We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cathy's Ocean View Bar and Grill

Cathy's Ocean View Bar and Grill
Timothy Beach, Frigate Bay, St. Kitts
869-665-0561
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 16 Restaurants in Frigate Bay
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
lcolombo@uaw.net
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Awesome beach bar with friendly owner and staff! If you are adventurous.....climb the palm tree on the beach that is painted. Loved the view and the bonus of having other beach bars all in a row for an easy walk.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    97
    31
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Local culture and flavor for an enjoyable, island-time dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We ate at Cathy's for dinner and the food was spectacular -- especially the spiny lobster. Don't hesitate to order it. Be prepared to be patient while the servers and cooks set the table, take your order, prepare and grill all the food, and bring your drinks. It's very worth the wait. Enjoy the scenery while you are waiting -- right on the beach. An easy walk (15-20 minutes) from the Marriott St. Kitts Beach Club. This is very much local culture -- so be prepared for island time, great jerk spices, and an enjoyable evening. Drink menu is deceiving -- if you'd like "real" wine, ask for it specifically; otherwise, you'll get a small bottle of "hard wine" which tastes like high-octane syrup (not enjoyable). The meal is an experience not to be missed -- wonderfully prepared food.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Be prepared to wait”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Service is a slow as can be at Cathy's, but still we go back year after year b/c the food is great. Best lobster we had during our 2 week stay, and the ribs are delicious.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philly, PA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Very good food and location but a little too quiet for me.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We visited in the off season so our group was one of two or three in the whole restaurant. Despite the extremely sedate atmosphere we absolutely enjoyed our dinners. The food was well prepared, typical Caribbean fare. Make sure you try the lobster... it's a must have. Yes, the prices are high but all food is expensive on the island so that's par for the course. Ended up visiting twice since the food was good and they were open when other restaurants were not.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Wonderful Caribbean Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Several of our cab drivers mentioned eating at Cathy's, so we walked at lunch time 20 minutes from the Marriott to Cathy's at Timothy Beach. It is simply an open air shack on the beach next to a tiki hut bar. Service was as laid back as the decor. Many of the items listed on the menu were not available, but we finally settled on two available entrees sat at the picnic tables watching the waves drinking beer. The local Caribe beer was cold and cheap, so we drank that as we waited 50 minutes to get our entrees. We were in no hurry, but a single woman who came for lunch from one of the cruise ships had to wolf down here food when it arrived because she was due back at the ship.
The food was delicious, perhaps tasting so good because we waited so long to get it- and we had had two beers. I had the snapper served head on topped with a great okra sauce. I got two full plates of food for my entrée, the okra topped fish on one and the rest of the meal on another- a lot of food. In addition to the fish was Caribbean spiced rice, cole slaw, garden salad, and some root vegetables. The fish attracted lots of flies, to be expected in an open air restaurant on the beach.
We enjoyed the meal that was under $50 for the two of us and four beer and one iced tea.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cathy's Ocean View Bar and Grill also viewed

 
Frigate Bay, St. Kitts
 

Been to Cathy's Ocean View Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cathy's Ocean View Bar and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.