting for really relaxing on the beach.
There are two thing that I want to point out that is on their website; 1. The one bedroom suite shows a full kitchen. There is no oven. 2. They also show ocean view rooms. The only way to see the ocean is to go out on the balcony, and you still have a very limited view of any water.
Also, the air conditioner in the front room never worked. They said it would be repaired the first day I was there. It never happen. I stayed in the same room three weeks later and it still was not working.

Room Tip: Choose a parking lot ground level room with what they call a ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

This was our first visit to St. Kitts and we were happy that we chose TBR. We initially planned to do 4 nights in St. Kitts and an additional 3 nights in Nevis, however, by our last night there, we decided to extend our stay. TBR is a small, locally owned property which offered everything we needed for our stay. Our 2 bedroom was spacious and offered a partial view of the sea from both balconies; the room also offered a fully stocked kitchen and 3 bathrooms. We loved the proximity to the beach and the food/beverage outlets that lined Timothy Beach. The housekeeping staff was friendly and efficient, as well as the guys who were always painting, gardening or fixing something. We had a few meals at the restaurant--no complaints. Just keep in mind, it may not be Jamaica, but everything is still irie and on island time.

If we ever returned to St. Kitts, we would definitely stay at TBR.

FYI: It will cost you $16 for a taxi ride to/from the airport and it takes about 10 minutes.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

I enjoyed my 4-day stay there. As others have said, this is not a luxury hotel, but it is a good value in terms of Caribbean prices.
The positives:
- Clean, sunny room; two closets, plenty of space
- Nice balcony with a partial ocean view and a scenic view of the hillside
- Nice location right on the beach, close to restaurants and a grocery store
- No problems with the airport pickup.
- Excellent remote controlled air conditioner; cable tv.
- Good room service.
- I traveled alone and didn't have any problems with safety.
- No problems with the reservation or with check-out (no surprise fees)

The minor downsides:
- Front desk service was initially poor - I waited for at least 20 minutes before someone came to check me in; the bellhop then pointed me to my room but didn't show me the way and I had to go back to the front desk to figure it out. But after check-in, service was fine. The Caribbean in general is not known for its customer service, just fyi.
- No in-room safe; I used the hotel safe for my money and passport and had no problem, but they don't keep a log of what they take from you. If you ask, though, perhaps they would.
- The beach is not the nicest on St. Kitts - the water is a little cooler and more turbulent with rocks on the bottom, which makes it difficult to walk in the water. But I enjoyed it nonetheless. - You have to pay to rent a beach chair; the hotel does not have free chairs for guests. They do have beach towels you can check out and return, though.
- The bathroom is clean but needs updating - as others have pointed out, shower pressure was weak, and the floor became wet everytime I used the shower (had to put a towel down to mop up the water.)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockenhurst, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

As Trip advisor & other guides suggest Timothy Beach is closest both to the Caribbean sea & the action at places like Shiggidy Shack. As well as that, it has an ok beach cafe of its own & a quite good restaurant. We got a great deal from BA: 2 weeks for the price of one and an upgrade to a junior suite for £50 for the fortnight. It is in good & beautiful decorative order outside & fans & air conditioning are great inside.
The decoration in our rooms included original prints by local artist Kate Spencer, who we met. The kitchen/diner/lounge was big & very useful with microwave, hob, fridge & freezer, but no oven. The bed was ginormous & the bedroom huge, though the (no bath) shower bathroom was small & perhaps could do with modernising, like the kitchen. The noise from the action could not be heard from our ground floor room with its enormous patio and loungers. But it was only short walk away through the very hot and humid heat, even in the evening. St Kitts and Nevis are not like Atlantic side islands like Antigua, Grande Terre or Barbados. Nevis is more historic, prosperous & prettier and can be reached by hire car on a WW2 landing craft. Both islands are quite expensive though. Hard to fault Timothy Beach for self catering and we met the owner, whose staff were great. We found the Marriot, where friends stayed, awful: too cold, rough Atlantic beach, poor service and no fresh food. The US $ rules here, not the EC $. The Marriot's cash dispenser gives you US $s; others give you only EC $. £s are no use at all. You drive on the left, with steering wheel on the right, automatic hire cars. Pot holes on St Kitts but not on Nevis. BA gave us a good deal on this too: a 4X4 for £250 a week.

Room Tip: Choose a junior suite, especially on the ground floor; the stairs are long and steep and single/doub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Timothy Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timothy Beach Resort

Address: 1 South Frigate Bay Beach, Frigate Bay, St. Kitts
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Kitts and Nevis > St. Kitts > Frigate Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Frigate Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Timothy Beach Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Otel and Priceline so you can book your Timothy Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timothy Beach Hotel Frigate Bay
Timothy Beach Frigate Bay
Timothy Beach Resort St. Kitts/Frigate Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Timothy Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.