We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the wait” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cathy's Ocean View Bar and Grill

Cathy's Ocean View Bar and Grill
Timothy Beach, Frigate Bay, St. Kitts
869-665-0561
Update restaurant details
Ranked #3 of 16 restaurants in Frigate Bay
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Raymond, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

It was our first night checking out "The Strip". The taxi driver recommended Cathy's so decided to try it instead of Shiggedy Shack...and it was a hit. We originally ordered the jerk pork but were informed they were out so got the ribs instead...and they were awesome. My wife got the mahi mahi and it was also very tasty. Warning--both the ribs and fish were strongly seasoned. We love a little more spice in our food, so we loved it...especially after eating the $100/meal cardboard blah the Marriott had been serving up.

The meat was accompanied by some beans and rice, macaroni salad, and fresh steamed veggies and plantains. Yum! We may stop back again before we leave the island. I only give it a 4 just because of the usual Carribean stuff: not exactly fast service, served in the typical "shack" environment etc. But we could have paid 3 times as much in the hotel and still not been happy. We paid $42US for 2 meals, 2 drinks, and tip.

Tip: if you're staying at the Marriott don't waste your money on a taxi ride. It's definitely within walking distance if you're normally mobile.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    95
    75
    25
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Food and on the Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Loved it! Great food. The owner Cathy is friendly. Her Husband is the chef. We went to a lot of restaurants and this was without question in the top 2. The ribs and cajun fish were excellent. Great spot to have a couple drinks on the beach while the sunsets and then eat dinner. It was not expensive either.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Delicious. Great view.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We were looking for a leisurely lunch on the beach en route to the airport. Our last big of the island. Couldn't have picked a better place. The food was amazing. Our party of 5 sampled the menu. I had the mahi, which was outstanding, and the guys couldn't stop raving about the ribs. Yum! It did start to get busy with cruise passengers as we were on our way out, but our service was great.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henniker, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Island Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We had a number of recommendations to try Cathy's on the The Strip" in Frigate Bay. Heard the food was good, but sometimes slow. We were very happy with good food - the Jerk pork was very good. with good portions and value. Service to get our food was actually quite prompt though a few other parties seem to have waited a bit more. Checkout of the bill was very slow as everything is added by hand, so keep that in mind and go up to pay you bill as soon as you are ready versus waiting. The atmosphere is night could be better with fluorescent lighting so the daytime would be better for atmosphere on the beach

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicagoland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“6 visits in one week should say it all.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Just got back from St. Kitts yesterday and couldn't wait to write this review. Like most we got the recommendation from our Bell Men Chelston at the Marriott. We took the $8 cab ride from the hotel. But after we realized where it was we just took the 10 minute walk on our next visits. We got there and was not sure what to do it wasn't that busy. We sat down and Roland took our drink order. He is a little shy at first but he warms up. Sasha came and took our food order. While sitting waiting for our food we could smell the bbq and everything that was being cooked on it. I ordered the Red Snapper and my boyfriend ordered the Jerk Chicken. The Red Snapper was amazing. The flavors were so good. The butter, okra, peppers and lemon did the fish good. I could not believe the flavors. The Jerk Chicken was fall off the bone. The side plate had an array of rice, pasta, salad, corn, coleslaw or plantains depending on what they made that day. Cathy was in the states and her daughter Angie was running the resturant along with Cathy's fiancee. We could not get over how good the food was. Yes, it does take a little longer to get the food but it is worth the wait. Like I said to my boyfriend we are on vacation with no schedule so lets just relax. We proceeded to eat there 5 more times. We ordered the lobster and the garlic shrimp. Another amazing meal. The lobster was huge and so flavorful. Everything that we had was amazing. I would recommend this place to everyone that goes to St. Kitts. Thank you again for everything Angie, Sasha and Roland.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cathy's Ocean View Bar and Grill also viewed

Frigate Bay, St. Kitts
 
Frigate Bay, St. Kitts
Turtle Beach, St. Kitts
 

Been to Cathy's Ocean View Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cathy's Ocean View Bar and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.