We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Groupon stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Queens Head

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Queens Head to your Saves list
The Queens Head
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Townfoot, Rothbury, Northumberland National Park NE65 7SR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 Rothbury B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Groupon stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Stopped on a Groupon and we were treated very well, we never once felt like we were any different to full paying customers, after a very warm welcome we were shown to a nice pleasant room with a spacious bathroom, in the morning we had a generous Northumberland breakfast, very nice
We would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    69
    22
    7
    5
See reviews for
15
126
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We used groupon to book this small, friendly hotel. Our room was spotless, had everything we needed, the staff were friendly & helpful and the food excellent. We will not hesitate to recommend to friends & family.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Got a groupon for this hotel that included room and breakfast and 20% off 3 course dinner. For what we paid this was excellent. The hotel is in the sleepy village of Rothbury, that has some nice small shops and tea rooms and is quite pretty, although not that much to do. The hotel itself is in the Queens Head pub, the staff were very friendly and the bar area had a nice atmosphere. Our room was a decent size, clean & cosy. The bed was very comfortable. it was quiet and we both slept well. Dinner was nice, and very reasonably priced. Breakfast was excellent. Id recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely stay for my partners birthday staff wr excellent and friendly food was lovely only complaint is I couldn't have skinny chips but never mind would come back lovely sitting in the bar with fire on was cosy and welcoming

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Right from the start we knew we were onto a winner. A handy size car park then a very friendly and warm welcome. Room was very nice and spotlessly clean. Also the heating was on and it was really warm. Lovely bed, nice quilt, ace TV, terrific shower, bath etc with lots of piping hot water. When settled in we went down to the bar. 4 real ales on and 3 of them we had not heard of before. When I got my first pint, it was a delight. It was served up really naturally, not through one of those fizz nozzles. The temperature was perfect and the ale was in perfect condition. I duly through the day tried all of them and they were all spot on. There was a welcoming fire in the bar area too. In the evening we tested out the restaurant. It was a very nice room and the waitress's were really terrific as was the bar attendant. They all knew what they were doing and could answer any query instantly. The food was a total delight. The wine list did not particularly suit us as we drink a lot of French wine and there was not much of that on the list. Breakfast, in a different room was once again about perfect. Just one suggestion here, we had to ask for the toast. But when we got it, there was plenty of it. All I can say is, we will be back and thank you.

Room Tip: All rooms OK. If at the front it is a very quiet road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Hi, dont know who Ruth and Alex are but hope that they can come and stay sometime,
thanks for the review, its much appreciated.xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
co.durham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

we had a fab night here .very friendly, lovely double room .we ate dinner in the restaurant and meals were lovely and lots of choice .breakfast was super too lots of variety all in all we had a fab stay here thanks a lot......

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon tyne
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Queens Head for 1 night. The hotel is exactly what it says on the tin. Decoration typical of a country Inn, roaring fires & traditional cosy bar. The staff were very welcoming which is always a deal clincher for us. Rooms were small but tastefully decorated and immaculately clean. Biggest highlight was the food which was amazing, will be coming back for the food alone! Having stayed the previous night at a Spa hotel, the Queens head is a stark difference. If you are looking for refinement then I would book somewhere else. If however you are looking for a gorgeous country pub with charm & character in a stunning rural setting, then this is the place.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Queens Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Head

Address: Townfoot, Rothbury, Northumberland National Park NE65 7SR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Northumberland National Park > Rothbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Rothbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Queens Head 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Queens Head is a family run inn with smart en-suite rooms, relaxed atmosphere, friendly bar and helpful staff. The attractive restaurant has comfortable high backed upholstered chairs where the Bar/A la Carte Menu or the daily blackboard are available Lunch and Dinner, or if you prefer, eat in the Bar. There is a patio garden and free private car park. We pride ourselves on the quality of our food and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your The Queens Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queens Head Hotel Rothbury
The Queens Head Northumberland/Rothbury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Queens Head, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.