We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Queens Head

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Queens Head to your Saves list
The Queens Head
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Townfoot, Rothbury, Northumberland National Park NE65 7SR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 12 Rothbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Newcastle
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great service and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

My husband and I stayed here using the Groupon deal in late October. The deal wasn't officially meant to start until November but the lady I dealt with via email was very accommodating and allowed us to use the deal a little earlier.
The hotel/pub is an old building so there's bound to be some wear and tear, but our room (a twin on the top floor) was very homely, clean and decorated in a modern style. We ate in the restaurant that evening and the food was excellent, as was the breakfast the next morning.
We couldn't fault the service and for what we paid it really was a bargain.
Not at all the fault of the hotel, but I had a poor night's sleep due to the church bells ringing throughout the night....why???!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    82
    25
    8
    5
See reviews for
17
140
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
northumberland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

Having visited the queens last year for food, we decided to come and stay for 2 nights. In arrival we were shown to our room by a friendly member of staff and shown all the facilities, our room was absolutely gorgeous, stylish and chic. We went into the bar which was so cosy and friendly, locals chatted to us and the beer is lovely, some of the best I have had. Dining in the restaurant is a treat. Couldn't decide from the list of local produce on offer. All home made, delicious. I can recommend the chocolate brioche bread and butter pudding. The staff are friendly, attentive and nothing is too much trouble. After dinner we relaxed in the bar with a pint or 2 of real ale and listened to local stories. Breakfast takes alot of beating. The sausages from the butchers next door have won awards. The waitress informed us of things to do. All in all the queens is a lovely place to stay. The owners should be very proud of the what they have achieved. We'll definately be back. Thank you so much for a lovely stay, can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

Got Bed and breakfast offer on Groupon. Teresa bent over backwards to accommodate us for our anniversary and I'm so pleased she did.Didn't expect the quality we received. Room very clean and comfortable. Quiet for being above the pub and on main road.
Had evening meal in the restaraunt which was fabulous, the waitress was very attentive and the service was very quick. The prices were low for the quality of meal we got.
The bar was comfortable and friendly.
The bed was a bit firmer than I like but slept none the less.
Breakfast was something else. The choices were endless and really difficult to decide between the Craster kippers, smoked salmon or full Northumbrian. Settled for the Northumbrian which was fantastic. The gentleman serving us was also fantastic. He provided a bottomless coffee pot and he was extremley friendly and pleasant.
I would highly reccommend The Queen's Head Rothbury to anyone looking for a quality meal and a comfy place to lay your head. My opinion A*****

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

booked with groupon and perhaps just were given the cheap rooms. shabby interior of hotel. really needs an overhaul. dining room quite nice. food average. staff very pleasant though.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this review, December 1, 2011
Although this review marked most elements as a 3 the overall score was a 2, not sure how that works. I emailed to see what the specific complaint was in this review but have had no response. Staff where praised as being very pleasant but service still only marked as a 3??
To say dont expect much is a disservice to the hard work the staff put in to make our guests comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

We stayed here for a two night break away from Newcastle and it tickem all the boxes to be honest. Its a maximum 40 minute drive and its a step into another world. The hotel itslef is quite an age but very well kept. Its clean and tidy and very welcoming.
We were shown to our room , which was 16 on the back of the hotel. It was a nice size and had all the amenities you need in a B&B.
On the first night we ate in the resteraunt after having a trip up and down the high street and visiting a few other pubs. All were friendly and we had a nice time. The meal was excellent in the resteraunt and we felt we got full value for money. The service was excellent and then we retired to the bar for a couple of more drinks.
The next day we had a hearty, quality breakfast served by a very happy lady. Excellent . we spent the morning in Alnwick and then the afternoon in Cragside where we walked and walked. It was wonderful.
In the evening we ate out at another resteraunt but returned to the Queens for a few night time drinks. The next morning before breakfast we headed down to the river for a walk and spent 30 minutes up and down the riverside walks before returning to tackle the breakfast. Lovely.
A very pleasant place that i would recommend to anyone for a few day break. Lovely area, great walks and good friendly staff. You can't ask for more. Well. done.

Room Tip: back of the building , off the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

Arrived and received a friendly welcome. Room clean and provided what we needed. Hotel staff all very nice and polite and friendly, from receptionist, to bar staff, to restaurant girls. Just what we were looking for.
Food very tastey , both evening meal and the hearty cooked breakfast. I like my food and the breakfast beat me! Set me up for rest of day!
Bar very cosey and nice to relax and enjoy a couple of drinks.
Overall would recommend the hotel if you are looking for a hotel that creates a family run atmosphere and friendly place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

We stayed here as part of a Groupon deal, and even if we had paid full price it would have been worth it. The hotel is easy to find and has a car park at the side. The room itself is much nicer than I had expected, clean, modern, spacious with a nice big en suite. We didn't eat at the hotel, but we walked 5 minutes down the road to a nice Italian restaurant, there was also another pub on the way.

The breakfast the next morning was served promptly, with cereal, fruit, yogarts and a cooked breakfast, it was excellent value. The waitress was very friendly and polite. The only downside was the bed was a bit too hard, but we would still return. Thank you for having us.

Room Tip: Not sure if they have a lift, I didn't check so worth checking if disabled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this review, November 14, 2011
Thanks for the lovely comments, sorry you found the bed a bit too hard, they are pocket sprung but firm and on a sprung base also. Hope you can visit us again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Queens Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Head

Address: Townfoot, Rothbury, Northumberland National Park NE65 7SR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Northumberland National Park > Rothbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Rothbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Queens Head 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Queens Head is a family run inn with smart en-suite rooms, relaxed atmosphere, friendly bar and helpful staff. The attractive restaurant has comfortable high backed upholstered chairs where the Bar/A la Carte Menu or the daily blackboard are available Lunch and Dinner, or if you prefer, eat in the Bar. There is a patio garden and free private car park. We pride ourselves on the quality of our food and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Queens Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queens Head Hotel Rothbury
The Queens Head Northumberland/Rothbury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Queens Head, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.