We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and friendly...exactly what we expected.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Bay Club

Save Saved
You added Sugar Bay Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sugar Bay Club
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   Frigate Bay Beach, Frigate Bay, St. Kitts   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Frigate Bay B&B and Inns
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Clean and friendly...exactly what we expected.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

We stayed at Sugar Bay recently and wanted something affordable and no-frills, as we were going to the Four Seasons in Nevis later on the trip. It was exactly as advertised. The room we rented was clean and very spacious....the A/C unit worked great as well. The front desk people were friendly and courteous. We thought the landscaping and grounds looked a little neglected, but the pools looked nicely kept. Didn't do beach at all, as that was going to be the focus in Nevis. All in all, exactly what we expected from other reviews and a rate under $120 on Kayak.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    50
    26
    12
    12
See reviews for
11
36
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

We arrived in St. Kitts and was looking for a place for two nights prior to going to the Marriott Vacation Club that was economical. Sugar Bay Club was recommended at the airport so we took a taxi to have a look. The grounds were a mess, the beach dirty/filthy - non existent. I was asked if I wanted to see the room and I said "no thanks". If the grounds and beach were any indication of what the building had to offer, the above picture is not a true representation. However, if you are on a very tight shoe string budget and aren't fussy, have a look. We decided to pay the extra and stay in the Marriott Hotel for the two nights.

Room Tip: I cannot comment on the above because I chose not to check in.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gales Ferry
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

Sugar Bay Club is a well-kept (and ever improving) hotel. There are two pools (one adult) and a nice fitness center. Short walk to several restaurants (Bombay Blues on site, Rock Lobster, Ciao, Rituals Coffee and snack bar, Frigate Bay beach shacks, and the Marriott Hotel.) Short taxi ride to the airport (now is $ 16 for 1-4 persons.) Staff is very courteous and accommodating. The 50 or so medical students that reside there were very quiet (I asked the staff about them and they only rent to quiet ones.) Great location for going anywhere on the island for tours. Taxis are easy to come by. Drivers are very courteous, love to talk about their island, and take you where you want to go. Activities from horseback riding, catamaran tours for snorkeling, diving, ferry trips to Nevis, shopping in Basseterre all easy to get to via taxi (unless one is comfortable driving on the left and rents their own vehicle. We had a great stay at the Sugar Bay Club for much less than the Marriott. Only downside is that the beach is on the Atlantic side and is small in width and quite windy. But, it is a short walk to the Caribbean Side by Timothy Beach Hotel.

Room Tip: Go for the Oceanview room on the second floor. Just lovely to sit on the terrace and watch the ocea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012 via mobile

I loved the island of st kitts. It was awesome. We staied at sugar bay and It was no problems at all. Beautiful beach. Beautiful grounds. Defiantly reccommend If you are on a budget.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Having stayed at this property when it was Sun & Sand in 1990,it was nice to see it refurbished with lots of new landscaping, a fitness gym, a second pool with waterfall and a new lobby. The people who work there are friendly and service oriented.The cleanliness of our half of a cottage was excellent. The entire property including pools are well maintained.
It is very convenient to have the Rituals Coffee Shop,( free WiFi) and Rams Convenience store right out in front of the hotel. Also a Liquor/smoke-shop & clothing store. Sugar Bay is on the Atlantic side if the Frigate Bay area, so the trade winds blow off the water most all the time, sometime quite hard. The beach is fine for walking but rough waves for swimming most of the time. Frigate Bay's Caribbean Beach is a short walk away. With few waves, warm water and plenty of beach Bars & Grills to satisfy any appetite. Just over Timothy Hill South Friars Bay beach is long & less crowded, with The Wreck Bar at one end and a new place, Carambola at the other end.There are many more beaches to explore on the south-east peninsula.
There are many good dining options in the area, from panini & pizza to Lobster and Italian, Indian, chinese, & thai.Next time I hope to bring family and get a 2 bedroom,2 bath suite with kitchen and sitting room. I think Sugar Bay is a great deal for the money.The huge Marriot up the road is elegant and impressive,but we prefer a hotel more in keeping with the style of the Island,more personal and welcoming. Sugar Bay fills the bill.The only problem that arose (with the AC) was solved in less than 15 min. by maintenance after a call to the front desk. Hope to go back !

Room Tip: Pool views are nice,and the flowers are everywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts, England
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

Just to clarify, and to avoid possible disappointment, Frigate Bay is actually two bays - one either side of the narrow peninsula that makes up the southern part of St Kitts and is the main area for sandy beaches and tourist accommodation. South Frigate Bay is a classic, balmy Caribbean beach - home to the famous 'Strip' of bars and eating places, and plentifully supplied with water sports etc. North Frigate Bay, while scenic enough, is a narrow fringe of sand that's largely covered with seaweed and other detritus washed ashore by pounding waves that will deter all but the strongest swimmers. The Sugar Bay Club is on the northern side. The good news, however, is that the whole resort is nicely landscaped and well kept. Rooms, while unremarkable, are spacious and comfortable. There are several good restaurants nearby. The only convenience store in the area is right on the door step. And South Frigate Bay is only 10 minutes stroll away.

Room Tip: If you want an ocean view, be sure to specify that you want a room on the upper level. The 'ocea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Sugar Bay Club is a combination of hotel and bungalo style rooms. We were in one of the hotel style rooms. It was big and airy with a great balcony and a kitchen. We did have an AC problem in the first room. We were quickly moved to a room. Other reviewers are right about the customer service. Karen was the most helpful maintenance person. Got us nice and cool in no time!

Bed was a little hard, but, that's my only negative comment.

The pools are small but clean. Nice grounds. I didn't have any issue with the medical students and thought everybody was very nice. The gym and boot camp classes they hold ar impressive.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sugar Bay Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Bay Club

Address: Frigate Bay Beach, Frigate Bay, St. Kitts
Location: Caribbean > St. Kitts and Nevis > St. Kitts > Frigate Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Frigate Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sugar Bay Club 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Sugar Bay Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Bay Club Hotel Frigate Bay
Sugar Bay Club St. Kitts/Frigate Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar Bay Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.