We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get the lobster” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cathy's Ocean View Bar and Grill

Cathy's Ocean View Bar and Grill
Timothy Beach, Frigate Bay, St. Kitts
869-665-0561
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 26 Restaurants in Frigate Bay
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Get the lobster”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We asked everyone where the best place to get lobster was. The answer was always Cathy's. The only reason I gave this 4 of 5 is the service is slow even for Island Time. Go when you think about dinner, not when you are hungry. Best tip we got.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank sublimnal7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Raymond, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

It was our first night checking out "The Strip". The taxi driver recommended Cathy's so decided to try it instead of Shiggedy Shack...and it was a hit. We originally ordered the jerk pork but were informed they were out so got the ribs instead...and they were awesome. My wife got the mahi mahi and it was also very tasty. Warning--both the ribs and fish were strongly seasoned. We love a little more spice in our food, so we loved it...especially after eating the $100/meal cardboard blah the Marriott had been serving up.

The meat was accompanied by some beans and rice, macaroni salad, and fresh steamed veggies and plantains. Yum! We may stop back again before we leave the island. I only give it a 4 just because of the usual Carribean stuff: not exactly fast service, served in the typical "shack" environment etc. But we could have paid 3 times as much in the hotel and still not been happy. We paid $42US for 2 meals, 2 drinks, and tip.

Tip: if you're staying at the Marriott don't waste your money on a taxi ride. It's definitely within walking distance if you're normally mobile.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food and on the Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Loved it! Great food. The owner Cathy is friendly. Her Husband is the chef. We went to a lot of restaurants and this was without question in the top 2. The ribs and cajun fish were excellent. Great spot to have a couple drinks on the beach while the sunsets and then eat dinner. It was not expensive either.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brett H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Delicious. Great view.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We were looking for a leisurely lunch on the beach en route to the airport. Our last big of the island. Couldn't have picked a better place. The food was amazing. Our party of 5 sampled the menu. I had the mahi, which was outstanding, and the guys couldn't stop raving about the ribs. Yum! It did start to get busy with cruise passengers as we were on our way out, but our service was great.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JerseyGirlinBmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henniker, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Island Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We had a number of recommendations to try Cathy's on the The Strip" in Frigate Bay. Heard the food was good, but sometimes slow. We were very happy with good food - the Jerk pork was very good. with good portions and value. Service to get our food was actually quite prompt though a few other parties seem to have waited a bit more. Checkout of the bill was very slow as everything is added by hand, so keep that in mind and go up to pay you bill as soon as you are ready versus waiting. The atmosphere is night could be better with fluorescent lighting so the daytime would be better for atmosphere on the beach

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cathy's Ocean View Bar and Grill also viewed

Frigate Bay, St. Kitts
 

Been to Cathy's Ocean View Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing