We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Queens Head

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Queens Head to your Saves list
The Queens Head
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Townfoot, Rothbury, Northumberland National Park NE65 7SR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 Rothbury B&B and Inns
1 review
“Welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

Having stayed here numerous times we always find it a lovely short break away. The hotel is located in the centre of the town close to all amenties and a short walk to the river. The rooms are clean and comfortable all with ensuites. The breakfast is homecooked local produce with lots of choice. I would recommend the full english!
Would definetly recommend I know we will be going again!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Thank you for your review, we hope to see you again very soon.

Best regarards
Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    68
    22
    7
    5
See reviews for
15
125
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

I came up to Rothbury and got the last room in town.Very clean and tidy with a comfortable bed with en-suite bathroom AND shower. A great choice of breakfasts, friendly staff and good beer! Not a "destination hotel" but a great place to make a base to explore from. Heartily recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Hi Philip,

Thank you so much for your kind review, so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope you can visit us again.

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llantwit Major, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights B&B. The room was spotless and comfortable with a plentiful supply of hot water for the shower, comfortable bed and a very good tea tray which was replenished daily with a supply of biscuits! Breakfast was very good with a choice of cooked breakfasts including vegetarian as well as cereals etc - they do a mean fried egg! The pub has a nice atmosphere - traditional and cosy with a good choice of real ales. The staff, without exception, were friendly and extremely efficient. Ate here two evenings and the food was great - the best we found during our stay in Northumberland. We would definitely stay again if in the area. Many thanks to all at the Queens Head for making our stay a comfortable and very enjoyable one!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Thanks for your very positive review, so pleased you enjoyed your stay in Northumberland and I do hope that you will be able to visit in the future, we will look forward to seeing you again.

Teresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

had meals here 3 nights in late May, Reasonable choice, very well cooked and presented. The meals came to the table cooked as asked for. The bar and restaurant staff were all very pleasent and helpful. The bar had a changing selection of cask beers. Would reccomend the meals and beer. It is a bit busy on music night, and the restarant is the venue, so its eat in the bar only. I think that only happens once a month so easy to avoid if you want to.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Stayed here recently using a groupon voucher kindly gifted to us, the food was incredible , the room comfortable what more can you say. Well recommended

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

stayed last weekend 23rd 24th march 2012 on a two night groupon offer and all was fine its a nice village in lovely location .Hotel is a typical older property but inside in progress of renovations rooms are neat and tidy well decorated with all you would need tv tea making facilities and on suite shower all in good working order we had dinner 1st night menu was very good and meal was fine .
breakfast are very nice and made to order to your liking had full breakfast 1st morning and kippers second day and were superb a nice change indeed. staff were helpfull and and happy to help all in all a nice stay at the queens head

Room Tip: all rooms will be the same you can hear the church bell chiming away , but not a problem really
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Had a lovely one night stay here in March 2012. Rooms well decorated. Tea & Coffee, TV, Bathroom fab. Morning breakfast was very tasty and set us up for the day. We did not have evening meal but the food when passing through looked very nice. The pub was relaxed and friendly. We will be back for a visit to Rothbury and will stay at the Queens Head again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Queens Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Head

Address: Townfoot, Rothbury, Northumberland National Park NE65 7SR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Northumberland National Park > Rothbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Rothbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Queens Head 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Queens Head is a family run inn with smart en-suite rooms, relaxed atmosphere, friendly bar and helpful staff. The attractive restaurant has comfortable high backed upholstered chairs where the Bar/A la Carte Menu or the daily blackboard are available Lunch and Dinner, or if you prefer, eat in the Bar. There is a patio garden and free private car park. We pride ourselves on the quality of our food and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your The Queens Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queens Head Hotel Rothbury
The Queens Head Northumberland/Rothbury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Queens Head, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.