We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly but...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Bay Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sugar Bay Club to your Saves list
Sugar Bay Club
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   Frigate Bay Beach, Frigate Bay, St. Kitts   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Frigate Bay B&B and Inns
Pago Pgo
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Friendly but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Very nice people and quite convenient to the adjacent market and rituals restaurants ( Indian, Japanese, and the coffee shop too!) but the rooms could use some refurbishment. the air conditioning is just adequate and the hot water was quite hot at night ...and not so hot the next morning. For those interested, the free Internet was spotty as well.

I don't really expect many of the small hotels in the Carribean to be of the same standard as US major chains...but with the new Marriott on St. Kitts ( just down the road) there is a big difference in quality.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    50
    27
    12
    12
See reviews for
11
37
7
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

The hotel was very clean, I was unable to change the TV channel but it was okay since there was free WiFi available. The service was service was very slow when ordering somethig to eat at the "Cafe" which was not attached to the hotel but was only a few steps away.

Room Tip: Request a room on the 2nd floors they are quieter, less outside noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We recently attended the St Kitts Music Fest 2012 and decided at the last minute that we would stay over, rather than get the early ferry back to Nevis. Found Sugar Bay Club on trip advisor, price looked right and pictures suggested it would be OK. We were pleasently surprised, as the room was bigger than expected, the pool area and grounds seemed well tended, AC worked, bed was comfortable, found somewhere local for dinner before we went to the show, it was just what we wanted.

Now this in not a five star resort, but for the price, it is great for a few nights stay, we would definitely use it again

Room Tip: We chose a poolside room and could see the pool, but were not as close as we expected, so speak to r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

We stayed at Sugar Bay recently and wanted something affordable and no-frills, as we were going to the Four Seasons in Nevis later on the trip. It was exactly as advertised. The room we rented was clean and very spacious....the A/C unit worked great as well. The front desk people were friendly and courteous. We thought the landscaping and grounds looked a little neglected, but the pools looked nicely kept. Didn't do beach at all, as that was going to be the focus in Nevis. All in all, exactly what we expected from other reviews and a rate under $120 on Kayak.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

We arrived in St. Kitts and was looking for a place for two nights prior to going to the Marriott Vacation Club that was economical. Sugar Bay Club was recommended at the airport so we took a taxi to have a look. The grounds were a mess, the beach dirty/filthy - non existent. I was asked if I wanted to see the room and I said "no thanks". If the grounds and beach were any indication of what the building had to offer, the above picture is not a true representation. However, if you are on a very tight shoe string budget and aren't fussy, have a look. We decided to pay the extra and stay in the Marriott Hotel for the two nights.

Room Tip: I cannot comment on the above because I chose not to check in.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gales Ferry
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

Sugar Bay Club is a well-kept (and ever improving) hotel. There are two pools (one adult) and a nice fitness center. Short walk to several restaurants (Bombay Blues on site, Rock Lobster, Ciao, Rituals Coffee and snack bar, Frigate Bay beach shacks, and the Marriott Hotel.) Short taxi ride to the airport (now is $ 16 for 1-4 persons.) Staff is very courteous and accommodating. The 50 or so medical students that reside there were very quiet (I asked the staff about them and they only rent to quiet ones.) Great location for going anywhere on the island for tours. Taxis are easy to come by. Drivers are very courteous, love to talk about their island, and take you where you want to go. Activities from horseback riding, catamaran tours for snorkeling, diving, ferry trips to Nevis, shopping in Basseterre all easy to get to via taxi (unless one is comfortable driving on the left and rents their own vehicle. We had a great stay at the Sugar Bay Club for much less than the Marriott. Only downside is that the beach is on the Atlantic side and is small in width and quite windy. But, it is a short walk to the Caribbean Side by Timothy Beach Hotel.

Room Tip: Go for the Oceanview room on the second floor. Just lovely to sit on the terrace and watch the ocea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012 via mobile

I loved the island of st kitts. It was awesome. We staied at sugar bay and It was no problems at all. Beautiful beach. Beautiful grounds. Defiantly reccommend If you are on a budget.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sugar Bay Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Bay Club

Address: Frigate Bay Beach, Frigate Bay, St. Kitts
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Kitts and Nevis > St. Kitts > Frigate Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Frigate Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sugar Bay Club 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sugar Bay Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Bay Club Hotel Frigate Bay
Sugar Bay Club St. Kitts/Frigate Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar Bay Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.